We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as I had been led to think”
Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westminster Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Have just returned from a three day bargain break at this hotel. We were exploring the North Wales Coast Cycle track and this was a good central place to stay. After reading some of the reviews we feared the worst however we were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean with crisp white sheets and nice clean white towels. The shower worked perfectly and there was plenty of tea/coffee making stuff in the room. We found all the staff very helpful and they even stored our bikes inside the hotel so we didn't have to leave them on the back of the car. Breakfast was quick and adequate and a special mention to Natalie who was a lovely pleasant waitress. Seagulls very noisy but it is the seaside after all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

Westminster hotel nice inside only for bathrooms small on 4th floor and had 16 stairs to go up when got out of lift ; could do with carol talking to the guests more other staff very freindley could do with a update entertainment good especially on a Tuesday with KRIS HE IS A KNOCKOUT windows want a good clean would go again if on first or second floor and seaveiw beds are clean

Room Tip: rooms on 1st and second floors front faceing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The Westminster Hotel is everything that previous revewers have said. Seagull poo everywhere but that is not the fault of the hotel as they cannot control the seabirds, but maybe they could clean it off the tables. And yes the stair carpet was filthy but the bed had clean white sheets and clean white towels. The very small shower was fairly new but the basin was in the bedroom but that didn't really matter either. What did matter was that on boiling hot nights we were told not to open the filthy windows.........and the very bossy owner/manageress we were told would come on the coach to 'GREET' us........ well she told us not to run off with the towels, iron, ironing board, tv remote, tv, sheets, towels, or anything else......... we were not to drop litter in the town or we would have a heavy fine (there was more litter in the town anyway than in our local rubbish tip), and we could move tables if we asked as 17 ex husbands and wives had come there with their new partners and they had wanted to move and so we could too. However on arriving in the dining room we found we were on a table for eight and swapped with another couple, at their suggestion, to sit opposite our friends. This was still on the same table but different seats. Suddenly we were shouted at and told we couldn't move !!!! We did anyway as we could see no problem. The food was adequate and well cooked and the waitress' were lovely and very helpful. The problem was the owner/manager. I tried to talk to her on the first evening and it was quite evident that she did not want to talk or even smile. So Newmarket holidays trip was very good, lovely trips, good courier, and excellent driver, but we were pleased we didn't have to stay in the hotel longer.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for an upgrade to a better room and avoid the manageress!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidaygood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by uour stay in this hotel. The outside could do with some paint and the seagulls had performed everywhere but this is the seaside.The carpets could do with a clean in the corridors but our room was OK.The bathroom was modern and worked well. Beware of the VERY HOT WATER.The beds were comfortable. We mark our hotels by several things and thid hotel had most of them. There was a new large kettle ,ample lighting that you could switch off from the bed and plenty of electric plugs. Also a plug and mirror by the chest of drawers to do your hair. So many hotels lack these things.The only thing that did not work was the shaver point.
The TV did not have channels when we got there but if you retune it using country England and region north west you get a good picture on all channels.
We did not realise there was wifi until we left. Wish we'd have known -would have saved trips iut to find wifi. Just ask at the desk for the password.

The breakfasts were standard coach holiday fare but perfectly adequate.

Room Tip: pay extra for a sea front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pambur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights mid July, it's the filthiest hotel we've ever had the misfortune to stay in, room 22 on 1st floor, we complained to our rep and to the hotel manager but were told there were no other rooms available, we picked up clumps of dust around the radiator and behind the bed which they obviously hadn't vacuumed for months, they cleaned the room supposedly for the second time after we complained at how dirty it was yet we still found the previous occupants toenail clippings near the bed afterwards, also the (red) hall carpet was black from ground-in dirt. There were big notices up in the room about not opening any (many broken) windows in our room as the seagulls would come in. Rhyl itself is a town to avoid if you can. The food was just about edible.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 510Dai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

On arrival with a coach party we were appalled to see the outside of the hotel which is very off putting by its poor paintwork etc. However on entering the reception area we were pleasantly surprised to see that it was very welcoming. The staff are very obliging and helpful. The food was excellent and the service by the waiters was also very good. The allocated room on the first floor was comfortable and the TV reception good. The lift caused major problems in that it would only take 2 people comfortably and was very slow.The price of drinks at the bar was extortionate.A pint of Guiness from a can was £4.00!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chjendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We were here for 3 nights with a group. Food was good for a budget holiday. Staff very nice and helpful. We were there during a very hot period and suffered. The room on the third floor was very hot and a fan would have been good. The out side seating area had no shade, no plants and the tables were covered in bird poo!! There is a huge problem with gulls squawking from very early to very late--we got very little sleep.The indoor lounge needed fans too as it was far too hot. The seaside area up that end of Rhyl has not enough seating either so we had nowhere nice to sit and relax so ended our holiday early.

Room Tip: Because of my reasons above, I would not stay here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
0.1 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
381 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
641 reviews
9.8 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 2 in Colwyn Bay
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
628 reviews
4.5 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
371 reviews
13.5 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Address: 11-12 East Parade, Rhyl LL18 3AH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Price Range: £53 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westminster Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Rhyl, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing