We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay”
Review of Berwyn Guest House

Berwyn Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Berwyn Guest House
Ranked #1 of 26 Rhyl B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“overnight stay”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

we enjoyed our stay at the Berwyn guest house comfortable & clean hosts tom & Lorraine were lovely breakfast ( full English ) was excellent would stay again if in rhyl. good base for exploring surrounding areas

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank rosanne1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    44
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
105
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed for two nights whilst visiting my daughter on placement. Lorraine and Tom made me feel so welcome, they are lovely people. Breakfast was highlight of my day, plentiful and beautifully cooked.
My room was spotlessly clean, with all the amenities I needed. I would certainly stay there again, as it ticked all my boxes, very close to shops, bars and restaurants and minutes from the promenade and beach.
Lorraine and Tom were the perfect hosts, I would recommend Berwyn Hotel as the place to stay if ever visiting Rhyl.

Room Tip: Attic room was very peaceful and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Too many "anal" rules in this place - filling in breakfast sheets the night before, inflexibility around breakfast times, a false welcome from the hostess and a mildly aggressive attitude from the host when challenged about the fact that the shower wasn't working. Turn it to COLD for hot! How silly of us. Suffice to say, shall not be staying at Berwyn Guest House if ever in Rhyl again. There are hundreds of B&B's in this town - don't choose this one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Winnetta75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

When l booked online l thought l was booking a hotel, when l got there, lo and behold l came face to face with my first ever b & b experience. The room was very tidy, the breakfast was freshly cooked and always served with a smile, Tom and Lorraine were so very friendly and the beach was just a stones throw away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Aitkens2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I only stayed one night on a work trip, the room was very basic, a little dated but freshly painted, clean walls and the bed was very comfortable. A few steps up the road to the main promenade. But Lorraine and Tom are so friendly and a lovely fresh cooked breakfast made the difference.

Room Tip: I was in a room facing the back garden,(2 I think?) it was a bit noisy from water pipes outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MumOfOne43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

my week at berwyn was good from start to finish. Lorraine & tom are excellent hosts, nothing was too much trouble for them to help with.My room was clean and comfortable with a washbasin and shower and toilet was on the next floor. Breakfast was good with toast and cereal and orange juice as well as a cooked breakfast. It is just off the front and not far from shops or entertainment. Also close to bus and train services.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank maggiedyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A weekend in Rhyl. As a Race for Life volunteer I just wanted somewhere reasonably affordable, and clean and quiet, I wasn't disappointed, Tom and Lorraine were very nice, friendly, approachable, the house was very clean, and moreso a very relaxed atmosphere, no endless list of silly rules. Happy to recommend and happy to go again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diskmandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerwynGuestHouse, Owner at Berwyn Guest House, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely comments and taking the time to review Berwyn Guest House. Lorraine & I like to know our guests had a comfortable and relaxing stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you, Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
0.5 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
556 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
336 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
582 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berwyn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berwyn Guest House

Property: Berwyn Guest House
Address: 35 River Street, Rhyl LL18 1PY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Rhyl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berwyn Guest House is a family run guest house and is in a perfect location just 200 yards from the beach and within walking distance of the town centre and all major attractions in and around Rhyl. We have one pet friendly room; please ring to discuss before booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Berwyn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berwyn Guest House Rhyl, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing