We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb !!! Again!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhyl
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We've just got home from our weekend away at golden sands where we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, the kids were entertained,and us adults were kept busy, I even won a competition on Saturday night, a great time was had by all, we go here every year, and now twice a year, we love the place and everyone there, all so friendly and helpful, we love the pool, we love the club and we love the new sandpiper bar(what a breakfast this morning) looking forward to visiting again in august, to Derek and Jayne (who's caravan we stayed in) your caravan is absolutely gorgeous a real home away from home, definately the best caravan we have every stayed in.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Tudor_Mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenSandsRhyl, Owner at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear JoandsteKotas,

Thanks yet again for another review on your stay with us. Yet again it's great to read that you continue to have great holidays here with us and we look forward to you returning again for another fun filled one!

It's also great to read that our private owners who sometimes let out their caravans are as focussed on hiring out good quality accommodation as are we. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We're on our way home from golden sands, sadly, we would love to stay longer, a beautiful caravan (thanks Derek and Jayne) and as usual the site is lovely friendly staff excellent entertainment the pool is great cannot fault the place.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jo_and_Ste_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Jo_and_ste_K,

Many thanks for your review, we're so glad that you had a wonderful time. We hope to see you back again with us very soon!

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here from 11th april to 14th just for a long weekend, we arrived at the holiday park earlier than expected and as I had booked a bronze caravan wasn't allowed to book in any earlier than 4pm which was fine as we had a drink in the sandpiper bar but when we did book in we were upgraded to a chalet, at first we thought it was really nice until we got into the chalet and realised that it was tiny and as there was 3 adults and a small child there was only 2 bedrooms which was a double bed and a small single bed so off we went back to reception to say that it didnt have enough beds to be told that it had a bed settee but that was not an option as my son wouldn't have slept in the room on his own but that wasn't a problem with the staff they were more than helpful in sorting out a caravan

The caravan was great and had central heating and was very clean, the only thing that was disappointing was the mattresses on the beds didn't have mattress protectors on them and the single mattresses were very old and one of them was ripped and really needed to be thrown away other than that the whole stay was great.

We didn't use the facilities on the site very much as we preferred to go out and about but from what we saw they looked great and the chippy was very nice and reasonably priced, we also went to the beach which was a 2 minute walk from our caravan.

We will definitely come back to the caravan park in the future and recommend it to friends

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Julia B,

Many thanks for your review based on your recent stay with us, its great to read that you and your family had a lovely time here at Golden Sands and managed to explore the beauty of North Wales. Big apologies for the confusion in Check in, though its good to read that the reception team sorted that all out for you professionally and courteously as we am to be at all times.

We hope to see you and your family back with us again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights from 7th April. First impressions were good, lovely staff, lovely clean park. We had a 3 bed caravan with Central heating and two toilets which was fab. The park is in a good location, we visited Llandudno, Colwyn Bay and popped into Rhyl which is a bit of a dive.

We took the children to Tir Prince fairground, just around the corner. All day wristbands are £14 each with an offer of buy 2 get 1 free, which worked out well for us as we have three children. There were about 6 rides for the older children, which mine kept going on until they felt sick! We had a quick look at Knightly's fairground, this is smaller and not enough rides for teenagers.

The Sandpiper restaurant has been recently refurbished and looks lovely. We only had desserts in there which were good. The menu is extensive and very reasonably priced. The chip shop isn't overpriced, but there are that many chip shops around that we chose to buy whilst we were out. The on site shop is also very reasonable.

Swimming pool is not very big but nice and clean. The playground is great for the kids and there's also a sports court which my boys loved.

I would highly recommend this park, it is spotlessly clean, fab location and quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 18choco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear 18Choco,

Many thanks for your informative review based on your stay with us recently, it's a great read to see that you and your family got to explore locally and enjoyed your time on the Park.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future where you can again have a great holiday break.

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed at Golden Sands for 5 nights in April - we have visited this site several times and always come back because the caravans are always clean and the location next to the beach is brilliant.

We had a good holiday again this time. Even though we had only booked a bronze caravan we were upgraded at no extra cost and the caravan had central heating which was a bonus! The caravan was very clean - our only complaint was the plastic sheets left on the mattresses which were a nuisance when trying to get to sleep!

It was very quiet on site but we didn't mind because we got the pool to ourselves and the lady lifeguard was particularly helpful in trying to teach our son to swim.

There wasn't much going on at night because it was out of season but I do think that the cabaret showtime should start earlier than 9.45pm because the children like to watch this as well (around 8.00pm would be a better time). We had a meal in the bar and it was very good, no complaints except the drinks are a bit expensive. The children's park on site is great and the chip shop serves great chips!

As always, the staff on site were very friendly and polite. We will definitely visit Golden Sands again as it is also in a good location to explore the rest of North Wales like Lllandudno, Conwy and further afield.

We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mortcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Mortcat,

Thank you for coming back to Golden Sands and thank you for your review sharing your experience with others. It's great to read that you continue to have a great time here and thank you for your feedback re the entertainment times, these have been passed onto the team and as always they are taken very seriously and if the demand shows to be similar, things can and do change.

We hope to see you again back with us very soon! :0)

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Nice large clean caravan sited not too far away from the shop bar and pool , nice walking distance to the beech.Food in the bar / restaurant very limited for children so never tasted any of it so can't comment,in the evening there are door staff on but these need to assist family's not act like there the police , a welcoming smile will go a long way the same with the pool side staff who look like they don't want to be there !! Football is on in the bar but I walked up the road to the Sandy cove (just at the entrance) good pint and for half the price. Site Is well maintained and clean. Kids loved it and that's what it all about so I would return.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank BMorriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear BMorriss,

Many thanks for your review based on your recent stay with us. We're disappointed to read that you feel that the Sandpiper menu has a limited choice for Children as we have a dedicated menu for them with a range from the Chicken nuggets to Chicken gravy dinner and steak and chips amongst others which we felt (as have others) that the variety met all tastes.
We're also disappointed to read that you decided to go the Sandy Cove bar, though we accept people rights to choose and would never compete with this bar as it offers something very different to the Sandpiper, though we are glad that you found something to meet your requirements nearby.

It's good to read that in general, you had a good holiday all in all and hope that you do get the chance to return in the near future.

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We booked Golden Sands through the sun holidays for a little weekend break. We had a lovely time. Our caravan was upgraded to gold at no extra charge and the central heating was much appreciated!! All facilities are clean and well presented, staff friendly. The only disappointment for us was the children's evening entertainment. We received a flyer to say under 5s disco at 7.30pm, when my husband asked when it would start he was told it was already on! To us it was just like a cd playing, no entertainment for the younger ones, this probably improved later but we didn't stay as our children are young. We appreciate that our stay was out if season. This didn't take away from a lovely holiday though,would recommend.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank ratbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenSandsRhyl, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Ratburn,

Many thanks for your review on your recent stay at Golden Sands, we're very grateful for your feedback and glad that you had a good holiday. Your comments have been passed onto the Gold Stars Entertainment team as we get so many great reviews about our entertainment whether for adults or children.

We hope to see you again at the Park in the near future.

Kindest regards,

The Golden Sands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
1.2 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
381 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
601 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 2 in Colwyn Bay
542 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
629 reviews
14.1 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl

Address: Golden Sands Holiday Park Foryd Road | Kinmel Bay, Rhyl LL18 5AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Rhyl
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl is a Caravan park which has been established for over 80 years. We invest heavily into the Park on an annual basis which enables us to provide top quality accommodation, facilities and service to you and your family ensuring that you have a 'Happy Holiday'. The choice of accommodation we have means there's something to suit all budgets throughout the year. We also offer caravan Ownership for those holidaymakers who just can't get enough, enabling them to return time and time again throughout the year with our 12 or 10 1/2 month licences to choose from! We have a strict policy in our Bar/Restaurant with no children under the age of 16 being unaccompanied by an adult. The same goes for our Swimming pool where no under 14 is allowed to enter the pool without adult supervision. These both enable safety and comfort for all guests. Golden Sands is the perfect location for exploring North Wales! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Holiday Park Rhyl North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing