We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great get away from havana”
Review of Hotel Cayo Levisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cayo Levisa
Reviewed 4 January 2014

just got back from cayo levisa. We loved it. we were there just one night, but the kids wanted to stay longer. Don't expect anything from cayo levisa hotel :). Just go for the beach and relaxation. Food was dull as everyone said. Grill fish, some green salad. Grill lobster too for 17 cuc. 2 night is way enough! When they say all inclusive it means food, no drinks. Beach towels, we had to rent for 2cuc a day. Bush rats everywhere. kids were happy. husband and kids went on snorkeling tour. they liked it.
the people were nice but don't expect service. welcome to Cuba! we stayed room # 16 and 17. The rooms were nice and clean (Basic). The Ac didn't work in room 17 so they gave us #18 to sleep in. we were lucky cos it wasn't crowded. i can't imagine if there wasn't other room! My husband will die !
So in all we love it! bring a good book :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miamaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed in Cayo Levisa just 2 nights, unfortunately there was a strong cold wind and most of our time it was raining – therefore there was no thought of swimming or snorkeling...
The reception was pretty cold & plain and quite desinterested all the time. Our junior-suite was spacious with king-size bed, place to sit, separate bath-room and outdoor-shower. Unfortunately all is in a neglected condition (the wooden planks are broken, the hammock as well and in the shower, if there is any water, the water looks as a deep brown morning coffee...and the water covers the floor in the bathroom). We asked at the reception to repair, nothing has happened! The dining-hall looks pretty cold, there is a small buffet (morning and evening with a little variety of fish or meet).
On one side of the small island there are mangroves, on the other side (where the bungalows are located) there is a fine white sand beach with some deckchairs. Maybe the water could be nice for snorkeling (depending on the weather).
>>> After we travelled through Cuba for 3 weeks, so we recommend this place with restrictions! Your demands must not be high – even if the prices are to high you have to accept the trouble and enjoy the nature!

Room Tip: Big Junior Suite - but mostly in a bad condition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank world-traveller8725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Forget the bad reviews - in a nutshell this place is paradise for anyone that can deal with roughing it a bit. Do not expect 5 star treatment. For a short break away from the busier towns it is nothing but beautiful. The beach and especially the sunset are stunning.
There are quite a few daytrippers but once they are gone there are few people left on the island.
As long as you can deal with the odd bug and but if dirt then its amazing. Remember you're in Cuba!
The food is basic and what you would expect from a cheap all inclusive. Again it's edible but not 5 star.
There is some work going on and every now and again a digger drives along the beach. But did I not say you should be able to deal with things here? Because of the expansion I would recommend going sooner rather than later as the island will become only more crowded.
The diving was good and a normal charge of 40cuc per immersion.
I will always remember this as my paradise island.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milksnatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We didn’t like this hotel. Many of the employees were not that friendly, eg the man at the reception who didn’t even look in the eyes or welcomed you in a positive way. No passion in their eyes, you feel as unwished but your money is wished. You want to feel like a welcome guest but it doesn’t feel like that at all. On the other hand some of the cooks and cleaners were very friendly. The rooms are really good, spacious. The food was not good, very basic. We had bad luck with the weather but we are convinced that the beach is great in the sun. It is a real little paradise.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MarliesCharlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

What a pity! We stayed there for 2 nights thinking of extending if we liked it... Being aware of some of the bad reviews in TA, we preferred to wait and see. Excellent decision, we left after the third day because the food was really bad.
Really lovely beach with lots of lounging chairs available. Perfect. We stayed in a junior suite, very large room, clean, well appointed with a/c, cable TVs., a separate toilet and a double shower, a sitting area with sofa, a balcony with chairs and hammock...Excellent.
The downside to this hotel is the very poor quality and the very limited choice of foods on the buffet. We were offered the same choices day after day, the food being recycled from one meal to the other; not very appetising to say the least.
Breakfast is served in the main buffet restaurant only , lunch and dinner is a bit better at the other outside restaurant at the far end of the property, eat there instead of the main buffet.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madyMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Little beach huts have great views of the beach. Huts are little basic, but perfectly workable. Beach is amazing, so much space not many people. Find a free hammock, order a rum cocktail and enjoy a good book. Next time we'll book long enough a stay for some snorkelling too! If you enjoy large glossy resorts this is not a place for you, but if you like bit of peace and quiet in laid back environment, Cayo Levisa is great. Special thanks to Spanish teacher Inti for verb conjugation lesson - plenty of homework for the long flight home...

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Laura3214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I came here with my family in July 2013 as part of our trip around Cuba and this is one of the stand out experiences for me; it is one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited. The beach was pristine, the sea was clear and warm and the sunsets were amazing. The day-trippers were not a problem at all as the beach never felt full or crowded, you felt like you had your own space. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly and the food was lovely. We particularly liked how they would cook eggs/meat to your taste. We did try the snorkelling which we really enjoyed, just the right amount of time with good equipment.
The ferry to the island was difficult to find as we went quite early on in our holiday and were not quite used to the roads or 'directions' available in Cuba but that is all part of the fun and adventure of the country!
Overall, a great stay and one that I would thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinar del Rio Province
23.7 mi away
Hotel Los Jazmines
Hotel Los Jazmines
#2 of 7 in Vinales
840 reviews
96.3 mi away
Hotel Maria La Gorda
Hotel Maria La Gorda
#8 of 14 in Pinar del Rio Province
326 reviews
59.2 mi away
Iberostar Playa Blanca
Iberostar Playa Blanca
#6 of 6 in Cayo Largo
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Horizontes La Ermita
Horizontes La Ermita
#4 of 7 in Vinales
588 reviews
238.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Cabo San Antonio
Hotel Villa Cabo San Antonio
#2 of 3 in Pinar del Rio
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cayo Levisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cayo Levisa

Address: Cayo Levisa | Palma Rubia, La Palma, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Pinar del Rio Province
Price Range: £121 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cayo Levisa 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cayo Levisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayo Levisa Hotel
Hotel Cayo Levisa Cuba/Pinar Del Rio Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing