We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhyl
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed here in september for 1 week (2 adults, a 7 year old and an 11 month old). We arrived at approx 2pm on 17th september and went to reception where we were asked if we were checking in and we said yes and we were told we had to go to the show bar. The receptionist wasnt ver welcoming and seemed to just want to get rid of us! There was a room we could keep our cases but to be honest I would be careful what I left in there as people were just coming and going without questions. People coming from the shpwbar said they were being turned away til 4pm (when I had called the day before I was told if we arrive before 4 that we would likely be checked in) but we werent so waited a while the the sandpiper bar and also tried out the adventure playground.

When we were given our keys to check in we had been upgraded to silver which was a bonus as our 11 month old cant have dairy and so we ate in quite a bit and the silver had a full size freezer. Our caravan was easy to get to and was in a great spot, was right opposite the little road to the new beechfields I think it is part of the site. And less than a minute walk to the seafront/promenade. The only down side to the location was there was a walkway right at the side of our van so people coming along at all times and there were 2 VERY noisy cars coming and going very often from the beechfields part of the site and it was a horrid noise! The caravan we had was fab! Kitchen was very clean and very well equipped even including a steamer, food processor and plenty of plates and cups etc. There were also plastic picnic items which I thought was fab. The one thing i will note though is that that shower had hair in the plug hole still which wasnt very nice. Also there was only a key for the back door of the van so we had to keep coming and going from that door which was a pain with a pushchair.

The amenities are great. The swimming pool is lovely and warm and yes the changing areas are small which when we went wasnt an issue as it was quiet season but I can imagine it gets very busy in the peak months. The staff in the swimming area I found were friendly enough and kept people in check!! The restaurant/bar is nice enough and if you are on a budget they have some fab priced meals and the food is just like any pub meal. The staff there were lovely, drinks a little pricey! Showbar was nice also, got very busy but always managed to find a seat. The entertainment was cheese at its best but was fun and the staff seemed to work hard! The arcade and childrens pay area was fab (childrens play area smelt terribly of smelly feet so thought maybe it needed a clean! Lol). The lad who was working in the arcade swapping tickets for prizes etc was very patient with the kids hounding him all the time and did a great job!! We went to the chip shop a few times and the ladies there were lovely and the food mostly was greatly priced and yummy!! Better than some at home!

This was my first caravan holiday since I was a child (in approx 20 years) and it was fab and we would definitely like to go again.

If management read this is it possible to request the same van if we visit again?

Also one thing I will say is the sales staff in the ownership part need to be given a kick up the backside. We would be interested in the future in owning our own and wanted some info on approx site fees etc and so hubby went in and as soon as they found out we were on holiday and not looking to buy now but just wanting info he said the girl he spoke to turned not very friendly!!! Enough to put people off buying so maybe needs addressing!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetcheeks2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Hello,
Many thanks for your recent review, it is very much appreciated and provides a great deal of detail on your stay with us. It's of course great to read that overall you had a lovely holiday with us and have even thought about returning. Thank you for your positive notes on the Sandpiper Bar/Restaurant, Showbar and Swimming pool. We realise that entertainment is about taste, and as a holiday park we very much focus on trying to satisfy the needs of a family for all to enjoy.
I apologise greatly for the customer service you and your husband experienced at Reception and The Caravan Sales Office. With regards to Check in, we will always endeavour to allocate caravans to guests prior to the advertised check in time, bit can never guarantee this. Sometimes its more possible when we have not been at full capacity the night before, though like I say, it can never be guaranteed and this should never been promoted as such to yourselves or any other guest.
I have shared your review with the heads of Department and reiterated the importance of customer care and first impressions whatever the circumstance they are dealing with at the time.
With regards to gaining the same caravan as your recent stay, you would have to book the Silver grade initially, and it would all depend on the availability of the caravan.
We hope to see you and your family return to the park next year - in fact its our 80th birthday next year so there'll be lots to celebrate! :0)

Kindest regards

The Golden Sands Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    180
    85
    40
    34
See reviews for
461
78
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

The holiday park is about 5 minute drive away from rhyl. First impressions of the site were good. It is kept tidy. Check in for our caravan wasnt untill 4pm which they were very strict on. We did upgrade though so we were able to check in earlier. We went for the gold caravan, which had heating (we needed it, as it was cold outside). The caravan was great. It was big, had all the appliances needed and all of the equpiment was in good condition. The evening entertainment was ok. Had some lovely meals in the restaurant and they had different specials on every night. The pool was basic, but ok. Seagulls are a pain though. Woke the kids up every morning early (which obviously the park cant help) but we did notice on several occasions people feeding them which does not help. Overall we had a good stay

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mansfieldfamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Mansfieldfamily2011,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at Golden Sands Holiday Park.
Your review is very constructive and its good to have both the good as well as the 'not so good' elements within it.
With regards to check in, if we can, we will always try and allow any early arrivals into their caravan earlier than the promoted check in times, but of course this is not always possible with so many check outs on the same day and the time taken to turn the accommodation around and ensure that the standards of cleanliness are kept to a high standard and appliances re tested.
The seagulls, although part of the traditional 'seaside holiday' no matter where you stay on the coast are indeed a pest and we continually try and promote to all who stay at the park to not feed them and to ensure that any bins are placed in the dedicated areas straight away. Unfortunately this will always be an ongoing thing.
We hope that you choose to come back and stay at the Park again next year, in fact its our 80th birthday in 2013 so there'll be lots to celebrate!.

Many thanks, kind regards,

The Golden Sands Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

I stayed in one of the chalets with my partner and two year old son for a week in August.

On arrival we were directed to the check in area where we were greeted by a cheery member of staff who checked us in and directed us to our chalet.

The chalet was a reasonable size with all the basic facilities we expected. On closer inspection we found the chalet to be dirty. This included the kitchen area, toilet and bedrooms.

We complained about the cleanliness and a rather harassed cleaner arrived a short time later. She complained about the lack of staff and that she was called in on her day off.

Swimming Pool

We were left shocked when we arrived at the pool to find a small open plan male changing room and one small open plan female changing room. The size of these areas meant that if three people were in you were struggling for space. This led to people getting dried in the pool hall and others wrapping themselves in towels and walking wet back to their accommodation.

The pool attendants were not friendly and on one occasion nearly knocked my son over when she threw open a door while not looking where she was going.

On the plus side the entertainment team were very good. The night time entertainment for adults and children kept everyone in the showbar amused. The bar staff were friendly but the amusement area staff require lessons in customer service.

Overall we had an enjoyable holiday due to location and entertainment. This would of been a very good holiday if we never experienced the negatives above.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawson79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Dawson79,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at Golden Sands.
We're so very sorry that your experience was a disappointing one. To have been given accommodation which is not thoroughly cleaned is most definitely not acceptable and I have forwarded your review to our Head of Housekeeping to highlight that this needs to be fed through to the team and attention to detail should be kept in the forefront at all times.

With regards to the swimming pool, we do realise that the changing rooms are small for the size of the Park and this is something we are looking to rectify for 2013. Of course that doesn't help you and your past holiday, but it highlights that we do take feedback seriously and like to rectify as and when we can.

We hope that you would consider the Park for a future holiday as we will most definitely look to rectify the situations you stated. Though if you don't, we wish you well in your next holiday.

Kind regards,

The Golden Sands Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Broken oven door, dirty oven and control knob was unreadable. We did not feel that we wanted to use the cooker in this condition; therefore we had to buy all our meals out, this defeats the object of a self catering chalet.

As a qualified electrical pat tester, I was horrified to find that there were several electrical items in the chalet, not tested or certificated. The microwave and toaster had no certificate, the fridge had a certificate but this was blank, and the knob was broken off of the extractor fan, knowing the consequences that could arise, we were unable to use any of these.

The two double beds were clearly caravan bases with over sized mattresses on them, which meant when you got to close to the edge you rolled off. Reception confirmed that the bases were from a caravan and were told "that's how it is so put up with it"
The overall cleanliness of the chalet was bad my wife had to clean out the fridge, wipe all the kitchen worktops and wash all of the cutlery and plates etc prior to use , The carpets we had to keep our shoes on at all times as our socks/feet where filthy after walking on them.

Whilst at the site none of us felt that we were able to have the relaxing holiday,
that we had so looked forward too.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Gary799,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Golden Sands. It's certainly sad to read that based on the allocated accommodation given, that you recommend others not to visit. It is very disappointing to read that there were appliances not in fully working order in the chalet and that upon reporting elements of them to reception that you were not assisted in anyway and these were not rectified.
I can however confirm that ALL electrical appliances throughout the Park are indeed tested, following the elements of health and safety guidelines, and I have asked the park team to investigate the appliances you speak of within the chalet and ascertain why they are not labelled as such.

Once again thank you for your review, we shall certainly use it to assist in refocus in the areas you have highlighted.

Kind regards

The team at Golden Sands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Stayed for the weekend reception staff a little rude when we arrived, caravan ok but would benefit from a deep clean. Site is in a great location for the beach, our only real problem was the distance from the club house and the train track directly behind our caravan, trains started running about half five in the morning and woke us up!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Hello,

Many thanks for your review. I'm sorry that you found the reception team to be rude, we've not experienced that in our reviews before, though I shall be sure to highlight it to the head of reception and remind them of the importance of customer service.
With regards to being next to a train track, the Park was built 80 years ago and has continued to provide many happy holidays, unfortunately we can do little to change the location of the track, but should you wish to return to the Park you could request to be closer to the main complex.
We hope that overall you had a good holiday and apologise greatly if your experience hindered your time.

Kind regards,

The Golden Sands team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Really nice place to spend a holiday with your family with nice sea front veiws :) i would always let people know about this place with Rhyl and town just down the road its perfect for family's.People are very freindly in this location also so please take the chance and visit this beutiful place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NUFCMACCA1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Hi,

Many thanks for the review, its great to read when people have had a great holiday - hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Thank you for taking the time out to review.
Kind regards,

The Golden Sands Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We booked this as a last minute two night bank holiday break, as i was in the area for work - it's not an area that I had considered previously for a holiday. While we often stay in 'good' hotels, we've also done the caravan 'family' sites, so like to think that we have realistic expectations.

We booked a platinum caravan. I was led to believe that this meant it would have a three piece suite in the living room, rather than the built in seats which we what we ended up with. In the event the caravan was to a very good standard, and for two nights, it was not worth the bother - although I'm not certain if I've been done over or not on that one!

Our one issue was that the fridge was not working. We did not discover this until late in the evening, so it was reported early on the Sunday morning. Somone did look at it, but the result was not fed back to us until we tracked someone down at reception in the evening, who told us that it could not be fixed without parts. They did offer to hook a fridge up, but by then it would be too late to be effective. If whoever had looked at it earlier in the day had engaged brain, a fridge would have made sense and saved me from warm beer.

The van was nice and clean - although the vent high up above the kitchen area had obviously been missed.

We were less impressed with the other facilities on the site. The pool was warm, but we had to queue to get in (I'm sure there's a double edged sword between safety and queues). The changing area is tiny! The bar was rather warn, even in the cooler weather, and not very homely. Tables and chairs were generally all over the place - pointing towards the TV, and there is no outside area. There were a few amusements machines, but compared to a typical Haven site it was a little disappointing. - It was cheaper though so you pays your money and takes your choices.

There is a shop on site, but I suspect it's rented out, and whoever runs it badly needs to visit a few sites, to see what other shops sell. The other half judges these by the wine they sell - which in this case was limited to Lambrini. There's a better shop on the entrance to the site.

The first and chip shop was to be recommended.

So how do I feel - it was a nice break for a change, but it's unlikely that we would head back to this particular site.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear David,

Many thanks fpr taking the time to write a review based on your stay at Golden Sands this past weekend. We certainly take all of your points on board and I must apologise for the customer service you received with regards to the fridge not working.
This ultimately as you so rightly said is down to it not being checked prior to letting the caravan out, which is something which will be highlighted to the housekeeping and maintenance team.

With regards to the Swimming pool, it is generally a warm area, though it is not a large pool and the changing rooms are small, which is something we would like to rectify, though this wont happen ready for this season, so we manage it as well as we can.

Being a Caravan Park we naturally will compete amongst the big boys such as Haven and Park Resorts, though we do also like to promote the fact that we are indeed just one Park bring the benefits of not being part of a larger organisation. We are a small Park with a big personality, so we're sorry that the number of amusements in the arcade didn't meet your expectations, but for what we seek to offer it seems to do the trick 9/10.

I shall of course pass your comments regarding the shop produce to the Manager, thank you.

I do hope that if you are working in the area again that you may reconsider in visiting us again in the future, we would love to share the changes with you. Though if you never do, I sincerely thank you for your review, it most definitely assists in making changes for the better.

Many thanks

The Golden Sands Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
2.0 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
5.8 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
7.2 mi away
Presthaven Holiday Park
Presthaven Holiday Park
#1 of 7 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
9.0 mi away
Talacre Beach Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl

Property: Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl
Address: Golden Sands Holiday Park Foryd Road | Kinmel Bay, Rhyl LL18 5AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Rhyl
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl is a Caravan park which has been established for over 80 years. We invest heavily into the Park on an annual basis which enables us to provide top quality accommodation, facilities and service to you and your family ensuring that you have a 'Happy Holiday'. The choice of accommodation we have means there's something to suit all budgets throughout the year. We also offer caravan Ownership for those holidaymakers who just can't get enough, enabling them to return time and time again throughout the year with our 12 or 10 1/2 month licences to choose from! We have a strict policy in our Bar/Restaurant with no children under the age of 16 being unaccompanied by an adult. The same goes for our Swimming pool where no under 14 is allowed to enter the pool without adult supervision. These both enable safety and comfort for all guests. Golden Sands is the perfect location for exploring North Wales! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing