We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Great People”
Review of Tudor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tudor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Porthmadog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed recently at the Tudor Lodge in Porthmadog and had a fantastic time. The room was spacious and had the added bonus of free WIFI. The Bathroom was particularly nice and was really modern (older facilities are often a problem in B&B's). Carl and Anja are chatty and were lovely hosts. I seriously wouldn't bother looking elsewhere in Porthmadog, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
There are newer reviews for Tudor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed at the Tudor Lodge for two nights as we were going to a wedding at Portmerion. We had a warm friendly welcome from Carl who was good enough to recommend the Ship Hotel for something to eat. We couldn't have found anywhere better! Its a very short drive to Portmerion and very convenient for the railways as previous posters have said. We have said we want to explore the area further and will definitely by staying at the Tudor Lodge

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drofstunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Booked a group to stay here for a few nights when we rode the marvellous newly opened Welsh Highland Line in September. Great B&B, could give many hotels a run for their money. Central location but quiet and very handy for both the mainline station and the narrow gauge lines.
Well appointed rooms, although not huge, and with great en-suite showers. Breakfast, although not a cooked one, was superb. My wife was particularly impressed by the fresh fruit and availability of non-caffeine teas and coffees.
Good value for money with great hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Very warm welcome from Anja with helpful advice on where to eat that evening - useful when you arrive in a strange town. Accomodation very comfortable and breakfasts were wonderful and set us up for what were quite active days. Convenient location for town and railways. We think it is the best hotel we've ever stayed in and are already looking forward to coming back.
Ian & Julie.

.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iantherev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My husband and i recently spent 3 nights at Tudor Lodge and enjoyed our stay there very much.
There is plenty of on site car parking and the B&B is ideally situated for walking into the centre of Porthmadog, and Porthmadog itself is a handy base for exploring the area.
We had paid extra for a larger room and we appreciated the extra space and seating it gave us. The room and ensuite bathroom were beautiful and clean. We were slightly worried that our room overlooked what appeared to be quite a busy road, but although noisy at times during the day overnight it was very quiet and we were not disturbed at all.
Breakfast is a continental buffet but there is an extensive choice, and even my cooked breakfast loving hubby was more than satisfied!!
Carl and Anja made us feel very welcome and were very helpful with tips on what to do and where to eat.
Payment is on arrival which we actually thought was a great idea, as it means no hanging around on the day you check out waiting to pay.
We would definitely stay here again when we are next holidaying in the area.

Room Tip: We appreciated the extra space paying for a larger room gave us.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janetcox10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My bf & I had a lovely 3 night stay in this B&B in August 2012. Our room was lovely & really cosy. Breakfast is a simple continental style served in a bright airy breakfast room. We had a choice of cereals, toast, different fruit juices, tea/cofffee, fresh fruit, yogurt & fresh croissants which went down a treat. Payment is on arrival which makes check out really handy, just drop your keys in the box. This B&B has plenty of secure parking & is just a few footsteps from the little town, we got some good information on which restaurants, cafes & bars to try. Good base from which to explore Snowdon & Port Meirion. Good value & a lovely ambience, top marks to our hosts :-)

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank jills047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Just got back home from two nights at the Tudor Lodge - booked an hour before we turned up on their doorstep and received a wonderful friendly welcome from Carl - with a full briefing on where to eat and drink, what to see and where to go.

Had a great night sleep and breakfast the next morning was fab - lots of choice - different breads, jams, croissants, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, cheese, ham - loads to choose from.

We met Anja at breakfast and had a long natter. We mentioned that we were going on the Welsh Highland Railway - to Caernarfon and back again and they gave us some discount tokens for 10% discount

There's even a fridge for guests if you've anything you want to keep in there - and a shoe shine machine too.

There is free wi-fi at the hotel and if you are in a room that needs a booster plug, they'll lend you one to plug in

Would certainly go back there if we are in the area again

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jg5118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
695 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
390 reviews
4.0 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
295 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Golden Fleece Inn
The Golden Fleece Inn
#2 of 5 in Tremadog
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Lodge

Address: Tan Yr Onnen Penamser Road, Porthmadog LL49 9NY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Porthmadog
Price Range: £84 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tudor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tudor Lodge, 4 star hotel quality guest house, bed and breakfast is located in Porthmadog, a small Welsh harbour town. Porthmadog is very close to the famous Italianate village Portmeirion, Black Rock Sands, Snowdonia mountains and the Ffestiniog Railway. Tudor Lodge is a superb hotel quality guest house/ bed and breakfast with the attractive building set in its own mature gardens just off the Porthmadog high street on the Criccieth road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tudor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Porthmadog
Tudor Lodge Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing