We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Returning to our roots!”
other travellers have booked this property
Stunning Edwardian Villa with beautiful gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning Edwardian Villa with beautiful gardens
A rather lovely part of the world! Hafod Cae Maen (highlighted) sits above Portmeirion Village
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Stunning Edwardian Villa with beautiful gardens
A rather lovely part of the world!
Hafod Cae Maen (highlighted) sits above Portmeirion Village
The family-friendly sitting room
The library - our favourite room.  Has an open fire, a piano, and hundreds of books
The kitchen - fully equipped by a professional chef
The dining room - seats 8 with ease and 10 good friends!
The house and garden
The Portmeirion Room
The Portmeirion Room
The playhouse in one corner of the garden
The Rhinog Room
The Moel Y Gest Room - can also be made up as one king-size bed
The Cnicht Room - can also be made up as one king-size bed
The view from the balcony in the Portmeirion Room
Dine al fresco in the garden
Relax by the fire in the library
The south-facing garden has panoramic views
Portmeirion beach - accessible at low tide and, in our experience, a good spot for proposals!
Our house is the one left of centre!
Hafod Cae Maen is accessed along a farm track
Hafod Cae Maen was built in 1919
Stunning Edwardian villa with beautiful gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Porthmadog, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
VincePayn...
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Returning to our roots!”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We have just returned from this beautiful home.Our daughter Emma had booked it for us for a Christmas present. Lucy my wifes Grandparents lived here for many years and what a Christmas present! We were with various members of our family including a young baby and 2 young children of 4 and 5 years old. The house has been renovated to an absolutely excellent standard but not only that it has been done totally sympathetically. There is a lot of room at the house and it is so well equipped for families or groups of friends. Fantastic gardens and in a beautiful quiet area.We loved it and are already planning a return visit.We totally recommend it for a wonderful relaxing break in a beautiful Home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for the great review. We are so pleased to be in touch with you and look forward to your return visit! Best wishes, Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkmans
bedford
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A wonderful house”
Reviewed 28 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We spent a week at Harold Cae Mean over Christmas and used it as a base for bringing family and friends together. The house is wonderful for entertaining and relaxing. It is superbly well appointed, extremely comfortable and everything works - every door closes properly, the showers work, every light bulb works, the open fire is splendid and the logs plentiful and bone dry (unlike other places we have stayed in as a rental) and the house was spotlessly clean. The location is excellent, off the beaten track with substantial gardens and a delightful, elevated, view over the estuary. We could not fault it and will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are glad you had a great stay and hope to welcome you again soon, Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yuletide2...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing house in a great position. Made to feel very welcome”
Reviewed 8 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This was a great house for family gathering for my father in laws 90th birthday
Owners and Gwen so helpful. Beautiful position. We had dry crisp / cold weather, loved the log burner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thank you very much for the lovely review. We are glad you had a great stay and would love to see you again some time, Claire PS We couldn't agree more about Gwen!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalesRoad...
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BRILLIANT HOUSE TO RENT”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Every thing you can think of is provided for all ages.
Could not ask for more attentive owners or manager.
Short walk to Portmeirion, but a little far to walk back at night form the pub.
The most comfortable beds and bedding available
Kitchen a bit small for a large group

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thank you very much for your review and glad you liked the beds! We hope you'll come and visit us again soon, Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katsteven...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful, hidden gem this house is amongst the beautiful Welsh farmland. My husband and I and our three year old were lucky enough to spend a long weekend with friends here. The house itself is beautifully renovated with all mod cons and is equipped with everything one might need, both adults and children, for an extremely comfortable stay. A particular favourite was the library with open fire for cosy evenings when the children had gone to bed. Though not summer, the gardens were still an absolute delight; the children loved the play house and exploring the lush greenery, while the adults enjoyed the breathtaking views. The surrounding areas offered fantastic trips and outings, though we often couldn't wait to get back! All round a wonderful place to stay, we wouldn't hesitate to return for another break with family/friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thank you very much for the lovely review! We hope you will come and visit us again soon, Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwerchola
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic retreat for family & friends”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Greatly enjoyed our long weekend at Hafod Cae Maen. The house is situated amid breathtaking scenery, and itself is picture perfect inside. Beautifully decorated and finished, yet welcoming, our large party of adults and children felt instantly at home. The garden and nearby walks proved to be a massive hit with both parents and mini-explorers, as did the nearby Harlech castle, Ffestiniog steam railway and unspoilt beach at Harlech (not to be missed). After such busy days, the house was a treat to return to and the poor weather at least gave us a great excuse to get the fire going and unwind in the library. We couldn't have asked for more, and hope to return.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely review. Please do come and visit us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rousegang
1 review
“A superb period house in a stunning location”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderful holiday here with our 2 children (13yrs & 10yrs) and 2 dogs. The house was extremely comfortable and had stunning views. The garden was beautiful and was completely enclosed. We enjoyed all the adventure activities close by, as well as Snowdonia on the doorstep.
The welcome pack was a lovely surprise, (full of yummy treats) and 2 vases of fresh flowers were much appreciated. Gwen (meet and greet) was a delight and full of helpful ideas and advice.
We definitely hope to return next year.
A big thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely review - we hope to see you again some time! Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing