We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very lovely apartment”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 6 Oakley Wharf

From the patio looking at the mountains south of Snowdon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
From the patio looking at the mountains south of Snowdon
View down the estuary towards Portmeirion Looking towards Snowdonia Mountains
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
From the patio looking at the mountains south of Snowdon
View down the estuary towards Portmeirion
Looking towards Snowdonia Mountains
Front seat for the panoramic views
Guests love this outlook
20 mins stroll from the apartment
Secluded coves on the walk from Borth y Gest
Looking back at Borthy Gest and the Moelwyns
Shower room
Kitchen
Bedroom
View through the apartment
Patio area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Porthmadog, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Disgusted...
W.Yorks
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very lovely apartment”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Beautiful views, very clean. We enjoyed our stay apart from the weather. The apartment had everything we needed.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Rex1863...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We holiday in Porthmadog every year and this was the best so far. The apartment is clean and well equipped with everything you'll need for the week. It's situated just far enough away from the High Street to give you peace and quiet, but only a few mins walk away when you want to be in the thick of it. You'll need to careful around the lounge windows, it's all too easy to spend your entire holiday there! The coming and going of the boats, the bird life and the F&WH Railway arrivals and departures are all strangely compelling viewing. There is some noise intrusion from the flat above, foot falls mostly. It didn't impact on us, but for those who are sensitive to such things, it may be something to consider. In short, we liked it so much we re-booked next years holiday within 24hrs of leaving. Thank you Stephen and Sandra for a wonderful holiday :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location and harbour views
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxwell J...
1 review
“Oakley Wharf - An ideal base for a stay in Porthmadog”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My wife and I have just returned from a 7day stay at this apartment. it is very clean and tidy with every thing required provided. A wonderful location for touring Snowdonia. A short walk to the town centre and the heritage rail station with trips to Caernarfon and Blaenau Ffestiniog.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur W
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A brilliant place to stay for Snowdonia and the Llyn Peninsular”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My wife and I have just returned from a 12 day stay at this apartment. it is very clean and tidy, close to all local amenities. A wonderful location for touring Snowdonia and the Llyn Peninsular with marvellous scenery and places of interest. it is also on the route of the Wales Coastal Path. All in all a wonderful place to stay. We shall definitely be going again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manda_sam...
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, well equipped.”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The apartment is right on the quay and surrounded by the mountains of Snowdonia National Park on one side and the estuary on the other. Short walk to all the facilities of Porthmadog and with its own parking space. Being a little off the beaten track it is quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed walking directly from the property along to the next bay of Borth-y-Gest and from there to the next bay. We really enjoyed our stay and the property was a perfect base for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bedding
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2015
Thank you, it is lovely to know our guests enjoy the convenience and comfort of our property as well as the peaceful and spectacular surroundings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosF256
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful views and great apartment”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just spent a week at this apartment and thought the views were magical. The apartment had everything we required and was lovely and clean. We would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Leaving the views
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful apartment with stunning views”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were so lucky to chance upon this lovely apartment, as we were late booking but it was available exactly the week we wanted! The apartment itself is very well equipped, comfortable, quiet and clean, and is a fantastic base from which to travel to a huge variety of places of interest, although if you don't want to move far you can just sit and relax and watch the boats and swans drifting by in the harbour, with the stunning backdrop of the mountains of Snowdonia, and find everything you need within a short walk. We intend to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, right on the harbour's edge, and the views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;