We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go somewhere else” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westminster Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

Well this hotel is in dire need of revamp everything outdated deco teribble just awfull and for the £160 price tag I paid it was just shocking very bad. Breakfast was eadable only just. The parking is just as bad about 5 spaces behind the hotel down a very dark alleyway you have to leave your keys at reception of you use the car park????????? Never done this before so as you can imagine with a 3 and 9 year old this wasn't atall easy.i parked in the pay n display most of the time.the hotel is full of O.A.Ps on them coach trips. Reading some of the reviews on here some people must have very low standards of what a hotel should be like this hotel I think is a 2 star shouldn't even have that.very bad most certainly would give this 1 a wide birth I had to book in a hurry.wont be returning never.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Appletontwin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    177
    124
    57
    79
See reviews for
91
192
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

- very old ruined hotel, needs a renovation
- rooms with a sea view look out on the road and if you don`t close the window, you will be not able to sleep because of the noise pollution.
- floor is very old and loose floor board makes so much noise so you can hear everyone walking on the corridor.
- no parking
- never cleaned windows are so low that you have to sit on your knees to enjoy a sea view

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yul123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rhyl hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Let's start with the good points:
Good sized rooms
Nice showers plenty of hot water
Mostly friendly staff
Nice breakfast
Ideal location for trips out to the rest of North Wales
Rooms clean

And now for the bad points:
The owner/manager is very rude, arrogant and has no concept of customers service
Very limited parking your car gets blocked in and you are requested to leave your keys at reception so that your car can be moved if necessary - I don't think so!
Reception very unorganised and doubles as a bar
Although breakfast good there is limited choice except different styles of eggs and whether you want tea or coffee

All in all the hotel is run down but you can accept that especially with the good value price. However good customer service costs nothing and the owner should be mindful of that.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hodgy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Parking is rubbish. Down back alley unlit. Asked to leave keys at reception so owner can move your car!
All staff helpful and friendly with exception of miserable grumpy git bloke behind reception who couldnt manage smile or grunt.
Rooms old fashioned but clean.
Shower is the best feature.
Breakfast Ok
Roll on Hotel Inspector youd have a fit

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Just had 2 nights at The Westminster and very glad that I upgraded, Hotel very run down, had to get piece of wood off beach to prop window open!! But staff were lovely its not there fault the hotel needs a total revamp. On talking to locals apparently the hotel houses dss people, I have no problem with this but I feel that maybe customers should be told this before booking!

Room Tip: If on a deal then upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during August. We had taken an escorted tour with a company to see Great Little Trains of North Wales which was treat initself.The hotel is old but the rooms were nice and clean and spacious and with a double and a single bed, this was certainly a good value for money.There was tea/coffee making facility and the room had plenty of lights which made alot of difference as this made rooms nice and bright.
We stayed on half board basis, the breakfast was very good and evening meals were a treat as we were offered different meals everyday. Being vegetarian, we were pleased to see good choice of meals in the 4 days we stayed. The best of all were the restaurant staff, they were simply brillaint as they did everything to keep all the guests happy during the meal times. There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby, certainly a good location.

Room Tip: We stayed on second floor which was ok for us. There is a lift but it can only take 2 persons at a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I just spent a long weekend here with Leisuretime hotel was very clean , crisp white sheets and bath towels, , ensuite was all new and spotless.,one downside was the lift...could only get two in with their suitcases at a push...thats if you were not tooooo large.otherwise it was group hugs.Staff were very helpful nothing to much trouble. you only had to ask and if possible they would accomodate you.While we were there McFly were playing across the road so it was a bit noisy in the afternoon, and in the evening they had a very large screen TV on the same site so people could watch the closing Olympics again a bit noisy till about 12pm. Another downside was the shops they only opened at 10am till 5pm.so we were on trips during those times and we could not shop there which is a rare thing for a seaside resort.Would stay there again but I think I would ask for an upgrade.

Room Tip: You can ask for an upgrade to a sea view for and extra £10 per person per night, which I would do ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lassie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
0.1 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hafod Elwy Hall
Hafod Elwy Hall
#1 of 1 in Denbigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
3.9 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
19.1 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Property: Westminster Hotel
Address: 11-12 East Parade, Rhyl LL18 3AH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Westminster Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Rhyl, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing