We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed just one night for a quick visit to North Wales. Warm welcome received, and a lovely spacious room in the courtyard. None of us found the beds very comfortable, but that's a personal opinion. Food was fabulous - delicious scallops, though a rather small portion of mackerel. The hotel is well positioned for access to a variety of attractions, and despite being on the Main Street, we didn't really hear any noise, even when we sat out in the courtyard garden.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are lovely with sitting out space too. If you want a wet room and don't mind har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PixieMumof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thanks for a fantastic review overall - yes, all our beds are brand new and may still be a bit firm for some guests' personal preference - about the welcome, spacious room, fabulous food (again portion sizes are personal preference and more could have been requested), quiet location, and access to attractions. We sincerely hope you can stay for longer in future to enjoy again even more of what we offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed here just for the one night on my way to get the Welsh Highland Railway the next morning to Caernarfon. The welcome at reception was pleasant and my room was better than I had been led by other reviews to believe that it might be. The only downside was the traffic noise from 6am as the windows needed to be open all night owing to the current 'heat wave'. The towels were fresh and crisp, the toiletries very good, the bathroom clean and the room in general OK: I think a sheet would have been good rather than a duvet in this weather. Breakfast was fine but my bacon and scrambled egg was just one slice of bacon - a bit mean....I know I could have asked for more and probably been given it, but I should not have needed to ask! The bit I didn't like was being charged a £2 debit card payment fee when I checked out: pretty unnecessary really and leaves a bad taste. I had to deduct a star for that although I have to add that the amount was refunded to me a few days later after an official complaint through my booking agent.

Room Tip: Single room no 17 was of good size as was the bathroom but noisy if you leave the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank doversole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Overall another positive review, thanks very much, with a few issues to answer.
Regarding your room, we are delighted you were pleasantly surprised with it compared to some other reviews! We genuinely do our best to ensure the highest standards of comfort, cleanliness and accessories in the rooms.
If we are experiencing an occasional 'heat wave' - Porthmadog is often now recorded as the hottest place in the UK! - guests are more than welcome to request a cool-air fan from reception; many guests already ask for sheets rather than duvets; and if windows need to be left open, we are considering providing complimentary ear-plugs to exclude any noise. But when all said and done, we are a small-town centre hotel with little we can do about traffic (though the new bypass helps) in the summer!
Regarding breakfast, yes of course this guest could have had more bacon on request - though many other guests say they generally eat too much - so we are constantly monitoring feedback about portion sizes to ensure a minimum of waste.
We are glad to have resolved your issue about a third-party card fee - the charge for which is clearly stated on booking agency websites where it applies - but this can easily be prevented by yourself and others in future. Either book direct with the hotel by telephone or on our website, or settle the final bill in cash (there are many ATMs in Porthmadog). PS: Many accommodation providers apparently include any booking fee in a higher advertised room rate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Efficient and helpful check-in. Reception staff pointed out the discount vouchers they provide for local attractions (I used one for Portmeirion).

It was a warm day, and they'd opened the windows in the room so it was fresh. It did stay pleasantly cool with the windows open and there were only occasional noises from outside. The location is quiet and the road isn't too busy, and the hotel location is good. Had to leave my car a bit further away one night as the hotel garage was full.

Room was spotlessly clean, which I appreciated. Very comfortable - mine was a single room and a bit small. Bathroom was also small, but definitely well cleaned.

Excellent choice at breakfast. Perhaps the only comment here (and this might sound odd) would be to ask the serving staff to wait until people have finished their cereal before bringing out the cooked breakfast. Twice I found I was having to deal with both at the same time.

Overall, a very pleasant stay and I would recommend this hotel to others. My rating reflects that some aspects of the hotel and rooms are a little bit elderly and could do with updating. But for me, the cleanliness is the most important and for this I was very satisfied.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoneStarrUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Overall a very positive review, thank you, with one or two issues, which I will answer.
My reception team always do their utmost to make sure guests get the maximum enjoyment and value from their stay. We have over 20 top local attractions signed up to offer discounts or other incentives, especially for groups.
We are ideally located for everything in town and buses/trains to the wider area, and the High Street is much quieter traffic-wise, especially in the summer, thanks to the by-pass a few years ago. On and off-street parking near the hotel is free and safe, when our garage is full at night.
Our single rooms do vary a little in size - as do all rooms and bathrooms in an old character building - but all meet at least an industry 'standard' square footage. All rooms were re-furbished a few years ago and had new beds in the last year, but we do have a rolling programme of improvements. All are comfortable and spotlessly clean - 99.99% of the time, because we are only human - thanks to my excellent housekeeping team!
I have passed on your comment to my waiting team about serving cooked food as soon after cereals are finished to ensure an excellent breakfast is matched by flawless service.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, will recommend us to others, and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for just one night. Our room was at the front of the hotel, overlooking the high street, but we didn't find it too noisy. Very clean and comfortable. We had a good welcome when we arrived, good breakfast the next morning and even had a phone call from the staff a couple of hours after we left to tell us we had left behind our phone charger! We would certainly return here again, and would like to stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Maria13018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We are really happy you appreciated all aspects of our accommodation and services. We do try to go the extra mile for guests and customers, however long they are with us, to exceed their expectations. We would be delighted to welcome you again for a longer stay - and perhaps to have lunch and/or dinner with us - as there truly is a remarkable amount to see, do and enjoy in this area! We look forward to your booking either by telephone or our website. . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday in Porthmadog where we stayed at the Royal Sportsman. From check in to check out, everything was superb !
Lovely friendly staff, clean well stocked rooms, very dog friendly (we had 2 large dogs in our party) The breakfast was fabulous and there was lots of choice. The two girls who served us were lovely, really polite and attentive to our needs. We chose not to eat in the restaurant for our evening meals, but I would say that the prices are similar to most places in Porthmadog.
The upkeep of the rooms was second to none, clean towels, restocked hospitality tray, beautifully tidied and well presented. The facilities within the hotel were lovely and very well looked after. We stayed in the courtyard rooms which is ideal for a family with a dog.
I would not hesitate to stay there again and had a wonderful time !

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are ideal if travelling with a dog(s)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you ever so much for this highly complimentary review! I will make sure all my staff see it and this reply, and will highlight it on our social media pages too!
All the things you mention - excellent staff, rooms, and breakfasts - we are renowned for as an independently-owned, family and dog-friendly, hotel with 2 AA Rosette food. A missed opportunity perhaps to have chosen to avoid dinner in our restaurant? But you are more than welcome to take dogs into our popular bar or to eat in the Orchard patio garden, where both menus - offering exceptional food at unbeatable prices - are available.
We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful holiday and would love to return to our courtyard rooms. . .the sooner the better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights on business in the area: warm welcoming staff seemed to have taken the week off - check in was indifferent - I arrived 40 minutes early but there was no offer to see if the room was ready anyway - just advised to come back later. The room was reasonable though a bit tired and dishevelled. At a time when outside temperatures were 90F there was not a room fan in sight and the place doesn't have air-conditioning. Food was good but is undeservedly expensive - I suspect that a lack of competition in the area (there is only one other hotel in town and that is a travelodge) renders the hotel complacent and overpriced

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank james_bethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanks for this feedback, which we always appreciate from business guests. We do prefer any comments at all during the stay, rather than raising issues afterwards, so we can perhaps remedy them immediately?
To answer the points in order:
All my receptionists are usually equally welcoming and helpful. Perhaps because the hotel was almost fully-booked, they may already have known our house-keeping team would only have all the rooms ready by the designated time of 3pm.
Our bedrooms are reasonable - with brand-new beds and re-furbished bathrooms - and were re-decorated around 3 years ago, so perhaps disheveled (meaning untidy/messy) is a little harsh?
We are more than aware of how hot rooms can feel but equally of how costly and un-environmentally friendly air-conditioning is for just a few weeks a year of most British summers. So, the moment any guest let's us know it's an issue for them, we have cold-air fans available on request (or hot ones in winter)!
Thanks for complementing our food, which is the best-rated for 30 miles around (and why Travelodge very kindly recommend us to their guests), but there is good reason it costs just a few £s more than other eateries in the area. Our top-level chefs use only the highest quality, fresh ingredients (nothing frozen and microwaved here) and our waiting staff are highly trained and professional.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This small friendly 3 star hotel is on Portmadog's main High Street, just 500 yards from the Festiniog / Welsh Highland Railways narrow guage station. The main National Rail station is close by (buses replacing trains until around late September they say), and National Express buses drop outside the hotel. If you do bring your car there's free covered parking on a first come basis, reservable if you have a Blue Badge. On one night we were too late to nab a garage space, and we parked up the street in the car park of the old disused cinema without any problem whatsoever. There's a Tesco just up the street for minor supplies, and an alternative restaurant (not tried) just opposite the hotel.

Before booking this hotel I looked at some prior reviews, especially (as you do) the bad ones! Having stayed here, i think its a good hotel that works hard to provide reasonable service. Yes, it can be noisy, but its on the main High Street, so what do you expect? Yes, its an old building, so the floors aren't all level, and they creak a bit! The hotel has real character, with lovely staff who take pride in their jobs.

We had a first floor room at the front (#15) which was of a good size, and had evidently been refurbished fairly recently. Good beds, and the early morning traffic noise didn't bother us. Nice bathroom, all in very good condition.

Both restaurant and bar food were very good. Fine dining if you want it; bistro bar food if you don't. There's a busy hotel bar serving a good choice of beers and wines, and a lovely quiet rear patio area in which to sit and chill.

A great long weekend, and we'd definitely return.

Room Tip: Book direct, and discuss the room choices directly with the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigvassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Well, these guests whom we remember well - and for all the right reasons - seem to have summed us up perfectly! It will be a great pleasure to welcome them back as soon and as often as they wish (subject to availability)!
To answer their points in order:
Arriva Trains will have trains running again through to Porthmadog on around September 1st; and probably cars over Briwet Bridge by December.
There is plenty of alternative parking both on- and off-street near the hotel, if our garage car park is full, and the town is perfectly safe.
Porthmadog has plenty of cafes, pubs and restaurants to choose from - but we often wonder why so many guests waste precious time wandering up and down the High Street looking at other menus, when we serve the best-rated food (either 2 AA Rosette and/or Traditional Classics gastro quality) for 30 miles around in either the restaurant, lounge, bar or Orchard patio garden.
Regarding the hotel and its location, again this guest is spot on compared to some previous reviewers. It is an early-Victorian building on the High Street of a by-passed town - with all which that entails - and yes we have real character and great staff who care about customers/guests (can be a rare commodity in the hospitality sector)!
Re the room and bathroom, this guest concurs with a senior AA inspector who gave them 5 stars last year and we eagerly await the expert's return and findings this summer!
Next time we hope this guest can come for a week - and save money again by booking direct with us - as there is still so much to see and do while based at our friendly 3-star hotel which offers 4-star value!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,525 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
15.9 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,363 reviews
13 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sportsman Hotel

Address: 131 High Street, Porthmadog LL49 9HB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Price Range: £76 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Sportsman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very comfortable, 'home from home,' independently run, full-service quality hotel, the only hotel in Porthmadog. It has been awarded 3* by the AA and Visit Wales, 2 AA Rosette for its food and included in the Good Food Guide, using the best of local Welsh suppliers. Children are welcome and particularly pets in our courtyard rooms. Ground Floor rooms also available for those with walking difficulties. Private covered parking, cycle lock up, drying room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Sportsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Sportsman
Royal Sportsman Porthmadog
Royal Sportsman Hotel Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing