We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place”
Review of Tudor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tudor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Porthmadog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 6 November 2008

My husband and I stayed one Saturday night. We were very warmly welcomed by Carl.
Our room was immaculate, clean comfortable and modern.
We had a good night's sleep as the area was quiet at a reasonable hour.
The local area is popular with walkers and cyclists, there were many local attractions nearby too. i.e, steam ralilway, adventure outings and much more.....
We dined out at the Ship Inn Lombard Street for evening meal the food was excellent and staff were great. (The beer was good too!)
The lodge provides a lovely continental breakfast the waitress was very attentive and pleasant..
We had a little mechanical problem with our car as we were about to leave, but the ever helpful nice young man Carl came to our rescue and got us on our way. Many thanks Carl.
We look forward to staying at The tudor Lodge again.
The Tudor lodge may also be opening a new hotel in 2010 and I would be more than happy to sample there too.

  • Liked — Pretty much all of it
  • Disliked — Would have liked a cooked breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkieinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    71
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
213
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stoke-on-trent uk
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

Arrived in Porthmadog and found the Lodge 5 min walk from the train station. Tudor lodge looked really inviting from the outside and once in there we were not disappointed. Room was great and very clean, nice comfy bed large tv, coffee and tea. Bathroom was large and modern with a great shower. We were in room 5 at the back of the property and at night it was very quiet. Breakfast was plentyful with cereal, fresh fruit, cheese, cooked meats, toast, fresh rolls and the best croissants ever Thankyou for a lovely stay

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank teenba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2007

While there's not much to see in Porthmadog itself, this hotel will provide a cute, clean and in some ways slightly modern place to stay. This bed and breakfast ticks all the boxes with a great breakfast, great service/advice and most importantly, comfy beds and great bathrooms!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank captainturntable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2007

Great experience here, we had a beautiful room!

Carl and Anja were very very nice, and I was grateful to deal with such great people after our long(longer than expected!)drive from London.

Complimentary breakfast was very good as well. I only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raindog71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2007

Tudor Lodge has a 4 star AA rating for guest houses and this is totally deserved. The owners Carl and Anja are perfect hosts and able
to offer advice on where to eat/drink and where to visit. There are 14 rooms, all similarly furnished and all en suite with TV, hospitality tray (including herbal teas and shortcake biscuits), shower gel and soap dispensers in the bathroom, heated towel rail, spotlessly decorated with new-looking pine furniture. Continental breakfast is included in the rate and we found this to be far better than a greasy fry-up. Help yourself to a good range of cereals, toast
and preserves, warm croissants, ham, cheese, yoghurts, fruit salad, pieces of fresh fruit, fresh orange juice and tea/coffee/hot chocolate. The guest house has a central location in Porthmadog with its own car parking. 5 minutes walk to the Ffestiniog railway or 15 minutes walk to nearby Tremadog when you've exhausted the pubs/
restaurants in Porthmadog! Would definitely stay at Tudor Lodge again.

  • Liked — Warm and comfortable room
  • Disliked — No bad points!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
4.0 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Golden Fleece Inn
The Golden Fleece Inn
#2 of 5 in Tremadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Lodge

Property: Tudor Lodge
Address: Tan Yr Onnen Penamser Road, Porthmadog LL49 9NY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Porthmadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tudor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tudor Lodge, 4 star hotel quality guest house, bed and breakfast is located in Porthmadog, a small Welsh harbour town. Porthmadog is very close to the famous Italianate village Portmeirion, Black Rock Sands, Snowdonia mountains and the Ffestiniog Railway. Tudor Lodge is a superb hotel quality guest house/ bed and breakfast with the attractive building set in its own mature gardens just off the Porthmadog high street on the Criccieth road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tudor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Porthmadog
Tudor Lodge Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing