We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful place to stay in the centre of the town yet peaceful.”
Review of Tudor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tudor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Porthmadog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delightful place to stay in the centre of the town yet peaceful.”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Excellent location - near to the shops and restaurants, which the very helpful owner will give you a guide to. Lovely room, seemed freshly decorated, with modern clean good bathroom; breakfast was 'only' continental - but you couldn't ask for anything better unless nothing will do for you but a fry-up! Lots of choice - meats, cheeses, toast, hot croissants, many varieties of fruit and cereals, all nicely stored. I had the fresh berries and yoghurt then a croissant and coffee and suffered no withdrawal symptoms! Very much enjoyed a walk down to the harbour (were sorry the Thai was closed).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    72
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
223
45
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Booked last minute and got a very nice room, i used laterooms as they were offering a good deal, however next time i will book direct, the owners are perfect hosts, i had my doubts about staying at a b&b as its far more personal, like staying at somebody's house (because it is) but this b&b changed that for me, well done to the owners, spot on.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I arrived late hoping there was a room available and was warmly welcomed buy the owner who showed me to my room and recommended places to go out for dinner. The Thai in the Harbor is fantastic! The room was very clean and tidy with a comfy bed with a very up to date bathroom and a huge shower. Free fast Wi-Fi and the breakfast was fresh and very tasty, with loads to choose from.
The first thing I thought when I left was, 'must leave a good review on trip advisor'. Will stay again for sure when passing next.

Room Tip: Room 7 was great for a solo traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My friend and I were extremely lucky to arrive at Tudor Lodge just as a room became available. We'd been staying at Festival No.6 but our tent blew down on the last night and we were left drenched and miserable. We set off home but spotted the sign for Tudor Lodge on our way out and called in on the off chance. The welcome we received was warm and friendly, our twin room comfortable, clean and with all the amenities of a chain hotel but with a personal feel. Breakfast was varied and plentiful, and we left well stocked on sleep and great food. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodham,Addlestone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We were a group of 8 rail enthusiasts visiting Porthmadog from Surrey to spend a day on the Welsh Highland Railway. Tudor Lodge was an excellent base for us. Carl provides an excellent Continental breakfast and is a very convivial host. He provided us with very helpful information on the Railway (he got us a small discount on the ticket price) and on local restaurants and public houses. Carl also recommended we visit the Welsh Highland Heritage Railway in Porthmdaog, which we did and found it very interesting. Tudor Lodge is a good place to say in Porthmadog.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeWiddup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here with my parents for a weekend, doing some sightseeing in the area. Found the Tudor Lodge reviews very promising on trip adviser, so booked, and was not disappointed. Lovely clean modern rooms with fab en-suite bathrooms, shampoo and soap on wall dispensers, nice touch indeed. Breakfast was continental, with a very large choice, fresh fruit and yoghurt, warmed croissants, toast, cheese and ham to name a few. Carl and Anja, were super helpful and very down to earth, making the Tudor Lodge a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 576Raquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My father and I stayed here for 3 nights and it was a great place to stay. Carl and Anja are such lovely, inviting, and helpful people who really made it a very enjoyable stay for us. We had a twin room which was very comfortable and very clean - got to love the places which are actually clean! A lovely spread was put out for breakfast each morning in a spacious dining room. We had to leave very early so Anja was really helpful and put together a lovely breakfast tray for us which we could get ourselves to enjoy in the morning. Carl also gave us a call in the morning to wish us a safe and happy journey as he knew we had a long drive to London. Anja and Carl also wrote us a lovely message on a card - it's those little things which are really thoughtful and special which stand out and make a stay really memorable. They were both really helpful in making sure we knew where everything was that we'd need around town, best places to eat, things to do at different locations we were heading to, and everything we needed to know about the steam trains.

Thank you Carl and Anja for making our stay in Porthmadog a fantastic one!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NZ_2_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
690 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
385 reviews
4.0 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
291 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Golden Fleece Inn
The Golden Fleece Inn
#2 of 5 in Tremadog
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Lodge

Property: Tudor Lodge
Address: Tan Yr Onnen Penamser Road, Porthmadog LL49 9NY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Porthmadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tudor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tudor Lodge, 4 star hotel quality guest house, bed and breakfast is located in Porthmadog, a small Welsh harbour town. Porthmadog is very close to the famous Italianate village Portmeirion, Black Rock Sands, Snowdonia mountains and the Ffestiniog Railway. Tudor Lodge is a superb hotel quality guest house/ bed and breakfast with the attractive building set in its own mature gardens just off the Porthmadog high street on the Criccieth road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tudor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Porthmadog
Tudor Lodge Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing