We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Tudor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tudor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Porthmadog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Nice, friendly little place, very clean, comfy beds, shower OK. We stayed in Room 10 - a bit too small, nowhere to put your luggage. Room gets very stuffy, poor ventilation. Breakfast was fine, however the addition of bacon & eggs would make it excellent. Worth mentioning that I noticed a power point for electric vehicles in the parking area. Within walking distance of restaurants and main street shops. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Avoid room 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fexteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tudorlodge, Owner at Tudor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear fexteen,

We are happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us Tudor Lodge and would like to take this opportunity to respond to some of the issues raised in your review.

Room size
We have a selection of rooms available to fit a variety of needs and budgets. Whilst all our “Standard” rooms are of perfectly adequate size and functionality, guests staying longer and/or planning to spend more time relaxing in the room, or guests, such as yourselves, travelling with large-sized luggage, may wish to consider a “Large” room to ensure it corresponds with their individual needs. As the accommodation provider, we are more than happy to give advice and recommendations, however, the ultimate room choice is made by the guest, and in your case, you decided in favour of a “Standard” room when a downstairs “Large” room would have probably been more appropriate.

Room ventilation
Room 10 is a light twin room which has the largest en-suite in the house and a feature bay window with views over Porthmadog High Street and the Moelwyn mountain range. One of the large and two of the smaller windows open to provide sufficient ventilation in the room, although the recent unusual spells of very hot weather in the UK may have contributed to you feeling stuffy, for which we sincerely apologise. The wellbeing of our guests is of the utmost importance to us and should this, for whatever reason, be compromised, we would like to be made aware of it by the guest. Being the owners, we live on-site and consider ourselves very approachable for all our guests. In that respect, we are disappointed that you did not give us the opportunity to help you by simply informing us of your discomfort, which could have quite easily been addressed by one of the fans that we have in stock that were purchased for the convenience of our guests.

Breakfast
We are open and upfront about the healthy continental breakfast that we supply at Tudor Lodge and appreciate that it may not be suited to everyone’s taste. However, when a guest decides to ultimately make a booking with our establishment, they also accept our type of breakfast. Despite being informed otherwise, secretly hoping for an egg and bacon and subsequently airing any level of disappointment about the lack of cooked food that wasn’t on offer in the first place, we feel is simply unfair. The quality of our continental breakfast should be judged on its own merits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Only stopped for one night but would have happily stayed many more. Room was well furnished with everything you could need including free Wi-Fi. Bathroom very clean and well fitted though in our room (1) getting to the loo could be an issue if you were of a large stature - we were fine.
Welcome was excellent and the information (at reception and in the room) was exactly as it should be - many more illustrious places could learn here!
Breakfast was well laid out in the lovely dining area at the rear and of a high standard with fresh fruit and excellent croissants the highlights. As good as any 5 star hotel.
Location was good in the centre of Porthmadog a few minutes walk to everywhere you might want. No hesitation in returning or recommending very highly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We were staying 4 nights, so we opted for the cottage and this turned out to be the perfect choice. Super comfy bed, very nice bathroom with a great shower. The cottage has the extra bonus of a lounge and small kitchen. Carl and Anja are lovely hosts, we were made welcome right from the start, and looked after wonderfully for the rest of our stay. We will definitely be returning as its such an excellent base for Snowdonia and The Great Little Trains Of Wales.
D&J

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D_Rex186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here from the 19th - 21st July. Hotel was lovely, very clean and rooms were a good size. Staff were very welcoming, friendly and very helpful recommended us a few places to eat which were great! Breakfast was continental but had a great choice, everything you needed. Would definitely stay here again if we were going to Porthmadog.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights July 2013 for a local wedding. The lodge is charming, the owners were welcoming and helpful. The room was clean, neat with everything you need for a stay to attend a wedding. Breakfast was lovely, informal and relaxed with lots of choice. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pjeffery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here for three nights, during a gloriously hot few days. We chose Porthmadog for its location as we wanted to go to Portmeirion and on the Blaenau Ffestiniog Railway. Tudor Lodge has a gorgeous exterior, a slightly dated interior, but do not let put you off. We had a large double room, and the room was spacious, clean, and comfortable.
The breakfast in the mornings was lovely, a self-serving buffet, with toast, cereals, croissants and Continental style hams. I had fresh fruit, yoghurt and croissants for breakfast, which was delicious.
If I had any negative comments it would be the hairdryer in the drawer, which switched itself on everytime we put something on it.
We would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: The large double is highly recommended, a large room, with sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frost16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Well positioned within Porthmadog and with excellent car parking The Tudor Lodge offers a very comfortable stay. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and the beds are comfortable. The shower room was not huge but what it lacked in size it more than made up for with great water pressure and temperature control. This establishment makes a point upon booking that a continental breakfast only is provided. However it was excellent, offering fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, croissants, toast, cheese ham and salami. The owners are friendly and helpful and take an obvious pride in their business. We would stay again and recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadybugMidWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
15.9 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,344 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Golden Fleece Inn
The Golden Fleece Inn
#2 of 5 in Tremadog
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Lodge

Address: Tan Yr Onnen Penamser Road, Porthmadog LL49 9NY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Porthmadog
Price Range: £64 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tudor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tudor Lodge, 4 star hotel quality guest house, bed and breakfast is located in Porthmadog, a small Welsh harbour town. Porthmadog is very close to the famous Italianate village Portmeirion, Black Rock Sands, Snowdonia mountains and the Ffestiniog Railway. Tudor Lodge is a superb hotel quality guest house/ bed and breakfast with the attractive building set in its own mature gardens just off the Porthmadog high street on the Criccieth road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tudor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Porthmadog
Tudor Lodge Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing