We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Pleasant Stay”
Review of Tudor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tudor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Porthmadog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2010

The owners were both very pleasant and helpful - gave out lots of useful local info.
Room was very clean and bright - very comfortable bed and fab bathroom.
Breakfast absolutely fine - all fresh and lots of it - all in all a very pleasant stay. Thankyou

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley Shiers M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2010

A lovely little hotel with extremely friendly hosts who couldn't do enough for us - coped with our last minute changes of plans, provided an excellent continental breakfast for us to help ourselves to as we were leaving at literally the crack of dawn, and even refunded us a night after selling our room on - which of course they didn't have to do.
I would strongly recommend this lovely little hotel in a picturesque part of Wales. Beautiful drive through Snowdonia the next morning.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank granitabiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

From the warm and informative check-in experience with Carl, our three night stay proved to be most enjoyable. The room was clean, stylish and thoughtfully appointed with a modern ensuite. Breakfast is in a comprehensive continental style, fresh,tasty and frequently replenished. Carl offers advice on day trips and restaurants and there is plenty of car parking space on site. Porthmadog town centre (though rather down at heel and offering little in the way of good eateries or interesting shops) is just a few minutes' walk. We would recommend a trip to Criccieth (four miles) for a super choice of quality restaurants It would be hard to find a better guest house and much of its success is due to the friendly professionalism of Carl, Anja and Kamila. Two small suggestions: it would be nice to have tea pots in the breakfast room and the showers would benefit from a toiletries tray at chest level.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midlandmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

My wife and I booked in the Tudor Lodge on Oct 7th for only one night to see friends who were staying at Port Merion and found the hotel to be extremely clean and well appointed with a very friendly host who was very helpful indeed in advising us which places were best to eat and drink. The room was excellent value for the money and the bathroom looked brand new with a walk-in shower and extremely clean. An ideal hotel for visitors to Port Merion which is 3 miles away and the Ffestinniog railway only a walk away. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregory8391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Stayed overnight on 2nd Sept 2010 with friends from Australia (who ran a guest house in OZ and are therefore very critical of such establishments). Very friendly welcome. Rooms a good size, ensuite bathroom spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, clean smelling sheets, quiet at night so a great nights sleep. The best continental breakfast I've had for a long time, which set us up for the day at Portmeirion (which is literally just down the road). Thankyou. You made our short trip an absolute pleasure, and should we be in your neck of the woods in the future we will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QashqaiRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We had a wonderful 2 nights in the Tudor Lodge. It is an excellent b & b and I could find no fault. The room was clean and comfortable with good facilities and an excellent shower. Private parking was a bonus. The buffet continental breakfast was lovely.

I would highly recommend Tudor Lodge and we hope to be able to stay again the next time we visit friends in Portmadog.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patr00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Carl and Anja were very welcoming and provided great service throughout our stay. We were upgraded on arrival to the small self catering lodge, which gave us some very welcome extra space. The room was veryy clean, fixtures and fitings were of a good standard, the bathroom was especially nice. The continental breakfast buffet was constantlly being restocked with tasty fresh food.
Porthmadog is handy for Snowdonia and the coast, Tudor lodge is hady for the town centre and also Tesco for all your essentials.
The local and walking advice the host gave us was spot on and much appreciated. Overall - perfect - just what we needed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliverd1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
303 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Golden Fleece Inn
The Golden Fleece Inn
#2 of 5 in Tremadog
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yr Hen Fecws
Yr Hen Fecws
#6 of 12 in Porthmadog
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Lodge

Address: Tan Yr Onnen Penamser Road, Porthmadog LL49 9NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Porthmadog
Price Range: £91 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tudor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tudor Lodge, 4 star hotel quality guest house, bed and breakfast is located in Porthmadog, a small Welsh harbour town. Porthmadog is very close to the famous Italianate village Portmeirion, Black Rock Sands, Snowdonia mountains and the Ffestiniog Railway. Tudor Lodge is a superb hotel quality guest house/ bed and breakfast with the attractive building set in its own mature gardens just off the Porthmadog high street on the Criccieth road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tudor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Porthmadog
Tudor Lodge Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing