We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wet wet wet in Wales” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Sportsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wet wet wet in Wales”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed at the royal sportsman hotel on a travelzoo deal 2 nights with bed and continental breakfast dinner voucher for £50 and a bottle of wine for £135 per couple fantastic value for money. Arrived at 14.10 but couldn't check in until 3pm so decided to go for a walk. What a mistake heavens opened up and we got soaked to the skin, found a working men's club who made us very welcome though where we had a couple of drinks, still raining when we left but thought it best to check in. Shown to a room off a courtyard very small but nice enough. We ate out that night ( see my review of Sima Tandoori). Slept well, continental breakfast really good, fresh fruit, cerea ls, homemade porridge, toast, pastries croissants etc. Don't need to pay extra for a full English as more than enough. There wasn't much to see in Porthmadog but weather better so drove up to the slate mine museum (see my other review). We were wanting to ride on the Ffestiniog railway but not running on a Monday so hence the drive. What a change in weather we gad rain, wind, massive hailstones and sunshine. We ate in restaurant and used the food voucher second night food delicious, service very good. Would recommend this for value for money trip away.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms small but cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angelmouse46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
It is great to see your ratings on your stay at the Royal Sportsman Hotel. Despite the weather you experienced one of the many attractions the area has to offer.

Thank you for your endorsement of the hotel and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    246
    85
    27
    22
See reviews for
90
317
44
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed over a weekend whilst attending a family wedding at nearby portmeirion.The room and staff were both excellent,and the food of a very good quality.service from the reception,bar,and restaurant were exceptionally good.main road outside hotel very quiet in the evening and night.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the extra,s in a superior double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
It is wonderful to hear your excellent appreciation of your stay with us at the Royal Sportsman Hotel from your room through to service, food and drink.

We continue to serve award winning 2 AA Rosette food at exceptional value and are happy to hear you were able to enjoy this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My partner and I stayed here for two nights and enjoyed our stay very much. The upgraded room was nice, if a little basic and the creaky bed was a bit annoying every time you moved. All members of staff were very friendly and extremely welcoming, but the real highlight was the restaurant. The food appears to be all locally sourced, and is extremely high quality. The biggest surprise was the very competitive pricing of the food given it's excellence. There really can be nowhere better to eat in Porthmadog!
Thanks to everyone at The Royal Sportsman. We'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisAndHisTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful endorsement of the Royal Sportsman Hotel and your appreciation of our excellent 2AA Rosette food which does make us the place to stay and eat in North Wales.

We are pleased to hear both you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us so much. With all that the area has to offer, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We found the hotel an extremely good base for exploring North Wales. The staff were very helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable. The food was the highlight of our visit, in particular the home made bread.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
The Royal Sportsman Hotel is so well located on the high street of Porthmadog, acting as a gateway to Snowdonia and its amazing list of attractions to many of which we are able to offer our guests money-off vouchers.

It is particularly nice to hear your high appreciation of all aspects of our hotel including room quality, service and attention to detail with our food.

We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Along with friends we saw the New Year in at the RSH, we had a fantastic three course meal, followed by music & dance. Although the staff were clearly rushed off their poor feet, they couldn't have been more friendly, helpful & thoroughly attentive they are a credit to the place. We went back again whilst staying in Porthmadog & it was just the same, so not a one off for a special night. The RSH goes that extra mile, before the night we'd been sent a menu for us all to choose what we wanted, a week before we were due I had a phone call to say they could not get venison of the quality they wanted so my husband was asked what he'd like as an alternative, fantastic service, thanks.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchDumplingcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
What a great review!

We are delighted that you chose to see in the New Year at The Royal Sportsman Hotel and enjoyed your stay as well as our food and entertainment.

It is nice to hear that you have made a return visit since then. With amazing feedback such as yours, it really makes the effort worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant-sized room and quiet too, even though it's located on the high street (very handy for a walk around the town). The staff were friendly, particularly the barman! Good choice at the continental breakfast- I especially liked the local honey!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
We are glad to hear that you found your stay an enjoyable one and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I am enjoying my stay here, staff are friendly, food is good..room is warm and comfortable.this is a great base for visiting nearby sites of interest. The area surrounding the hotel is very picturesque.

Room Tip: Sorry accidentally pressed button for pool and fitness which hotel does not have. Oops,,,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aled E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thanks so much for praising all the things we hold most dear and hope guests will enjoy i.e. the friendliness of staff, quality of food, cosiness of rooms, and the hotel's ideal location for exploring Porthmadog harbour town and surrounding stunning countryside. We are glad we were 'worth the money' and hope you will return some day. . .perhaps we will have our own pool and fitness room to call by then (though the public ones at the leisure centre just across the road are really good) ?!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
17.8 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
15.9 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sportsman Hotel

Property: Royal Sportsman Hotel
Address: 131 High Street, Porthmadog LL49 9HB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Sportsman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very comfortable, 'home from home,' independently run, full-service quality hotel, the only hotel in Porthmadog. It has been awarded 3* by the AA and Visit Wales, 2 AA Rosette for its food and included in the Good Food Guide, using the best of local Welsh suppliers. Children are welcome and particularly pets in our courtyard rooms. Ground Floor rooms also available for those with walking difficulties. Private covered parking, cycle lock up, drying room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Sportsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Sportsman
Royal Sportsman Porthmadog
Royal Sportsman Hotel Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing