We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mirrens Restaurant

Mirrens Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 52 Restaurants in Newtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$31
Cuisines: Spanish, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We offer style, value and the warmest of welcomes to each and every one of our customers. We are at the heart of the Newtown & Montgomeryshire food scene, delivering great tastes from the very best local, Welsh & continental suppliers, to discerning diners in this historic market town. Our reputation is built upon world class ingredients, from celebrated locally produced Waghu beef to creative tapas made from the best sourced ingredients Spain can offer. We are closed ALL day on a Monday & Tuesday and in the day on a Wednesday, opening at 6pm. So our Lunch menu is served Thursday to Saturday from 12noon to 3pm, and we serve our evening menu from 6pm, Wednesday to Saturday. As well as our ordinary evening menu, on a Wednesday evening we have two steaks with all the trimmings & a bottle of house wine for £35, on a Thursday evening we have a selection of 10 tapas dishes & a jug of sangria for £30 (maximum of 4 people) and on a Friday lunchtime we have a small battered fish, chips, mushy peas, bread & butter & a pot of tea for only £8.50 per person. On a Sunday we are open from 12noon to 5pm, serving a three course Sunday roast menu for £12.95. We are a venue to make any special occasion even more special, whether you want a romantic meal for two, dine with friends or arrange a family get together. In April 2016, we had a major revamp in the restaurant downstairs and also refurbished upstairs, with a stylish cocktail bar & lounge area, which is open Friday & Saturday evenings from 6pm and provides an elegant start to your evening. We also opened a private dining room upstairs, which caters for up to 8 people for the more intimate get together. Throughout the upstairs, you can soak in the local heritage of Newtown & peruse over a collection of photographs by renowned local historian Frank Moore. During the warmer months, we can offer alfresco dining in our terrace courtyard or in our purpose built Cantina, which is perfect private dining space for any occasion for up to 10 people. So all in all, you have read a brief description of what we can offer & hope to see you soon, so you can indulge in what we have to offer.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Steak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

A real jewel in Newtown. I didn't know the town at all but down a little characterful lane we found Mirrens. It was late but the staff were willing to squeeze us in for one last cover and we all had a fab rump steak! The service is warm and efficient, the atmosphere is twinkly and cosy. thankyou Mirrens!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane H, Owner at Mirrens Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Seren S, am glad you found us, yes we are tucked away down the lane, one end of the lane you have Barclays bank and Fuze and the other end, you have Yesterdays Guest House or you could nip into the Sportsman Pub and go out the back door which will bring you out on Parkers Lane.

I am happy we were able to squeeze you in, sometimes getting a free table is a problem as when you book your table with us, its yours for the night, the good weather has helped when we have been full as we have been able to offer our outside terraces for a dining option, alas this is Wales and the sun is only on our side a few months of the year. We are looking at additional seating options and their is a possibility of utilising the flat we have upstairs. Anyway we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    46
    17
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

What an amazing find this restaurant was. Was looking for a place to eat and was going to leave the town when I decided to search trip advisor and found Mirrens. This place is wheelchair accessible although didn't try the toilets, the restaurant was accessible to an electric chair. Tapas was amazing with lots of choices. Friday menu was excellant value with 3 tapas dishes and a jug of sangria for £9.95 great value. Was highly recommend. My son even tried the springbok which he said was lovely flavour. A must place to visit if near the area. Tucked away down a little quiet lane a real authentic spanish gem.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaxs1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane H, Owner at Mirrens Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Jaxs1970, so glad you found us, yes I remember your son having the Springbok with ketchup or was it ketchup with Springbok :), my children (ok all grown up now) but its always ketchup with everything even with my mum's Sunday roast much to her dismay.

Thank you for your comments, I really appreciate them and just so you know, we do have a large disabled toilets which is just in the hall way on entrance with easy access in and out too and a support bar for assistance.

I hope to see you and your family again soon, your son much try the Zebra next time (with ketchup of course) .

Best regards

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powys
2 reviews
“Wonderful food and company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Always made very welcome food very good value for money excellent entertainment
very clean and tidy
well looked after
Very pleasant staff and Anna and John always look after you
Well done mirrens

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Westlife2967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane H, Owner at Mirrens Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thanks so much for your comments, always a pleasure to get such great feedback.

Many thanks and hope to see you soon.

Best regards

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lunch ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely lunches, excellent service and very relaxing. I often have lunch with friends here and on a sunny day it's lovely to be able to sit out in a private courtyard and enjoy the sun. Excellent selection of wines and wonderful food. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane H, Owner at Mirrens Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Am so glad you always enjoy coming to Mirren's for your lunch, lets hope we can have some more sunshine in these next few months, however if it does get chilly we can always give you a blanket or put the outside heaters on for you.

Best

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We popped into Mirrens on a Saturday night, after doing the Rotary Club Walk Across Wales. From the outset. nothing was too much trouble for the waitress and the owner. Service was great and the food was superb. We both had saddle of lamb and we followed it up with the very good cheese board. The waitress was also on hand to advise on the best wines to go with the lamb. It is evident that Mirrens is a popular place - it was full when we got there and still fairly full when we left - which is always a good sign. I hope I have cause to go back to Newtown, because I'll definitely be visiting Mirrens.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tourist57680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane H, Owner at Mirrens Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Firstly I have to say "Rotary Club Walk Across Wales" a massive well done for your fund raising efforts, guys you both deserved a Dettol foot spa nevermind the well deserved food and drink we served you.

If you do come back and are doing a walk again, you need to call ahead so we can have a pamper crew at the ready for you :)

Many thanks for your comments.

Best regards

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mirrens Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mirrens Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing