We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel”
Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Westminster Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hotel”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We went to this Hotel in June on a coach tour trip in June. We took one look at the outside and our first thought was how run down it looked.Paint was peeling off and birds droppings were everywhere. But our room was o.k. although it did need refurbishing as did the hotel in general. The food was average but we still enjoyed our stay in Rhyl.The Hotel is right on the sea front so in excellent position.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carol e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    182
    125
    57
    81
See reviews for
95
197
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed at the hotel during a trip to Portmerion, and Welsh Steam Railways. The room I had was very comfortable, with new furnishings and bathroom, the bed was extremely comfortable. Had breakfast and evening meal and the meals were very good. All staff were very helpful and efficient.
Overall a fantastic break.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just been on a three-night holiday, "Portmeirion and Welsh Mountain Steam" with Newmarket Holidays, based here. The bedroom was cold, and the proprietress refused us a heater (we went down later and got one from someone else). The room had a dingy, ripped and holey net curtain.The carpets on stairs and corridors were filthy. Almost all the food was tinned, frozen, and pre-processed. (Especially avoid the battered fish, and the watery custard!) That the breakfast wasn't bad is the only good thing I can say.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rhyl hotels

Plymouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I've just spent five days on a coach holiday in Rhyl based at the Westminster. It's well situated on the sea front and close to the town centre, which must make it popular with families at the height of the summer season. To be perfectly honest it's not a five star establishment but you don't pay five star prices to stay there so I don't have a problem with that at all and I enjoyed my stay. It's clean and comfortable enough and the food, while fairly plain, is fine, with a vegetarian choice each night. It's difficult to please everyone and cauliflower cheese is a long way from being my favourite dish but it was okay and the breakfasts were lovely with plenty of choices...how do they get the porridge so creamy?!!

My room (a single) wasn't huge, though perfectly adequate for the purpose, and I struggled to open the window; it was a very warm day when we arrived so I reported my problem at reception and it was sorted for me with a minimum of fuss. The bathroom was actually a decent size for a single room plus the shower stall was a decent size and the hot water maintained a constant temperature, which hasn't always been the case in some hotels I've stayed in, so that was a nice bonus.

However, I think the biggest asset this hotel has are the staff. Everyone we came into contact with were unfailingly polite, warm and friendly, and always happy to help; they certainly made our stay even more enjoyable. The evening entertainment was great fun, especially if you like your music with a healthy dose of nostalgia, though I do understand that it's not everyone's cup of tea. Kris Kane provided us with the most variety, as well as plenty of humour, and audience participation was actively encouraged which made for a great evening for myself and the family members I was with.

So in summary it was one of the nicest hotels in terms of being welcoming that I've encountered on a coach holiday and I'd certainly be very happy to stay at the Westminster again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miriam226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mintlaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

During our David Urquhart 5 day visit to North Wales, the coach group stayed at the two star rated Westminster Hotel, Rhyl, which was built in 1878 situated on the esplanade. The hotel has a 5 star food hygiene certificate.

Upon entering the refurbished building, evidence of its age was obvious with maroon and white chipped paintwork and dirty carpets, especially on the steep stairs and in the corridors of the three storeys. The lift was restricted to only four people or one wheelchair and carer.

The floor areas of the bedrooms have been reduced by the addition of an en-suite room with shower over the bath, basin and toilet. Room 43 where we stayed was adequate for the purpose of sleeping overnight. The double bed was comfortable with clean sheets and pillowcases, and towels and soap was provided. There was mould on the grouting above the bath and the vinyl flooring was sticky. Housekeeping staff checked it every day in our absence.

As mentioned by someone else, the sash windows had been painted many times and were sealed shut, but one had been forced open and the paint was peeling off. There was a notice requesting that they should not be left fully opened for gulls and pigeons had sometimes entered the rooms.

Unusually, there were bedrooms rooms provided for people who needed to smoke, and a penalty of £75 and instant dismissal for any person found smoking in any other bedroom. A small flat screen television fixed to the wall is provided, but due to transmitter updates, BBC programme reception was very poor or non-existent.

For breakfast (included in the cost of the room for stays three days or more), there was a choice of fruit juice, and cereals before a cooked English breakfast – fried/poached/scrambled egg with one rasher of bacon, a fried pork sausage and a half fried tomato – accompanied by toast and tea or coffee.

Evening dinner consisted of a variable choice of ‘starters’. There was a choice of a main course, examples of which included breast of chicken in white wine sauce, local butchers sausage casserole, beef lasagne, tomato pasta bake, cheese or tuna salad, two slices of roast beef and Yorkshire pudding, breaded plaice, cauliflower cheese.

I noted that the regular sized sausages served for breakfast were similar to those in the casserole and looked as if they had been made in a factory and not in a butcher’s shop! The beef lasagne I got had a sprinkling of mince, but the chef did not hesitate to replace it with a better slice. I noticed that there was some food left on the plates by diners, probably because of the generous portions provided and I heard only a few comments about badly cooked food. The staff who served at the tables were friendly and helpful, as were those at the reception.

A repertoire of songs from the 50’s to more modern times was given by entertainers ‘karaoke’ style during the evenings with an invitation to join in - and thankfully no Bingo.

Plenty of shops nearby and the bus and train station are a ten minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: You can pay for an upgrade when you book. The entertainent can be noisy so ask for a room high up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

very good location. we had the sea-view room, and it was near the town centre. nice and tidy room. only problem was with hot water. need to follow some rules to get hot water. rooms are located quite interesting way. need to pass lots of zig-zag corridor to get to room. lift is very narrow, but OK with a 2-star hotel. not bad! we enjoyed our stay- considering the price and location it was good!

Room Tip: top floor gives better view obviously. must visit "Bombay Buffet" for lunch/dinner at- 15...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shakeosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Alright, its not the Ritz, but who would go to Rhyl and look for the Ritz?
The rooms were spotless, service excellent, all the staff were anxious to please. The entertainment in the evenings was optional, you did not have to stay for it if it was not your cup of tea, but it suited the majority of the guests.
We really enjoyed our time there, and met some lovely people. Well done Westminster.
The full cost of the hotel was on the expensive side, but we went on a groupon offer and thought it was excellent value.

Room Tip: We booked a twin and had an upgrade to sea view which was lovely, its worth the extra money otherwis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
0.1 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
4.5 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
3.9 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Property: Westminster Hotel
Address: 11-12 East Parade, Rhyl LL18 3AH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Westminster Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Rhyl, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing