We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 1 night - don't bother”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2006

We had just stayed at a 4 star hotel for less money and were doing 1night stops round North wales, so thought its expensive for a 3 star hotel, it must make up for it in other ways. Given the poor service and state of this hotel, I’m glad it was only 1 night!

We arrived at 1730hrs to get greeted with a “we’ll see” attitude over our booking. The sarcasm wasn’t delivered too well, but we thought we were weary from our travels. We were told we had to book our dinner by 6 if we wanted to eat there as they had a booking for 14 people, (non guests may I add) which made you feel really welcome! So we didn’t bother. More than 14 people is obviously too much for them, and so took our business elsewhere.

We got back and went to the bar around 2200hrs to have a drink at which point a rowdy gang of young golfers came in, already drunk, some were staying at the hotel, and so the hotel served them. Now I understand that it is a licensee’s responsibility over whether a customer be served, but I think they were more concerned over their till ringing. The smoke became choking, so we left which was fair enough, but a few lewd comments, and lack of bodily functions from other guests were not welcome.

The party downstairs carried on until 1am, so I feel sorry for the wedding party who were booted out at 2300hrs on a previous review. As party goers left who were not staying car horns were going and whooping and shouting gaily in the street didn’t seem to them to be out of place given the time of night. The raucous lads then went on to whoop and holler through the corridors until 3am. No drunken hush hushes, or attempts to quieten down, seemed a deliberate attempt to disrupt others. At 2am we went through the hotel guide book, and indeed as in the other review – there is no night porter. There is a number to call in emergencies, but exactly what do you define as an emergency – no lives were in threat, or was there danger to the building or other guests – except our sanity.

The facilities were basic, the showers were 80cm x 80cm trays with curtains round, so expect to flood the bathroom. No hair dryer in the room, and no way of controlling your own room heating. TV signal was poor and grainy.

We came down the next morning just before the breakfast deadline as we were so tired. The waiter came charging over, snapping “What do you want?!” as we were being seated by the waitress, bearing in mind, my bottom wasn’t on the seat, I’d not even looked at a menu. I asked him politely to calm down and we’ll be as quick as we can, we were indeed in time for breakfast, even though it was a little fine. He then rushed through our orders, and threw our breakfasts down in front of us. The food was delicious; I will give credit to the chef, but indeed no other.

When checking out and mentioned our grievance, the lady on the desk said it was our fault for not ringing the emergency number and that they can not control whether someone can handle their drink or not! No apology was offered, or condolence. BEWARE.

Stayed: August 2006
21  Thank Rowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

696 - 701 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2005

I stayed at the Royal Sportsman with my wife for 2 days whilst we attended a friends wedding. Most of the other guests staying at the hotel were part of the wedding party. The hotel is small, comfortable and traditional, it is centrally located. The rooms are fairly small and basic.

The staff in the hotel were not very helpful and all seemed to be very stressed and certainly didn't hide this from the guests.

For example, some members of the wedding party were told they were not allowed to check in after 10.30pm because the hotel does not have anyone on duty that late. Also despite all of the guests being in the bar on the first night, they decided to shut it at 11pm.

We also had problems with the heating - it seemed quite cold at night and we could not get any hot water - not nice when you are getting ready for a wedding!! When I reported the problem - they said they had had that problem before and they would look into it but didn't seem to care.

If I was visiting this area again I would not consider stopping in this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank adamf76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croiala, Joint owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2006

I have only just seen this review and is contrary to 95% of returns which are marked excellent or very good. Perhaps 5 or so a year are not happy with something, not bad as a %.
This customer picked the cheapest room which is not basic and both the AA & WTB graded this hotel very recently 3* with a 4*star grading for quality . Many of the extras in rooms are not found in some 4* hotels!
As a small private family 28 room hotel, we do not keep our reception open all night and close at 10pm, quite normal in this area. We state this in writing on all bookings but customers do not read what is sent to them. I find it hypocritical to complain about this despite being warned in advance. They could have booked elsewhere.
Reception staff get alot of abuse from wedding guests as they demand to check in on the morning of the wedding before customers have checked out of their rooms or the room serviced. So when they arrive early and we explain that they were informed of check in times, the abuse starts. No wonder staff can get distressed!
As for no hot water, this is simply not true. The customer failed to read the instructions on how to operate the shower and turned it to cold instead of hot. Nothing was said until after the event and it was checked immediately. Nothing wrong at all and staff are used to this. The problem is that customers regularly fail to read their check in card details and the information packs in the bedrooms which tell customers how to operate everthing from showers to heating.
Finally, having a public bar means that we call time for NON residents at 11.00pm which is not applicable to resident guests. We do not close a bar when it is busy, only when guests have left or have decided not to drink more.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer Parterre für direkten Zugang zum Fahrzeug
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wichtel1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: fatevi dare le camere a piano terra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berater_hamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luisa948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
4.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
298 reviews
15.9 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,327 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Golden Fleece Inn
The Golden Fleece Inn
#2 of 5 in Tremadog
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sportsman Hotel

Address: 131 High Street, Porthmadog LL49 9HB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Price Range: £78 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Sportsman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very comfortable, 'home from home,' independently run, full-service quality hotel, the only hotel in Porthmadog. It has been awarded 3* by the AA and Visit Wales, 2 AA Rosette for its food and included in the Good Food Guide, using the best of local Welsh suppliers. Children are welcome and particularly pets in our courtyard rooms. Ground Floor rooms also available for those with walking difficulties. Private covered parking, cycle lock up, drying room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Sportsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Sportsman
Royal Sportsman Porthmadog
Royal Sportsman Hotel Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing