We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a shame! a lovely weekend with Newmarket, but...”
Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westminster Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Salisbury, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“what a shame! a lovely weekend with Newmarket, but...”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The Westminster Hotel is everything that previous revewers have said. Seagull poo everywhere but that is not the fault of the hotel as they cannot control the seabirds, but maybe they could clean it off the tables. And yes the stair carpet was filthy but the bed had clean white sheets and clean white towels. The very small shower was fairly new but the basin was in the bedroom but that didn't really matter either. What did matter was that on boiling hot nights we were told not to open the filthy windows.........and the very bossy owner/manageress we were told would come on the coach to 'GREET' us........ well she told us not to run off with the towels, iron, ironing board, tv remote, tv, sheets, towels, or anything else......... we were not to drop litter in the town or we would have a heavy fine (there was more litter in the town anyway than in our local rubbish tip), and we could move tables if we asked as 17 ex husbands and wives had come there with their new partners and they had wanted to move and so we could too. However on arriving in the dining room we found we were on a table for eight and swapped with another couple, at their suggestion, to sit opposite our friends. This was still on the same table but different seats. Suddenly we were shouted at and told we couldn't move !!!! We did anyway as we could see no problem. The food was adequate and well cooked and the waitress' were lovely and very helpful. The problem was the owner/manager. I tried to talk to her on the first evening and it was quite evident that she did not want to talk or even smile. So Newmarket holidays trip was very good, lovely trips, good courier, and excellent driver, but we were pleased we didn't have to stay in the hotel longer.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for an upgrade to a better room and avoid the manageress!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaygood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    187
    130
    60
    88
See reviews for
103
206
31
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by uour stay in this hotel. The outside could do with some paint and the seagulls had performed everywhere but this is the seaside.The carpets could do with a clean in the corridors but our room was OK.The bathroom was modern and worked well. Beware of the VERY HOT WATER.The beds were comfortable. We mark our hotels by several things and thid hotel had most of them. There was a new large kettle ,ample lighting that you could switch off from the bed and plenty of electric plugs. Also a plug and mirror by the chest of drawers to do your hair. So many hotels lack these things.The only thing that did not work was the shaver point.
The TV did not have channels when we got there but if you retune it using country England and region north west you get a good picture on all channels.
We did not realise there was wifi until we left. Wish we'd have known -would have saved trips iut to find wifi. Just ask at the desk for the password.

The breakfasts were standard coach holiday fare but perfectly adequate.

Room Tip: pay extra for a sea front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pambur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights mid July, it's the filthiest hotel we've ever had the misfortune to stay in, room 22 on 1st floor, we complained to our rep and to the hotel manager but were told there were no other rooms available, we picked up clumps of dust around the radiator and behind the bed which they obviously hadn't vacuumed for months, they cleaned the room supposedly for the second time after we complained at how dirty it was yet we still found the previous occupants toenail clippings near the bed afterwards, also the (red) hall carpet was black from ground-in dirt. There were big notices up in the room about not opening any (many broken) windows in our room as the seagulls would come in. Rhyl itself is a town to avoid if you can. The food was just about edible.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 510Dai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rhyl hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

On arrival with a coach party we were appalled to see the outside of the hotel which is very off putting by its poor paintwork etc. However on entering the reception area we were pleasantly surprised to see that it was very welcoming. The staff are very obliging and helpful. The food was excellent and the service by the waiters was also very good. The allocated room on the first floor was comfortable and the TV reception good. The lift caused major problems in that it would only take 2 people comfortably and was very slow.The price of drinks at the bar was extortionate.A pint of Guiness from a can was £4.00!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chjendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharpthorne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We were here for 3 nights with a group. Food was good for a budget holiday. Staff very nice and helpful. We were there during a very hot period and suffered. The room on the third floor was very hot and a fan would have been good. The out side seating area had no shade, no plants and the tables were covered in bird poo!! There is a huge problem with gulls squawking from very early to very late--we got very little sleep.The indoor lounge needed fans too as it was far too hot. The seaside area up that end of Rhyl has not enough seating either so we had nowhere nice to sit and relax so ended our holiday early.

Room Tip: Because of my reasons above, I would not stay here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Jus returned..coach trip from Kent. Hotel outside appearance was not good, but upon entering was fine, although dated. Room was large, clean and we got a tv reception although warned we would not. bed was ok too. Food was not too bad either. A varied menu. We had a lovely time, left Kent with 52 strangers and returned with 52 friends....even Marion!!! (bless) I would return as long as l had the same room! l heard others had awful rooms, luck of the draw maybe?

  • Liked — on seafront
  • Disliked — dated
  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank blacktabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Very shabby frontage, bird excretia all over windows, grubby carpets throughout, no telephones in rooms! No wifi, T.V.s have no connection apart from ITV, and Al-Jeera. Food very poor, nothing homecooked even though they said it was.Luckily very friendly and helpful staff especially in restaurant . Would never stay again as rooms smelt damp and stale even though the sheets and towels were okay. Needs a major makeover and should not be used until it is up to date. Not my choice to stay but NEWMARKET HOLIDAYS chose it and we would NEVER use them again either.

Room Tip: Do not book this Hotel its more like a DHS hostel and could not be described as anything else in its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
0.1 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
371 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
628 reviews
9.8 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
600 reviews
13.5 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
453 reviews
4.5 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Property: Westminster Hotel
Address: 11-12 East Parade, Rhyl LL18 3AH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Westminster Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Rhyl, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing