We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay would recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tudor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tudor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Porthmadog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“great stay would recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

we had 2 twin rooms both were very clean even the bathrooms. The hosts were very welcoming and helpful in telling you about places to visit and places to eat. The hotel is close to all amenities. The breakfasr is continental but there was plenty of choice. I would stay here again if were in porthmadog

Room Tip: the noiser nrooms are at the front which is quite near the high street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    69
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
208
38
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potsdam, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We were given a very friendly welcome, were even invited to check in earlier than stated in the booking conditions. The room (double en-suite) was not only clean and spacious; though placed at a relatively short distance from the High Road, we spent the two nights without disturbing noises from outside. The breakfast buffet offered an excellent range for a very satisfying 'continantal breakfast'. We highly recommend the Lodge and are tempted to call again.
Beate and Jurgen Goldner, Germany

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We had 3 delightful days staying at Tudor Lodge. We had been there several times before and will be back again.
The rooms are very comefortable and it is conveniently located for shops transport and other amenities.
Anja & Carl are perfect hosts making everyone welcome. You could tell by the buzz in the breakfast room that everyone was enjoying their stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ridetrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freisen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay at Tudor Lodge. Anja and Carl went out of their way to accomodate our needs. They were able to provide a special breakfast to meet our dietary requirements. They also helped with information about transportation to Holyhead so that we could catch the ferry. They were truly kind and caring people. We hope to return again!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyFreisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed there a few days in our first visit in Wales. Very nice and clean room, excellent furnishing. Breakfast was very good too. The Tudor Lodge is located not far away for the main road in Porthmadog. Nice and friendly owners. We really enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sakti6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We spent a lovely couple of days at Tudor Lodge which is situated very conveniently for the town and easy travel to Portmeirion, Pwllheli and Abersoch. Our room was most comfortable with tea & coffee making facilities, iron and hairdryer. The bathroom was very tasteful with a great shower and lovely white towels, plenty of hot water, and all was cleaned every day. Carl our host was most helpful with directions to places we wanted to visit and where to eat in the evenings. Breakfast at Tudor Lodge is continental, plentiful, tasty and unhurried.

Pothmadog is a busy town with plenty to wander around, harbour, shops, park and pubs most of which serve food (see guest info. for the best ones). Portmeirion, well worth a visit is only 3 miles away and the mountains are not too far away either.

We hope to return and take a ride on the Ffestiniog railway, something we didn't have time to do this time. There are so many things to do three days is definitely not enough!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cymraes191267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Just returned from my first visit to Wales. Our hosts, Carl and Anja were most helpful in advising places of interest to visit, how to get there and where to eat in Porthmadog. Tudor Lodge was kept to a very high standard, our room was immaculate as was the dining room, and the selection for the complimentary continental breakfast was plentiful.
At last an establishment where we felt truly valued as guests in a very friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r_pitchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
4.0 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.0 mi away
Plas Tan-Yr-Allt
Plas Tan-Yr-Allt
#1 of 5 in Tremadog
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Lodge

Property: Tudor Lodge
Address: Tan Yr Onnen Penamser Road, Porthmadog LL49 9NY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Porthmadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tudor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tudor Lodge, 4 star hotel quality guest house, bed and breakfast is located in Porthmadog, a small Welsh harbour town. Porthmadog is very close to the famous Italianate village Portmeirion, Black Rock Sands, Snowdonia mountains and the Ffestiniog Railway. Tudor Lodge is a superb hotel quality guest house/ bed and breakfast with the attractive building set in its own mature gardens just off the Porthmadog high street on the Criccieth road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tudor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Porthmadog
Tudor Lodge Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing