We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Friendly B&B”
Review of Tudor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tudor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Porthmadog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Friendly B&B”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here for three nights lovely clean friendly B&B. We were greeted on arrival and given lots of information on best places to eat, breakfast was continental but very nice and good selection. I would definitely recommend this as good place to stay and not too expensive £250 for two people for three nights

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    72
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
223
45
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. Lots of helpful advice was provided as to where to eat and what to do and also where to avoid! Breakfast was great, lots of variety and plenty of it. We were in the cottage which had plenty of room for the four of us. It was very clean and I would certainly recommend it as an excellent base to explore Snowdonia. However none of us slept well as the beds were really uncomfortable. The children were just on mattresses on a hard floor downstairs and though bed linen fresh and clean all the mattresses felt like they seen better days.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A great place to stay in mid-west Wales! A very warm welcome, helpful advice on where to eat and things to do. Extremely clean. Great continental breakfast. Although I was initially disappointed it was not the full English breakfast there was ample to eat with cereals, fresh fruit, toast, croissant, as much juice /coffee and tea as you wished. Very fresh and filling.
All in all I'd recommend this B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: ..quite busy so book in advance. We were at the back of the hotel so no noise from other guests com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimGforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Excellent b&b for my stay on this 2 night stop off on a cycling tour of Snowdonia. Carl was friendly, accommodating and very helpful straight off the mark. Loads of knowledgable suggestions and good humour to make me feel at home straight away. Cosy room, well fitted and kept. Breakfast was a help yourself feast and very good before a day ascending Snowdon, very good, healthy and filling indeed. Tremadog up the road for food, the square, best meal I've had in a long time - again, Carl's suggestion. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 night. Great B & B, good location, nice sized room, good parking, great continental buffet breakfast & good location. No views but if all you are after is a nice place this fits the bill.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralph j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Very welcoming on arrival and during our stay
Clean comfortable good parking
Breakfast is continental and was sufficient made a nice change from usual cooked
Plenty of advice on where to go and what to do including eating out
Would recommend to any one

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We arrived 30 minutes before the authorised check in time and decided to ask if we could leave the car in the car park. We rang the doorbell and were ushered in to see if our room was ready. It was and we were checked in and given a quick resume of Porthmadog, places to see and places to eat (and, perhaps, avoid).

The hotel is in a great position just off the main street. It has a large car park. The room (Number 3 ground floor) was spacious, exceptionally clean and with virtually every amenity you could ask for. The breakfast was ‘continental’ with a good selection of cereals, fruits, bread, and the list goes on. Spoilt for choice.
During our three night stay, some of our fellow guests were from Germany and it seems, they have a lot of visitors who reside on the Continent.
The hotel is about a ten minute walk to the Ffestiniog and Welsh Highland Railway station. Porthmadog has an interesting marina to walk round.
A friendly and welcoming hotel with lots to offer the most discerning guest. We enjoyed our stay and feel confident you will too.

Room Tip: Room 3 was a twin room on the ground floor. It was comfortable and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbarker20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
690 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
385 reviews
4.0 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
291 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Golden Fleece Inn
The Golden Fleece Inn
#2 of 5 in Tremadog
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Lodge

Property: Tudor Lodge
Address: Tan Yr Onnen Penamser Road, Porthmadog LL49 9NY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Porthmadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tudor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tudor Lodge, 4 star hotel quality guest house, bed and breakfast is located in Porthmadog, a small Welsh harbour town. Porthmadog is very close to the famous Italianate village Portmeirion, Black Rock Sands, Snowdonia mountains and the Ffestiniog Railway. Tudor Lodge is a superb hotel quality guest house/ bed and breakfast with the attractive building set in its own mature gardens just off the Porthmadog high street on the Criccieth road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Tudor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Porthmadog
Tudor Lodge Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing