We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely accom & area”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Family bathroom
One of the en-suites
View from Awelon cottage towards Ysgwar, the square restaurant and The Golden Fleece Pub.
Road leading out of Tremadog
A early morning view from the front bedroom window across Tremadog Square
Pretty Portmeirion 10 minute drive away
Porthmadog Harbour 15 minute walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Porthmadog, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Aoots
1 review
“Lovely accom & area”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We loved our stay at awelon. Really well equipped & extremely homely. The two 5 years olds in our party loved the extensive toys provided. Very well situated for trips to the lovely near by beaches & castles. Some of us attended festival no 6 at Portmerion, which is stunning and only a few miles away. The weather was mixed but when the Welsh mist descended there was a pub & restaurant in spitting distance that did great food & wine. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H
1 review
“Great family accomodation”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed here for a week at the end of july.tho the weather wasnt that great their was still plenty to do.the house was well equiped with everything we needed.there was also plenty of games for the 4 children.the house was well looked after clean and spacious even with 8 of us living their.we would definatley recommend Awelon and hope to return again in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“We had a super Holiday”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Everyone remarked how comfortable the beds were which is most important
There was plenty of hot water when needed
It was such a blessing to find a place with every utensil you might want to use in fact we did not have to improvise at all
A rail on the other side of the stairs would be helpful especially if you are elderly
A very comfortable let - thank you very much and God Bless You
p s we have not received the deposit yet!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort and cooking facilities
Liked least: The waste is not collected for three weeks
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dani A
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here for a weeks holiday and had a wonderful time.
The cottage itself is lovely, very well equipped and the layout was perfect! My children were especially pleased to discover some toys in one of the bedrooms and there was also books, videos and games to keep them busy while we were cooking or preparing picnics!
The location is perfect, we didn't have any problems finding nearby parking and the spar shop accross the road came in very handy. We had a lovely meal in one of the restaurants in the square too.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachandfl...
2 reviews
“Fantastic holiday, great location, would definitely recommend to others”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A group of my friends and I stayed at Awelon in the last week of July this year. The accommodation included everything we would need for our stay; good wifi, was clean and large social spaces within the property. We had such a fantastic stay there, the cottage is ideally located close to the Snowdonia national park so we were able to climb Mount Snowden one day whilst also being in driving distance away from visiting some of the beautiful bays and beaches that North Wales has to offer. Tremadog, the village where the property is situated also has all the necessary amenities that we needed; a Spar, restaurant and pubs, saving us having to drive to Porthmadog. I would definitely recommend staying here and we will be looking to return to Awelon again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the cottage.
Liked least: More power points to plug things in
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden G
1 review
“A fabulous holiday in a fantastic setting!”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was our second time staying at Awelon. We were lucky enough to have had fabulous weather which meant we could spend most days at the beach.The beaches are amazing. The house has a home from home feel and is very well equipped all beds and seating are very comfortable. We loved our stay and have already booked again later this year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicola r
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's a must!”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just spent a fantastic mums & kids weekend away at Awelon Cottage.
The cottage is bursting with character. The lounge is cosy & comfortable with a kitchen area very well equipped enabling us to cook from scratch for 9 guests whilst sitting everyone around a large dining table to enjoy our meal together.
The bedrooms are charming and warm with fresh towels on arrival.
As we had the good fortune to have some great weather we spent our days at Borth-y-Gest beach with a picnic. The children had a great time in the sea and sand then enjoyed an icecream from the local shop.
There are local supermarkets near by.
This area is ideal for
families or groups of people who wish to pursue their hobby e.g cycling, climbing,golfing or even put in that extra training for your triathlon!! Will be
booking again. Thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing