We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westminster Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Just returning from a coach holiday where we stayed 4 days at the Westminster.
I will keep it brief-
The rooms seem to be varied in quality, some good, some not so.
The top floor needs a refurb- the bathroom is a shower in a cupboard which produced no hot water ( so four days with no hair wash :( )
The rooms on 4 th floor must be smoking as they smelt of ashtray.
Apart from this the food was perfectly nice and so were the staff.
Like I said you get what you pay for

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank little-kimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    187
    129
    60
    87
See reviews for
102
205
31
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Old hotel refitted with most everything you need. Good en suite, multi channel TV, and drink making facility.
We had breakfast and evening meal deal which was good together with good service from friendly staff.
There was scaffolding at the back whilst we were there, but how else are they supposed to carry out repairs etc. and in any event it didn't inconvenience us.
Given that much of Rhyll is run down this place is a breath of fresh air.
RECOMMENDED!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed at the Hotel on a recent coach holiday. Our stay was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and really helpful nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was really good with 3 choices on each course. Rooms were clean and comfortable and en suite facilities adequate. Entertainment was provided for 2 of our 3 night stay which added to the overall good impression of the hotel. We would choose the Westminster again if we return to Rhyl for another visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Visited the Hotel on a coach holiday,with about sixty other people.Found the welcome friendly and well organised.The room had a sea view and was clean and tidy.The meals were excellent,as were all the staff.One slight drawback was that the TVs in the rooms could not receive BBC channels(a common problem in the area).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edward p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Vile place is not fit to be called a hotel. My room (number 42) had a bathroom inside a cupboard. The smell of sewage was so overpowering I felt sick. Each time I went into the bathroom I was very nearly sick. The shower tray was mouldy and the toilet has some sort of strange flushing system, it is very noisy like a drill. The room was bitterly cold, it was warmer outside! though I was given a portable electric heater. This smelt of burning dust on top of the sewage smell. The windows do not open, and no view as scaffolding over the windows. No BBC TV just ITV Wales. I moved to room 41, which was a bit better, though filthy cracked windows, which do not open, serious mould growth over the windows, and dirty carpet. I felt dirty in this hotel and the best part was leaving to go home.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 42
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Natalie109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rhyl hotels

Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Had to clean several things in the room before I could use them. Bathroom had no main ceiling light, only small one above mirror and had no extraction fan, the window would not open either - had been painted shut, same in bedroom. Nowhere for steam to escape so ended up with damp room. Was told could decide about breakfast option in morning, when came down told no you have to tell us previous night so no breakfast for me!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank R J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The Hotel is on the seafront and looks very smart with a new coat of paint. Reception was very efficient. Our room was quite spacious, clean and warm, as was the bathroom. We were at the back of the hotel and the view was of scaffolding as the hotel suffered through the recent storms. A full length mirror was appreciated. The information book was a bit bossy and at least we did not need to be told not to steal the ironing board!! There was a problem with the lift on two occasions, this did not trouble us as we are quite active but some of the clients were seriously affected. A water pipe had been broken and the water was a bit brown for a while, I went out and bought a bottle for drinking but I think this should have been supplied. The food was a bit odd as the breakfasts were lovely, but dinners, Two really good, one ok, and the fish in batter was really disgusting. The staff were great and the service excellent. We did not pay loads of money for this trip and I thought it was great value. We went to Wetherspoons for a drink in the evenings as the hotel bar prices were extortionate, a bit silly when there was so much competition.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and it was very quiet. Of course the alarm call is always the seagulls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
0.1 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
366 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
628 reviews
9.8 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
598 reviews
13.5 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
453 reviews
4.5 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Property: Westminster Hotel
Address: 11-12 East Parade, Rhyl LL18 3AH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Westminster Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Rhyl, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing