We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation at Crop Over festival 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crane Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crane Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Queens New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vacation at Crop Over festival 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Ten minutes from the airport, convenient parking. Concierge guest services friendly, helpful and available 24/7. Wi Fi, guest computers, cable, DVD. Several restaurants including :Zen, Carriage House, Grove Bar& Grill, and room service. Gift shops, grocery store, Spa/fitness area, numerous outdoor pools, a market at the resort. World class Crane beach with pink sand and an elevator. Spacious suites with jacuzzi, shower, kitchen/dining area, terrace. Beautiful, serene, tropical views. Temperture low 80's with occassional rain showers. One of the oldest finest resorts in the Carribean.

Room Tip: Junior suites, 1-2 bedroom suites available. View on line video slides. Stayed at the Cliff Cot resi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanJon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,401
    581
    180
    113
    108
See reviews for
568
1,169
69
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The crane is the place to be 11 of us spent four of the most breathtaking nights at the resort we only have one word to describe the crane AMAZING,,!,the wedding renewals and reception were done very tastefully and all my guest are begging me for a do over it was money well spent .It was a really great time

Room Tip: Residential in the park it has it's own pool and hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The place is breath taking we stayed in Building 8 fourth floor. Great breeze partial view of ocean. My husband had won the trip as an award. We took our 3 youngest 15,16 and 25 years old. I never heard I'm bored. They loved the beach and the quaint surroundings of The Crane. I enjoyed the deck every morning watching the sunrise and the sunset. Our room was enormous with an adjoining room for the boys. We had a full kitchen with all amenities needed to cook, A washer and dryer, our own little plunge pool the boys totally enjoyed. You can walk down to the beach there the view just breath taking. Very secluded.There is a place to buy groceries there. Heads up! most of all the little shops there are closed on Sundays. So get your souvenirs early. Do not miss out on the infinity pool that area was my most favorite. I want to thank Kristy the yoga instructor she was awesome. I definitely would take her class. She does do private lessons also. Since I love gardening the day the boys went golfing I walked the grounds to look at all the beautiful plants and THANK YOU to Livingston he was so great taking his time telling me about all the different flowers and palms. Just remember when you get there you are on Barbados time. Breath and relax

Room Tip: Building 5 are all ocean view. But we were in building 841 and it was still breath taking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The star of this property is the beach. Its much better than you can imagine....the waves are a perfect 10 foot mostly year round.......but its very secluded and beautiful. The old hotel still rules over the island. Its additions are positively luxurious. Iv'e never seen so much Mahogany. Restaurants were sleek and exotic. A class act.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mr_minimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I honeymooned here it Aug 2011, wouldn't let me go back that far but I wanted to review the Hotel. We originally booked a one bedroom ocean view room but upgraded to a one bedroom with a pool, hands down the best decision I have literally ever made at a hotel. The room was ENORMOUS and had a private 28 foot pool that spans the bedroom and living room. It was and is the biggest one bedroom I have ever stayed in, it easily can accommodate 4 people. The rooms were very nice, they have a full kitchen and massive bathrooms with a separate shower and jacuzzi tub which was almost the size of a mini hot tub. The resort is very well maintained and has a huge pool with many different areas to sit if you want to be away from people. Obviously it sits on a beautiful cliff overlooking the ocean which makes for an amazing but small beach. The waves can be a little rough since it's facing the Atlantic but it's well worth it. The food was overall very good but expensive. Barbados in general is more expensive than all the other Caribbean islands I have been to so be prepared and check prices if you are worried. Kitchen does help if you stop and buy food on way or at little store at resort. I would absolutely stay here again, it was quiet, beautiful, and WAY better than the other hotel we stayed at in St. James for the other half of our trip. We missed being at The Crane every second at the other hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank raf171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Crane is one of Barbados's top resorts and having stayed here 10 days now I can see why.
Staff are ultra friendly, helpful, smiley, chatty.
Food in all the restaurants is great.
View is outstanding.
Watching the Atlantic crash in on the coast, seeing the clouds scud by on a bright blue sky is bliss for us.
Yes it's over the East coast tucked away but hiring a car and travelling to the southern beaches or over on the west really isn't too much of a hardship
Very chilled for a holiday
Mark

Room Tip: Any of the pool/sea facing suites will give you an AMAZING vista every morning, plus you get the ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkieJ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I spent 10 days here in the run up to Christmas. This is a well run hotel, the grounds are incredibly well kept, the rooms are big and spacious, if a little tired in décor, while the food on the whole was good although nothing worldly - if you're a Michelin foodie or like a hearty breakfast you might be disappointed. The facilities on hand (gym and spa) were also of a very good standard while the staff were very friendly. I'd certainly recommend it as one of the places to stay in Barbados if anyone asked, Crane Beach is worth the stay alone!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Squire76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
11.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
13.5 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
13.6 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
8.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Resort

Property: The Crane Resort
Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crane Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1887, The Crane Resort has overlooked the pink sands and turquoise waters of Crane Beach - one of the top 10 beaches in the world as rated by the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous and most recently named the "Best Beach in the Caribbean" by USA Today's 10Best Readers Choice 2015. Set on Barbados' beautiful South East coast, the oldest operating hotel in the Caribbean has effortlessly married the old-world charm of its past, to all the 21st century amenities and services expected by today's most discerning travellers. Guests are spoilt for choice with ultra-spacious one and two-bedroom suites, and three bedroom penthouses, many featuring lush gardens, private pools and rooftop terraces. There are also several fantastic dining options, including Zen, the No.1 Zagat rated restaurant in Barbados, which features Thai and Japanese cuisine, L'Azure which offers Caribbean delicacies with an international flair, The Carriage House which offers poolside favourites, D'Onofrio's, the Italian restaurant and The Grove Bar and Grill on Crane Beach which offers light grilled fare. The centre-piece of it all is The Crane Village - 55,000 sq. ft. of retail space complete with duty-free shopping, a Jazz bar, open-air dining, a fitness centre, day spa, an art gallery and the newly opened Calypso Kid's Club catering to younger guests. Guests also enjoy complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms and around the resort - even on Crane Beach - and complimentary long-distance calls to most international destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Destinology, Odigeo, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing