We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our little home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yr Hen Fecws

Yr Hen Fecws
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthmadog
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yr Hen Fecws
Ranked #6 of 12 Porthmadog B&B and Inns
Porthmadog
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our little home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

We first discovered Yr Hen Fecws through the Tourist Information Office, after a vague plan to head up to Port Meirion and find somewhere to stay when we arrived. Yr Hen Fecws is one of two terraced cottage style houses, in which there are 7 rooms, and a laundry room. So first of all you have a sense of privacy, not having to creep past the landlady in her private lounge, to get to your room.

We have stayed I think in most of the rooms, except two. Being a house, some of the rooms are smaller than the others, and each are individually decorated. But the style of the room remains consistent. A mix of old-world furniture, and old-fashioned style, but not old beds, with fresh linen, fresh clean and newly painted decor, and a clean and well-maintained en-suite shower room. In seven years this has not changed.

Next door is the restaurant Yr Hen Fecws, where breakfast is served to the residents. There's fresh juice, fruit, and cereals to start. They will do a cooked breakfast, or you can ask them to cook anything of your choice from the menu. There's plenty to eat, but if quantity matters more than quality, its probably better you find another B&B. Mass produced sausages do not exist on this menu. Everything is freshly cooked.

On our first stay 7 years ago we sat down for breakfast and encountered one of the main reasons we go back so often. Look out of the window, and if the rain has cleared, there is a beautiful view of the Snowdonia Mountain range, whilst you sip your coffee.

The restaurant is open in the evenings to the public and usually full. Mike will always ensure residents have a table but I would say book early or you may have to squeeze in there at 6pm rather than a later booking. House wine or wine of the month is usually very nice. Mike busies himself attending to his guests and is always welcoming, courteous and friendly. His wife Helen is the main chef, and the reason why the extensive and varied menu is so good. Some of the more unusual dishes on the menu I suspect are her specialities as on occasion, when we have visited and she has been away that night, the standard hasnt been quite as good. But thats the only negative I can think of in about 8 visits over 7 years. Thats as good a recommendation as I think any B&B can get. Its well worth a 9-10hour round trip each time to get there. That and the myriad of things to see and do when you get there. Snowdonia is the most scenic, varied and beautiful place I have visited, with the Yr Hen Fecws being our home from home whenever we visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porthmadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    17
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
35
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2008

Immaculately clean room and en suite with a very comfortable bed. Unlike poor Emily I was able to recognise the cotton sheets (perhaps they do it differently in London?) Michael (the owner) was charm itself, helpful and solicitous as the occasion demanded and he didn't come banging on our door at 0930 - but we'd had breakfast by then. Breakfast was just fine, as much cereal and toast as required and to get extra of anything it was only necessary to ask. We stayed 3 nights and ate in every night with Michael making sure his residents were accommodated. The restaurant food is excellent (I can particularly recommend the lamb shank and the brandy snap basket) and will satisfy most tastes.

Try Yr Hen Fecws; you'll not be disappointed. To Michael and Helen - diolch yn fawr.

  • Liked — Clean and well-maintained
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exscribbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2008

The room was small, clean and nicely furnished with en suite shower room. The breakfast was fine. We didn't have a good stay though because there were people being noisy and crude in the car park behind the B&B. It was difficult to get a good night's sleep, and the atmosphere was a bit intimidating. This might have just been an unlucky one-off.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Iceni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2007

Having read some of the other reviews of Yr Hen Fecws on this site I am now sat here wondering if this is the same place I stayed in this weekend with my partner and 6 friends as our experience of Yr Hen Fecws was unfortunately very different.
To start with the beds were INCREDIBLY uncomfortable, hard, lumpy and the squeakiest frame imaginable. To add to that the pillows were cheap, nasty lumpy ones and the bed linen felt decidely Argos-esque - not a strand of pure cotton in sight. having emerged bleary eyed from our first night's dreadful sleep I was than again disappointed by the very stingy cooked breakfast offering - one sausage the same width as a biro, one measly rasher of cheap bacon, 3 tiny mushrooms and one half of one small tomato - really noticeably stingy and small portions, not good! And to top it all off after the next dreadful nights sleep we were woken up on the morning of our departure by the owner shouting, yes literally shouting, and thumping on our door telling us to get out NOW! Fine if it had been the time we knew we had to get out (10am) but not fine as it was only 9.30am when the shouting and thumping began - we were NOT impressed. The whole delightful experience left us £140 lighter for two nights which for North Wales is ridiculously expensive. I would rather have slept in my car and would not recommend this establishment to anyone.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank EMILYCAWTHORN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Croix
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2006

Fabulous B&B right in town but not noisy. The food here is the best I have ever had.

Helpful?
1 Thank crabgroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.2 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 12 in Porthmadog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Golden Fleece Inn
The Golden Fleece Inn
#2 of 5 in Tremadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yr Hen Fecws? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yr Hen Fecws

Property: Yr Hen Fecws
Address: 16 Lombard Street, Porthmadog LL49 9AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Porthmadog
Hotel Class:4 star — Yr Hen Fecws 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Yr Hen Fecws Hotel Porthmadog
Yr Hen Fecws Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing