We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 2 day break”

Melbourne Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melbourne Guest House
Ranked #5 of 26 Rhyl B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great 2 day break”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Thanks Jenny/Brian, For making our short visit to Rhyl such a pleasure, Your establishment is a credit to you both, Spotlessly clean, great breakfast, thanks again, hoping to see you in the near future, will certainly recommend to others.

Room Tip: Stairs to bedrooms, We had room 3, (could be used as family room, was a 3rd bed in room) in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maypeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
13
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I stayed here for a week this month and I cannot recommend it enough. The room was the cleanest b&b room I have ever stayed in and the high standard of cleanliness was through out the premises. The bed was very comfy, the breakfast was great and the en suite bathroom was spotless I could not pick a fault with anything. The owner Jenny and her husband are very welcoming and go above and beyond to make sure your stay is as pleasant as possible. This b&b is a hidden gem and for the price I was amazed at the high standards and level of service you recieve, I will definitely use the melbourne guesthouse again and I highly recommend it you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJGRhyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I stayed in this b&b with my 2 boys aged 14 and 11. We stayed in an ensuite family room with 3 single beds. The room and ensuite were both beautifully decorated and very spacious. It was also very clean and had everything we needed - towels, toiletries, hairdryer, kettle etc.
Jenny was a very pleasant host. We chatted to her in the mornings over breakfast which itself was enjoyable.
We would happily recommend this b&b to visitors to Rhyl. Rhyl is not the same place that it was years ago but it still has an incredible sandy beach which is empty every time we go there.We had a great few days there and walking along the promenade and watching the waves crash will always be a pleasure as will playing catch on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2008

Myself, my husband and our two children (3 and 12), along with mother in law, father in law and nephew (14) booked a very last minute 2 day break to Rhyl. We found it almost impossible to book anywhere to stay for just 2 nights, and had almost given up hope when we discovered this b&b. My husband contacted the owner, a delightful lady named Jenny, who along with her husband have owned and run the b&b for 11 years. situated 1 minutes walk away from the beach, and about the same distance from the Rhyl suncentre, we had a great location for our short break.
We paid a small deposit by cheque, and arrived at the Melbourne to be greeted by Jenny, who was very nice. Our rooms were fine, very clean and well equipped. Myself, my husband and the youngest had a very nice top floor family room, which was en suite, one double bed and one single. The two older boys had a twin room, no en suite, but a washbasin in the room and a loo and shower room just next door. they were on the first floor, next to the double room which was occupied by the in laws. this was also en suite and well equipped and very clean.
As a base for a short stay the Melbourne was ideal, very reasonably priced, and comfortable. The Melbourne has 3 stars, and Jenny is fully proficient in signing for the deaf as her husband is deaf.
Breakfast was served at 8.30am in a perfectly acceptable dining room, which had just been redecorated. Very good home cooked food, and lovely conversation with Jenny made breakfast very enjoyable. She was very obliging, even with a very fussy and shy 3 year old to cater to.
One thing which i found slightly inconvenient was the lack of lounge area for guests, which meant we had to sit in the room which was okay for a short stay, but would have been awkward for a longer stay. Also the premises are not licenced, so no bar.
Rhyl itself was not so great. Very quiet when we visited, which was a surprise because it was during the school summer holidays. And it was almost impossible to find anywhere to eat after 6pm, we really struggled to find somewhere for a meal and ended up traipsing the streets for almost 40 minutes. We had more success the next night, but we needed to drive out.
Rhyl is undergoing some intensive redevelopment at the moment, but the amount of boarded up businesses was a little sad.

  • Liked — the hosts
  • Disliked — lack of guest lounge and bar area
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chellebelle30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
0.3 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
551 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roseview B&B
Roseview B&B
#3 of 26 in Rhyl
48 reviews
0.9 mi away
Berwyn Guest House
Berwyn Guest House
#1 of 26 in Rhyl
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kensington Hotel
Kensington Hotel
#17 of 26 in Rhyl
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Guest House

Property: Melbourne Guest House
Address: 8 Beechwood Road, Rhyl LL18 3EU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Rhyl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Melbourne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Guest House Rhyl, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing