We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 star building with 4 star food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Westminster Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Mintlaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“2 star building with 4 star food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

During our David Urquhart 5 day visit to North Wales, the coach group stayed at the two star rated Westminster Hotel, Rhyl, which was built in 1878 situated on the esplanade. The hotel has a 5 star food hygiene certificate.

Upon entering the refurbished building, evidence of its age was obvious with maroon and white chipped paintwork and dirty carpets, especially on the steep stairs and in the corridors of the three storeys. The lift was restricted to only four people or one wheelchair and carer.

The floor areas of the bedrooms have been reduced by the addition of an en-suite room with shower over the bath, basin and toilet. Room 43 where we stayed was adequate for the purpose of sleeping overnight. The double bed was comfortable with clean sheets and pillowcases, and towels and soap was provided. There was mould on the grouting above the bath and the vinyl flooring was sticky. Housekeeping staff checked it every day in our absence.

As mentioned by someone else, the sash windows had been painted many times and were sealed shut, but one had been forced open and the paint was peeling off. There was a notice requesting that they should not be left fully opened for gulls and pigeons had sometimes entered the rooms.

Unusually, there were bedrooms rooms provided for people who needed to smoke, and a penalty of £75 and instant dismissal for any person found smoking in any other bedroom. A small flat screen television fixed to the wall is provided, but due to transmitter updates, BBC programme reception was very poor or non-existent.

For breakfast (included in the cost of the room for stays three days or more), there was a choice of fruit juice, and cereals before a cooked English breakfast – fried/poached/scrambled egg with one rasher of bacon, a fried pork sausage and a half fried tomato – accompanied by toast and tea or coffee.

Evening dinner consisted of a variable choice of ‘starters’. There was a choice of a main course, examples of which included breast of chicken in white wine sauce, local butchers sausage casserole, beef lasagne, tomato pasta bake, cheese or tuna salad, two slices of roast beef and Yorkshire pudding, breaded plaice, cauliflower cheese.

I noted that the regular sized sausages served for breakfast were similar to those in the casserole and looked as if they had been made in a factory and not in a butcher’s shop! The beef lasagne I got had a sprinkling of mince, but the chef did not hesitate to replace it with a better slice. I noticed that there was some food left on the plates by diners, probably because of the generous portions provided and I heard only a few comments about badly cooked food. The staff who served at the tables were friendly and helpful, as were those at the reception.

A repertoire of songs from the 50’s to more modern times was given by entertainers ‘karaoke’ style during the evenings with an invitation to join in - and thankfully no Bingo.

Plenty of shops nearby and the bus and train station are a ten minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: You can pay for an upgrade when you book. The entertainent can be noisy so ask for a room high up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    180
    124
    57
    79
See reviews for
92
194
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

very good location. we had the sea-view room, and it was near the town centre. nice and tidy room. only problem was with hot water. need to follow some rules to get hot water. rooms are located quite interesting way. need to pass lots of zig-zag corridor to get to room. lift is very narrow, but OK with a 2-star hotel. not bad! we enjoyed our stay- considering the price and location it was good!

Room Tip: top floor gives better view obviously. must visit "Bombay Buffet" for lunch/dinner at- 15...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shakeosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Alright, its not the Ritz, but who would go to Rhyl and look for the Ritz?
The rooms were spotless, service excellent, all the staff were anxious to please. The entertainment in the evenings was optional, you did not have to stay for it if it was not your cup of tea, but it suited the majority of the guests.
We really enjoyed our time there, and met some lovely people. Well done Westminster.
The full cost of the hotel was on the expensive side, but we went on a groupon offer and thought it was excellent value.

Room Tip: We booked a twin and had an upgrade to sea view which was lovely, its worth the extra money otherwis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Visited 2 nights with pet dog on a groupon deal. We were given a lovely large room with sea view at no extra cost. Staff were helpful. Only problem was windows only opened 2 inches during a heat wave & fans weren't allowed due to health & safety!! Would stay again at discount rate. Yes drinks were more expensive than wetherspoons but there was free entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was not worth £75.00 a night, we stopped at a hotel because we wanted more than a b&b.This was more like a hostel for the homeless. the windows would not open and the curtains looked like they would fall down if touched. no restront on a bank holiday weekend we were told no one had booked so would not be open, as a guest at the hotel we didn't no we had to book. I thought that was what I doing when asking to eat in the restaurant. there was always someone smoking outside the front door mainly staff. breakfast is only served for 1 hour between 8 and 9.after getting up for work at 4 everyday on a bank holiday I want longer to enjoy a lie in and go to breakfast when ready. the best thing about this hotel was leaving the car park to come home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank craig j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rhyl hotels

West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just got back from a 5 day coach holiday where this hotel was used as a base. The outside of the hotel is in need of a good paint job and the windows look as if they have not been cleaned in years. Our room was not too good, the net curtains looked as if they would fall apart if you touched them, the windows were black and mouldy and the shower was in what can only be described as a cupboard! The food was okay but the bar prices were a joke. Don't mind paying nearly £4 for a pint of Carlsberg if it is a good quality drink, which was certainly not the case here. The staff were friendly but the owner/manageress could do with smartening up her act a little. Would not like to stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I must say from reading the previous reviews on trip advisor I can only say that I was presently surprised. Yes from the outside it is urgently in need of a face lift. However once inside although dated and the main carpet throughout way in desperate need of a thorough clean the bedrooms were adequate. The towels were clean and white and were changed everyday if required and the bed linen crisp and clean.

We were there for 4 nights as part of a coach tour for breakfast and evening meal. The food was always hot and choices were available served by very friendly and efficient staff. The kitchen and serving area was in an open area at the end of the dining area and was very clean.

I am quite fussy and use to staying in 4 star hotels abroad but would not say this hotel was that bad that I would not stay in it again. You get what you pay for and it was value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
0.1 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
4.5 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
3.9 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Property: Westminster Hotel
Address: 11-12 East Parade, Rhyl LL18 3AH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Westminster Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Rhyl, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing