We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barratts of Tyn Rhyl
Ranked #2 of 26 Rhyl B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Memorable”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This is a sort of passing through establishment...the type you always hope to find when you are not in the mainstream accommodation part of the world! Yes I know there are a fair few hotels around Rhyl, but when you are "passing through" and only staying the odd night isn't it wonderful that you can find somewhere that makes your passing through "memorable".
The Barratts say they are a restaurant with a few rooms, and we had a couple which were delightful.As you can see from other reviewers and their own web site the house is a treasure of history and the Barratts own lives.
There were just we three staying the night for dinner and breakfast.The food was exceptional, better than anything I have had in North Wales before and the accommodation was comfortable and very homely.... well we are staying in their home after all! and Elvira and David made us feel very much at home. They obviously weren't too busy so they may not always be able to be quite so personally attentive, but in such a short space of one night we became friends and it was they that made this experience MEMORABLE. If you just want to put your head down go to a Premier Inn if you want to have good food,good company and interesting homely environment then you have found your repose in Rhyl! We will be back.

Room Tip: Speak to Elvira and see what's available....she will give the best she has.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarrowRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    10
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
76
14
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

After finding Barratts through TripAdvisor and seeing guest photos of the place through here, it has to be said that the photos don't do the place justice.

The features on both the inside and outside of the hotel are magnificent. The study and downstairs seating area have so many intricate details it's impossible to list them all. The room followed suit and had some great facilities with little touches like a DVD selection to watch and original windows being lovely to see.

The owners were so pleasant throughout the stay and made several excellent suggestions on where to go during time we had there, including the lovely Portmeirion where'The Prisoner' was filmed. Breakfast was delicious and had some lovely touches to it.

Highly recommended to all, go for it!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I chose Ty'n Rhyl because I didn't want to worry about my car in one of the B&B's in the town centre and I didn't want a bog standard hotel room. This is reputedly the oldest house in Rhyl and the interior is lovely. I was disappointed however, that I was allocated the least nicely decorated room (that would be the one that doesn't have a photo on the website) even though only 2 of the 3 rooms were occupied when I was there. To be fair the bed was incredibly comfortable and I was very cosy in amongst the covers until I was woken at 2am by the sound of water gushing from someone above me having a shower. The biggest letdown was the truly dreadful shower in my room. There was hardly any pressure and anyone with long thick hair would have struggled I feel, to wash out shampoo suds. It was basically a trickle with inconsistent temperature. Additionally, the towels provided were thin and scratchy and the toiletries appear to have been left by previous occupants.
The breakfast table was beautifully presented and the conservatory lovely with the sun streaming in. Breakfast needs to be ordered the night before and mine was very nicely cooked and of a good quality but disappointed that there was no option of black pudding or baked beans. I was not offered cereal but feel that if I had asked, it would have been available. The host is very accomodating. Altogether, I feel that my room should not be priced at the same level as the other rooms given the rubbish shower and not so nice decor. My actual rating is 3.5

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blackcat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at barratts whilst in Wales visiting family,
We arrived to a very warm welcome and the service was outstanding, they could not do enough for you.
For the money you pay with a lovely breakfast thrown in, it beats any premier inn etc that I've ever stayed at, when visiting the area again I would not hesitate to book at barratts.
Thank you again for your hospitality, the Griffiths family

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgriff101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We have wanted to dine here for many years,and last night to celebrate a family birthday we went.driving in is impressive at night,its a beautifully proportioned house,the conservatory looked cosy and pleasantly decorated.a log fire was blazing in the grate of the oak panelled hall and we sat down on comfy sofas to sip sherry and read the menu. 3 courses £40 each, choice of 4 dishes for each course.we ate in the dining room which had a beautiful chandelier .the food was delicious ,the wine good,a fair choice was on offer.service was discreet and efficient .we all enjoyed our experience at Tyn Rhyl and yes I would recommend everyone to try it .ps we drove there and got a taxi home and our hosts were fine about leaving the car overnight .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwaenyclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This place is 1st class!! The food is outstanding, the staff are welcoming & friendly, accommodation is spacious & comfortable but best of all are the ghost stories. Although Mrs Barratt is rushed off her feet she still makes time to chat with her guests and if you enquire about the hauntings (don't worry the ghosts are friendly) you won't be disappointed. After a fabulous meal and a few beers, my fiance and I sat in front of the open fire and listened to Mrs Barratts and second-hand encounters with the supernatural. We were totally engrossed by her stories, especially the brooch which went missing and mysteriously re-materialised years later. Our stay was a real treat and we can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangollen
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

this house has the wow factor! There are lovely canopied beds in the room, it is the oldest house in Rhyl apparently nd retains many orinal features. There is a coal fire and oak panelling. The food is divine and wonderfully presented. A little nicetey is that every thing comes in sensible portions, the butter is in a pot not a catering pack, the toileteries are in big bottles, the tea and coffee in the room is in nice china mugs, homely yet wow.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LlangollenSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
0.7 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
360 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
0.7 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
618 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roseview B&B
Roseview B&B
#3 of 26 in Rhyl
48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Berwyn Guest House
Berwyn Guest House
#1 of 26 in Rhyl
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barratts of Tyn Rhyl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barratts of Tyn Rhyl

Property: Barratts of Tyn Rhyl
Address: 167 Vale Road, Rhyl LL18 2PH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Rhyl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a peaceful acre of private grounds Tyn Rhyl is run by award winner Chef /owner David Barratt & his wife Elvira. David's cooking is imaginative generous & beautifully presented. His menu is adaptable & can be changed to suit personal /dietary requirements. The oldest house in Rhyl has paneled hall & snug, conservatory, restaurant & comfortable double ensuite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barratts Of Tyn Rhyl Hotel Rhyl
Barratts Of Tyn Hotel Rhyl
Barratts Of Tyn Rhyl North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing