We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Sunday Lunch”
Review of Dolau Inn

Dolau Inn
Ranked #8 of 53 Restaurants in Newtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Chris & Mark welcome you to our rural family village Inn. We provide home cooked food, nothing fancy, and real ales from local micro breweries, Sunday lunch served from 12-2pm, bookings adviseable but not always necessary. We also cater for small parties and provide a christmas menu through December. Hot & cold buffets can also be catered for, please ring for information. We have 1 B&B room with en-suite, again nothing fancy just clean and comfortable at reasonable prices. There is a small campsite at the side of the Inn, so if you don't want to drive home after a drink or three.....you can stay. Please note that we are a family run Inn and do holiday, like everyone else, occasionally, so please, if you are travelling any distance it is advisable to call ahead. Leaving a message isn't a confirmation. If you don't leave a number we can't call back to confirm. If we don't call back then we may be ' out of office'. Thank you
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I went here as a guest for Lunch on Sunday at a Childs birthday party. I couldn't fault it. I had the Beef. it came with a good selection of peas, carrots, cabbage, cheesy leeks new potatoes and mash and on the plate was a good amount of beef, Yorkshire pudding and roast potatoes. The a full large jug of gravy came. My one daughter chose Chicken with Yorkshire pudding, ( the choice was Beef Chicken or pork), loads on the adult size plate for her as she eats well and my other daughter had a child's portion of Pork - with crackling and Yorkshire. We were also given the option to have more than one meat. It was brill. We will be going back there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrissyb2k12, Owner at Dolau Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

I'm glad you and the girls enjoyed your lunch....come back soon, our dining room is now open, thank you all for your patience x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

After reading reviews on trip advisor we decided to book a table for 2 families to meet for our monthly catch up. The food was "immense" - to coin a famous phrase. Children were well catered for and the staff were very pleasant. Will definitely go back when the opportunity presents itself and will recommend to family and friends. Only small downside is that cards are not accepted for payment so be prepared and take cash as the nearest cash point is a drive away.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrissyb2k12, Owner at Dolau Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review . Chris x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

It's a tiny little inn stuck on a quiet tucked away country lane. We were staying at a holiday home a few mins from the Dolau so thought we would give it a try.... OMG what a delightful surprise. The food was out of this world and the portions were more than the money we paid. Anyone venturing out there must pay this Inn a visit....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LesleyFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrissyb2k12, Owner at Dolau Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your visit to Mochdre and our old Inn here in the lovely Welsh hills. maybe we will see you again ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

took parents to have a pub meal, warm welcome from Mark, excellent menu choice even catered for coeliac in the party with out any problems. Food arrived quickly, outstanding taste, and flavours, Menu was basic pub grub but we can honestly say this had to be the best meal we have had in this area for a long time Local produce cooked well. Nothing appeared to be too much bother for Mark and Chris even the bits we couldn't eat because we were full were neatly packaged up for our dog to enjoy later !!!Puddings looked extremely tempting but bellies were full by this point The bill was very reasonable too. I would highly recommend this excellent gem in the hills....but not too much because we want to go back and its only a small place !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank swinbrookhuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrissyb2k12, Owner at Dolau Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you so much for all your lovely comments, because of you and others we
are now ranked no.1 on Tripadvisor in Newtown! come back soon ;-))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Its been a few months now,but been busy restoring a caddy,lol ,, anyhow we came we found we drank we eat ,,we had a fabulous 3 days camping most enjoyable ,great location ,calm and relaxing,well I guess it was after we had all left,lol ,,but yes all going back 2014 if we're not all barred,,thank you Chris n mark 10/10 all round see u soon Ernie n jac n the gang ,, merry Xmas

2  Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrissyb2k12, Owner at Dolau Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thanks for your comments Ernie and the Caddy looks fantastic! lol... love it, top marks back to you too. See you and the clan soon ..Chris & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolau Inn also viewed

 

Been to Dolau Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing