We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jane Austin meets Masterchef”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barratts of Tyn Rhyl
Ranked #2 of 26 Rhyl B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Jane Austin meets Masterchef”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Have just stayed another lovely weekend with David and Elvira ,the House dates back to 1672
and has been restored lovingly.We stayed in room 2,leaded glass windows and canopy over bed.
Very romantic. Awoken by wood pigeon in tree outside window, but that meant not to long to wait for the usual superb breakfast. Make sure you dine in the restaurant in the evenings, everything is homemade and delicious. Leave your diets at home,and endulge yourselves.

Room Tip: Room 2 is very romantic, this is a restaurant with three rooms, ideal for that special occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    10
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
77
14
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff S. Wales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just got back from our second stay here. The house is lovely-and the welcome was fantastic-lovely tea and cake, with a smile. There is everything you could possibly want in the room. Breakfast is a delight. Do try it!!Thank you Elvira and David.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank can2ngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Beautiful old house,David and Evira were really nice,the room was stunning and I have to say the best presented and tastiest breakfast I've ever had :)we were greated with a nice cuppa and a slice of homemade cake,the pics dont do this place justice at all.we will for sure be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a two night stay at Barratts and can confirm that this is one of the finest B&Bs we have stayed in. A beautiful house, wonderful attentive host ( thank you Elvira ), delightful room and a stunning breakfast has ensured that this will become a regular stay for us when visiting Wales.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank loweythebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This place is really special. The owners are really lovely and I liked it that they lived there too. I was greeted with a lovely cup of tea and a chocolate dessert and shown to my room. The piutures don't do it justice. Very quaint, clean and comfortable which is just what I needed after a hard day's work. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and I was out for the count by 9pm! Breakfast was one of the best I've had in any hotel/b&b.... yogurt, local bees honey and pureed mango to start followed by my choice of poached eggs on toast. Heaven. I'm actually gutted to be back home today! Will definitely come back x

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMM173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

A colleague and I recently had to the need to visit Rhyl and after looking at some the local establishments, we settled on the Barratts Hotel. It was an absolute gem and as we had the run of the place, we were waited on hand and foot in the little panelled snug with roaring log fire. I was even given a bell to ring for further drinks. I really was made to feel like lord of the manor!

We ordered dinner and were fed delightful canapés with drinks before moving into the restaurant which has bags of ambience. We then had an absolutely first rate meal. I have stayed in many hotels over the years but nothing matched the food we had on that evening. The breakfast the following day was also perfect - quality over quantity but the ingredients spoke for themselves.

I would highly recommend a visit as it is so nice to receive such a warm and personal service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Had a truly wonderful time at Barratts on Valentine's night. Delicious food, warm friendly atmosphere and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! Hope to return there soon even though we only live 5 minutes drive away.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liz_Higgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
0.7 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
367 reviews
0.7 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
571 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
348 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
599 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roseview B&B
Roseview B&B
#3 of 26 in Rhyl
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barratts of Tyn Rhyl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barratts of Tyn Rhyl

Property: Barratts of Tyn Rhyl
Address: 167 Vale Road, Rhyl LL18 2PH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Rhyl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a peaceful acre of private grounds Tyn Rhyl is run by award winner Chef /owner David Barratt & his wife Elvira. David's cooking is imaginative generous & beautifully presented. His menu is adaptable & can be changed to suit personal /dietary requirements. The oldest house in Rhyl has paneled hall & snug, conservatory, restaurant & comfortable double ensuite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Barratts of Tyn Rhyl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barratts Of Tyn Rhyl Hotel Rhyl
Barratts Of Tyn Hotel Rhyl
Barratts Of Tyn Rhyl North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing