We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Crane an excellent choice”
Review of The Crane Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Crane Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We returned from Barbados at the beginning of July from a wonderful stay at The Crane, this was our fourth visit with members of our family to our residence at The Crane

Every time we visit we are never disappointed, to be honest its like going home, all the staff greet you as friends especially :-

The team at the Carriage House Bar and grill, headed up by Errol Edgehill the bar manager, where the service is impeccable and friendly.

The 'Members Services Team' located just by reception are always on hand with a friendly smile to help with anything you want to arrange and book.

The team at property Sales headed by Jackie Ince, and not forgetting the wonderful job Nicole Jones members reservation administrator does behind the scenes, "what a wonderful team of people"

It appears to me that The Crane accommodation seems to dominate the reviews, I have been amazed to read some of the petty negative comments put on this web site.

It would appear some of our American friends are only interested in whether a resort has good A/C units, all the other excellent facilities would appear to be very insignificant in their world.

My suggestion to these people would be, try opening the windows and doors to let the wonderful trade winds blow through, use the natural elements Barbados is blessed with.

Also other negative comments regarding the staff at the Crane are unbelievable, They are all the friendliest people you could ever meet from Paul Doyle (The Owner) to the gardeners, they are very polite very helpful and very sincere to every one.

In my opinion this is an excellent resort that my family and I will return to again and again god willing, this is our little piece of Barbados.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dave_hocken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,825 - 1,831 of 2,575 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed in a small 1 bedroom apartment attached to our friends larger 2 bed apartment, what an amazing place! First trip to Barbados and it was exceptional, I have traveled around the Caribbean on cruises but it's so much nicer to stay. The Crane is set on the Eastern side of the island where as a lot of the other 5 star accommodation is located on the West. We visited the West and it was lovely, but we were glad to be on the East, the main reason is the breeze. The Eastern side of the island carry's a wonderful warm Caribbean breeze all day and night, it's beautiful especially for those who over heat like my partner, he adored the breeze.

The Crane is a spectacular resort, we ate in two of the restaurants - The food was exceptional, we swam off the Crane beach, the sea is rough but great fun! Stunning waves body boarding and surfing was abundant! The pools at the Crane are beautiful there is something for everyone, infinite pool, decorative and a proper swimming pool for those who want to put in a few lengths!

The people at the Crane are like no other place I have stayed, amazingly friendly they know your name and are always happy to help. In fact the people of Barbados as a whole are lovely, easy going and happy - but who can blame them they live in paradise!

We know there is a big world out there and lots to see, but we will go back for sure.

Room Tip: Best rooms are high up - more breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sand64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Upon arrival, the staff cheers you up with a cold glass of rum punch- nice way to start your vacay. The staff team was nice and accommodating, however, they are very SLOW when it comes to service. I guess I am used to NY time but it took them forever to serve food, bring an extra towel, and etc. No big deal about towels but call your cabs early if you want to be on time. We stayed at a historic room and it was absolutely beautiful. We didn't have any AC but the ocean breeze made it so cool, we actually preferred the ocean breeze. The view was very pretty too. The room was comfy and it has an old castle like historic feel. I loved it. I would def. go back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crushvelvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The views are gorgeous and this is a nice property. The accomodations are very spacious with nice furniture. The people who work there are, for the most part, helpful. However, we felt that the property was not very well-maintained. The lock on our door didn't work, and neither did our jetted tub. The dryer knob fell off. The air-conditioning didn't work very well, although it did cool down the rooms somewhat. We were not charged for air-conditioning like I'd read we might be, so that was a positive. All the pool choices are lovely, and it's nice to have that variety. The food is delicious; we liked all of the restaurants, especially L'Azure and the Italian one. It's hard to stay connected b/c the wireless does not seem to work anywhere on the property and there are only two computers in the business center.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank hadams007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We had an awesome time at the Crane hotel. Absolutely amazing and awe inspiring. The staff was wonderful and the pools and beach are great! We did a catamaran tour with "Cool runnings" and it was also fun. Yes this year there is seaweed this year, but that doesn't change how fabulous the beach is and that there is an elevator down the cliffside to the beach for all to go to the pink sand beach. Yes, it is really pink!

I can't wait to go back, we spent 5 days here for our honeymoon after going to St Kitts and Antigua, and this by far was my favourite 5 days. The dark mahogany wood floors and furniture were unbelievable and It really is a place for a princess, and her prince.
I will return for sure. We had free wireless in the room, no problem. AC was a bit weak, along with the hot water, but shouldn't you be at the beach anyway?

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaynaK26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This is a "return": we have been here several times inthe years now. Barbados can be quite different from most "tropical" getaways: you can find a secluded deserted beach, a fully serviced ones, a small local place for dinner or lunch or the livelihood of an entertaining nightlfe should you like to see the sun raising, all within a few tens of kilometers.
The crane is in a very favourable position, minutes away from the internaional airport it boasts access to Crane beach which is indeed astonishing and in a resort in the growth.
In the past years I have see facilities, services, pools, restaurants growth at a steady pace.
It is not in the caribbean side of the water and the added advantage is that most of the time you have a breeze taking away himidity and heat: we never had to turn on the air conditioning and never felt the pressure of hunmidity. The beach is gorgeous even if not the postcard few feet deep water, however if that is what you are lokking for it only takes a short drive to approach the caribbean side beaches; we did that twice during our stay, however, at the end, the positive climate of the location kept us from spending more time around.
This is not the standard hotel, any accomodation is generously sized, we were a party of 4 adults and 4 children and our penthoise ws @ 3,500 sq feet with a full kitchen, 4 bathrooms, one huge balconyand a rooftop terrace with Jacuzzi and BBQ: what I like here is that you basicallyhave an apartment (all ground level units even have their won private pool while most of the upper levels have a private plunge pool) wit plenty of sun, room and breezing air, but at the same time you get full aid daily service and you can even order a meal from one of the various restaurants (the ZEN, Japanes restaurant received several awards) and have it served in your flat or even do a take-away yourself. There is a ton of pools set up in a way which is both suitable for those seeking a calm retreat and some ideal for a family with children. The interiors' design which incudes jacuzzis in bow-windows, four posters beds and coral stone walls and parquet flooring inthe bedroms is very welcoming.
The mangement fairly states on their web site that there is ongoing contruction in progress but this seems to be almost accomplished now and we never had a noise issue.
Of course no place is perfect and there is a lot of room for improvement, in particular as they target a 4/5 star level more training is required by a part of the personnel but, having travelled the word around I can say that this is a pretty unique location and will be back again.

Room Tip: Top floor, ground floor w/pool, middle floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcopaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Great Hotel ... the rooms are wonderful. Only caution is that the beach has serious waves that make it very difficult to enjoy the beach... The food is par nothing great but the rooms and pool make up for it!!!!

Stayed May 2011

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coolmagas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
11.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,731 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,093 reviews
9.2 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
8.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
14.0 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#10 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range: £164 - £651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crane Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1887, The Crane Resort has overlooked the pink sands and turquoise waters of Crane Beach - one of the top 10 beaches in the world as rated by the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous and most recently named the "Best Beach in the Caribbean" by USA Today's 10Best Readers Choice 2015. Set on Barbados' beautiful South East coast, the oldest operating hotel in the Caribbean has effortlessly married the old-world charm of its past, to all the 21st century amenities and services expected by today's most discerning travellers. Guests are spoilt for choice with ultra-spacious one and two-bedroom suites, and three bedroom penthouses, many featuring lush gardens, private pools and rooftop terraces. There are also several fantastic dining options, including Zen, the No.1 Zagat rated restaurant in Barbados, which features Thai and Japanese cuisine, L'Azure which offers Caribbean delicacies with an international flair, The Carriage House which offers poolside favourites, D'Onofrio's, the Italian restaurant and The Grove Bar and Grill on Crane Beach which offers light grilled fare. The centre-piece of it all is The Crane Village - 55,000 sq. ft. of retail space complete with duty-free shopping, a Jazz bar, open-air dining, a fitness centre, day spa, an art gallery and the newly opened Calypso Kid's Club catering to younger guests. Guests also enjoy complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms and around the resort - even on Crane Beach - and complimentary long-distance calls to most international destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Crane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing