We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newmarketeers”
Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westminster Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We recently stayed for 3 nights at the Westminster Hotel. Our room was clean and fresh, the food was good (we are vegetarians) and the staff were friendly and helpful. We couldn't have asked for more from a 2* Hotel.

Room Tip: Twin, sea view, 3rd Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at the Westminster Hotel over the Easter weekend as part of an Urquhart coach tour. A previous trip to Wales proved to be something of a disaster so we were reluctant to return however, we couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised.

As with most coach tours, you aren't going to end up in a 5* hotel but what this hotel does have, in spades, are pleasant, helpful, polite staff who couldn't do enough for you. The food was excellent, always hot and plenty of choice. The rooms were clean and warm. The entertainment was great. We would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelnMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The position of the hotel was very good .the room whilst basic was adequate.All meals were excellent and served by pleasant and friendly staff. Evening entertainment was very good .The hotel staff were always helpful throughout our stay.It was great value for money.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kenneth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Not to be entirely negative, the staff on booking was really nice and helpful. From the outside this hotel looks really promising, however, we only had choice of one sea view room on top floor which is for the smokers. The smell of this room was absolutely vile and needed airing promptly .. not sure why any hotel offers smoking facilities in 2014.

Dated decor, throughout, really needs a revamp, but rhyl isn't really a party town anymore. Thought it overpriced, especially as breakfast is 7.50 more per person and not included in the price. I would neither recommend or dismiss this hotel, for one night and nowhere else to go it's ok, I wouldn't stay more than one night .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank thefoodies2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for 4 nights as part of a coach tour.After reading some other reviews we were a bit apprehensive but don,t listen to snobs,you get what you pay for.We were in room 25 at the back and it was a big,clean room with equally big,clean bathroom.Yes windows are dated and need replaced but our room was so warm we had to turn the heating off.Meals were very good with plenty of choice and the staff were great.We would stay here again if ever in the area.

Room Tip: Room 25 on the 1st floor is large and clean with a huge bathroom.It is also on a slope but this make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. Our room was on the top floor (4th). Very tiny lift ( taking only max 3 normal size people), was going only to the 3rd floor. From the 3rd to the 4th floor where was our room, there were 18 very steep steps, it wasn't very easy to walk up those stairs with the suitcase and other bags. Before we reached our room we were knackered. The worst thing about our room was the bathroom. We stayed in many hotels but never we had as noisy bathroom as we had in Westminster Hotel. As soon as we opened water tap or flash the toilet, there was a horrible water pipe noise. It sounded like plane taking off. On top of all this we had no hot water in the shower. The window curtain in the room was very thin and was letting in street light in the night and day light in early mornings , Room was only semi-dark, It was very difficult for me to go to sleep. The food was waiter service, There was quite good choice and dining room staff was very friendly. Overall we wouldn't come back to this hotel, too many things were wrong.

Room Tip: Don't take the room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EwB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We booked a double room for 2 nights. On arrival, we were told a double room was for 1 person only and it had been given to someone else because of a leak at the hotel, leaving us with no accommodation. No attempt at letting us know before we arrived or trying to find us alternate accommodation. We found management rude and aggressive.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
9  Thank 30Yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
0.1 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
382 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
652 reviews
9.8 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 2 in Colwyn Bay
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
634 reviews
4.5 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
376 reviews
13.5 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Address: 11-12 East Parade, Rhyl LL18 3AH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rhyl
Price Range: £52 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westminster Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Rhyl, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing