We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coach trip”
Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Westminster Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“coach trip”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days and 3 nights, we was a part of a coach trip, when we got to the hotel, we were greeted with a bubbly lady who told us about the hotel, and said that if anyone was struggling with their cases, they will help(there were a lot of OAP's) there was a small lift to the floors, we were in room 39 which was a lovely clean room, the only problem we had was a very squeaky bathroom floor, the dining room was downstairs where we came in so was the bar. The waitresses wrre very pleasant, the meals were average for the amout we paid. We had enterntainment Friday and Saturday nights, friday entertaiment was good, he was a singer and really involved the old dears, they laughed and sang. And the bar prices were a bit pricey. Overal stay was great and would certainly stay again, as everything was un walking distance. A big thanks to our coach driver Ben, it was great to still be able to go in the excursions despite the weather.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetsista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    182
    125
    57
    81
See reviews for
95
197
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We went with Newmarket travel in Oct , on the steam train and port merrian trip , The westminster is quite a big Hotel and probably was quite grand when built , it needed the outside painting , but that was fine with me ,as you should never judge a book by it's cover, The Staff were friendly and they was well organised , our room was big , Clean and tidy with a nice size bathroom and lovely white towels which were changed when wet .
Breakfast was great, although the seating arrangements were a bit tight with us sat on a long table with about 6 other people but it was fine as they were nice and friendly..
,The bar was a bit old fashioned but as i say it was fine and clean and the entertainment was great , we enjoyed what we saw although we didnt see it all the time ,
Outside view was lovely and soo clean, the shops were good too only a short walk along the prom
I would defiantly stay there again , If ever i go to Rhyl again

Room Tip: We had a back room which was a bit nosey it did'nt bother us as we are early risers , but it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharron s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We went on this New Year Gala Excursion with Daviid Urqhuart Tours, advertised as a Gala New Year Experience. I find it difficult to put this into words because it was so awful!! The hotel was basic but clean. The concept of a Gala Experience did not fit the occasion. This hotel is not equiped to provide any such event. There is no dance foor, the lounge covers three rooms which have no contact with each other so there is no continuity or shared experience between guests. It the furthest away rooms, you can just hear the entertainment. The Gala dinner consisted of a frozen turkey dinner, frozen veg, cheese and biscuits, that provided 2 bits of Cheddar cheese, 2 cream crackers and 2 digestive biscuits!! I don't blame the hotel, it is what it is!! But David Urquart Tours knew what it was and to take money for this expetience is a travesty!!

Room Tip: Basic at best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janetcathcart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rhyl hotels

Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We've recently returned from a 3 night stay at this 2 star hotel in Rhyl. Situated right on the seafront and next to a shopping mall we found this hotel ideal. Family run and having rescued the hotel from dereliction just a few years ago, it is a warm, friendly place to stay.hot rads in rooms which can be turned down, rooms very large with high ceilings. We were in room 12 on the first floor, there is a lift to all floors, our room was huge, 2 huge windows overlooking the Irish Sea, adequate bathroom.
Breakfast and evening meals were extremely delicious, freshly cooked and superfast waitress service, good priced bar and free entertainment on 2 of the 3 nights we were there. We were part of a coach trip with Just Go and the whole 3 night4 day trip was excellent
Prices for the rooms are around £60 per night.
The friendly and extremely efficient staff all deserve a pat on the back. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
Of course the exterior needs repainting but the rooms are spotless. The owners , having taken on the enormous task of refurbishing this large hotel are to be admired and we wish them every success.

Room Tip: Room 12 was huge but above the entertainment area and the sound could be heard. Not a problem unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 950Marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Nice hotel, good food. Friendly, polite and attentive staff, it would be nice to see name badges on staff. Bedrooms very clean, tidy and comfortable, pillows could be more soft though. Looking forward to a visit in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Was expecting less but pleasantly surprised hotel on arrival looked very dreary and is in need of an uplift the staff were mostly friendly especially our waitress for breakfast for the first 2 days very polite and helpful and the breakfast was good which was unexpected from previous reviews although on final day we had another waitress who was not as pleasant and our breakfast not as good room was clean but does need bringing up to date a nice weekend but any longer would have been a little tiresome glad to get home to home comforts.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chrissie60del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Having read previous reviews we wondered what to expect, but arrived with a coach party to be greeted on the coach. Yes the outside is shabby but due to be painted this week. This is a huge building and will entail mega scaffolding, likely to cost a fortune! There appears to have been recarpeting everywhere we went, not as previously described. Our room was tiny but clean and adequate with a comfortable bed. The food was good apart from tinned/frozen vegetables and a good choice in the evenings to suit all tastes. Gorgeous porridge, nothing wrong with the cooked breakfast! The dining room service was very slick and well organized and the waitresses pleasant especially the girl from Liverpool. Entertainment thoroughly enjoyable both nights - never stayed until the end anywhere else. Overall this was a good experience, if you want 5 star then pay for it. I understand that this building was derelict when Carol bought it 11 years ago so all in all she is doing o.k. It must be akin to painting the Forth Bridge. Well done everyone, we would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can - not expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
0.1 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
4.5 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
3.9 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Property: Westminster Hotel
Address: 11-12 East Parade, Rhyl LL18 3AH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Westminster Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Rhyl, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing