We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Warm Welcome in Wales”
Review of Tudor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tudor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Porthmadog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Tudor Lodge is a delightful, well run and very affordable option if you're looking for a base in this part of North Wales. Rooms are beautifully furnished, warm and well appointed (all ensuite with power shower); with TV, wifi and very comfy beds. Breakfast is a continental-style feast: with choice of croissants, bread, cereals, yoghurt, cheeses, cold meats and excellent coffee! The affable owner, Marc, is a mine of local knowledge as well as being welcoming and friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curatorial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

Anja & Carl work hard to create a good restful place to stay, they are knowledgeable about the area, and give Tudor Lodge 100% attention to detail. The beds are comfortable, the place is spotless and the Continental Breakfast is excellent, with a wide choice and something for everyone's taste. I can't agree more with the last three people's comments, except that we didn't hear any cockerel, we were in one of the rooms in the front and sound asleep!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bronwen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This family run hotel is a lovely place to stay, very clean, good continental breakfast, very handy quiet and handt for the town and other tourist places in the area. The family make you very welcome. Try it and see for yourself.

Room Tip: We have stayed in two different rooms over 5/6 years and have found no fault with them. The contine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed for 5 nights at the start of September. 2 wonderful hosts. Very friendly, very helpful and very relaxed. Room was comfortable and very clean. Good shower with full hot water flow and big enough to move around in. Nice flat screen TV with all free view channels. Made a nice change for us to go continental for breakfast, but a huge choice to pick from and being self service meant you could eat as much (or little) as you want. Good, large off road car park. Hotel situated right in centre of town but just off the main road so quiet at night except for an insomniac cockerel somewhere nearby. Carls looking for guests to right to him to try and get something done about it. Would definately recommend this 1st class establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nidger50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We used Tudor Lodge as a base for a couple of nights while exploring north Wales. As neither of us had visited the area before we booked Tudor Lodge through laterooms.com online we were very pleasantly surprised at the village of Porthmadog, a quaint place incorporating steam railway, harbour, range of independently owned shops and lovely walks. Tudor Lodge at the end of the High Street was perfectly located, we were greeted by Anja who helped us with local eateries, pubs, must sees, weather forecasts (Snowdon was on the list of things to do) etc. Our room was extremely comfortable, and we liked the casual attitude of the hosts. Breakfasts were continental buffet style and a refreshing change from cooked full englishes that leave us feeling too stuffed and wanting to sleep them off! So full marks for breakfasts :-) for the room :-) Anja and Carl :-) (both a mine of local information) and Porthmadog :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We had a lovely time staying at the Tudor Lodge. The owners were absolutely lovely. Upon arrival the owner gave us a list of restaurants and activities to do around the hotel and his recommendations turned out to be very useful. The room was small but comfortable and quiet. The breakfast buffet was also a big plus, perfect to start a climbing day!
The hotel would benefit from having a pub/bar to grab a drink and a snack at night.
Overall we had a great time and will be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouiseHH89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

my wife and I spent 3 nights at this bed and breakfast. Owners are friendly, accommodations are above average and the location is in the heart of town. If you want a quiet night sleep, this is the place to be in Porthmadog.

Room Tip: For those over 65, try to reserve a room on the first floor. The is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
712 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
4.0 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
301 reviews
15.9 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Lodge

Address: Tan Yr Onnen Penamser Road, Porthmadog LL49 9NY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Porthmadog
Price Range: £64 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tudor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tudor Lodge, 4 star hotel quality guest house, bed and breakfast is located in Porthmadog, a small Welsh harbour town. Porthmadog is very close to the famous Italianate village Portmeirion, Black Rock Sands, Snowdonia mountains and the Ffestiniog Railway. Tudor Lodge is a superb hotel quality guest house/ bed and breakfast with the attractive building set in its own mature gardens just off the Porthmadog high street on the Criccieth road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tudor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Porthmadog
Tudor Lodge Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing