We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tudor Lodge”
Review of Tudor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tudor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Porthmadog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent place to stay to explore Snowdon. Very clean, and lovely continental breakfast. Jana was also very helpful providing places to eat and drink in Porthmadog and the surrounding areas. If I was heading back to the area I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. Very welcoming and friendly people. Position is near to the bottom of the High Street and within easy walk of pubs and restaurants. Very quiet and peaceful. Single room was very small and cramped. Those that struggle with stairs may wish to avoid as they are narrow and steep. Continental breakfast only. Otherwise ok.

Room Tip: There are rooms on ground floor but breakfast room is door stairs. Ample car parking off-street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blott2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is our second stay at Tudor lodge. We received a very warm welcome, the lodge is clean comfortable and warm and the breakfast is lovely. It has the added advantage of being near the town centre but it is also very quiet. Certainly a good choice.

Room Tip: They have a good selection of ground floor rooms for anyone who has some difficulty with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Tudor Lodge as a part of a birthday weekend visit to Wales and specifically Portmeirion.
We were delighted with our stay and the hosts cannot do enough for you to make sure you enjoy your stay. At check in we were greeted cheefully and given loads of information on all the local facilities for eating out etc.
Breakfast is a continental type breakfast and is better than most with a good selection of ffod and drink available. Every time we saw any staff we were always met with a friendly smile and chat which made us feel like we were extremely welcome. On my wifes birthday she was met on return to our room with a box of chocolates and a card which we both thought was a lovely touch.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Tudor Lodge to anyone wanting to visit Porthmadog and we will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Another great stay at Tudor Lodge. This is an extremely comfortable hotel in every sense of the word. Warm welcome, friendly helpful staff and proprietors, spotlessly clean and great location. All the great reviews speak for themselves and we'll be returning next year, we love it. D&J

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_Rex186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

On arrive we were made to feel very welcome by Anja, and we were able to be shown to our room before the check in time. The room was a decent size for the both of us and was spotless clean. Anja was very friendly and gave us a map of the area pointing out the areas of interest and restaurants around Porthmadog. Breakfast was a buffet style affair which I really liked as I'm not really into eating a cooked breakfast in the morning. There was plenty on offer, many cereals, fruit, toast, cold meats, ect. The dining room was not cramped and there was ample space for the guest to move about. The location is great for the shops and is a great little base for many of the attractions around the area. Me and my partner really enjoyed our stay at the Tudor Lodge and Anja and Carl clearly have pride in their work and are giving their guests a brill place to stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were made very welcome, the double bedroom was immaculate and the continental breakfast provided a great choice. This B&B was in an excellent position for the town of Porthmadog - overall excellent value, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alan_puckey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
712 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
4.0 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
301 reviews
15.9 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Lodge

Address: Tan Yr Onnen Penamser Road, Porthmadog LL49 9NY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Porthmadog
Price Range: £64 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tudor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tudor Lodge, 4 star hotel quality guest house, bed and breakfast is located in Porthmadog, a small Welsh harbour town. Porthmadog is very close to the famous Italianate village Portmeirion, Black Rock Sands, Snowdonia mountains and the Ffestiniog Railway. Tudor Lodge is a superb hotel quality guest house/ bed and breakfast with the attractive building set in its own mature gardens just off the Porthmadog high street on the Criccieth road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tudor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Porthmadog
Tudor Lodge Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing