We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cayo Levisa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Islazul Hotel Mirador(Los Palacios)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hostal Juana(Vinales)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    Hotel Vueltabajo(Pinar del Rio)
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    View Hotel
    Reviews (788)
    Filter reviews
    788 results
    Traveller rating
    172
    303
    168
    85
    60
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    172
    303
    168
    85
    60
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsday tripperscayo levisabeautiful islandfishoutdoor showermosquito netpalma rubiasmall islandolder bungalowsclear seabuffet stylejunior suiteby cuban standardsmeal timeswhite sand beachair conditioningspent nights
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    111 - 116 of 788 reviews
    Reviewed 6 May 2014

    Be carefull to plan a stay at this location. We booked 5 nights here, and pre-paid two weeks before we got there.
    The day before we were to arrive we heard rumours from our Casa owner in Vinales that the hotel might be closed because of lack of water. Early next morning I called the number given to me upon booking, and were told that there were no problems. As instructed we got to the docks (45 min taxi from Vinales) and were told that the Hotel was closed.

    Not contacting your guests, and not having correct information when called, when something like this happens is unacceptable.

    • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Service
    4  Thank Bjørn L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 April 2014

    OK.....we read the reviews and were ready for the worst!

    We had one of the older cabins frontline to the beach and we loved it, to fling open the curtains and look at the view was one of the highlights of our holiday.
    It is an island they don't switch the water off at night, but they do run out and have to wait for the boat to bring more across. We fetched sea water in the bin liner to flush the loo! We didn't mind this is made us laugh when we saw other people doing the same!
    Jutia (the large rodent animals) are harmless and great to watch, they are only around in the evenings and at night, and if for heavens sake they poo on your terrace over night, chuck a bucket of water over it or wait for the cleaning staff to come!!
    The food is fairly plain, but there is plenty, and with a chef to cook things for you there and then there is enough choice.
    The staff... we found them to be pleasant and helpful.
    They also run fitness sessions, Salsa dancing, Spanish lesson and lots more.
    If you want top quality then don't stay here and moan, there are enough reviews to tell you what to expect.
    If you want a beautiful beach, and have a sense of humour then you will love this wonderful place. Enjoy.

    Room Tip: Beach front, you cant get a better view.
    • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank sonia E
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Director G, Director General at Hotel Cayo Levisa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014
    Google Translation

    Estimad Huésped

    Gracias por escoger Cayo Levisa para pasar sus vacaciones, estamos agradecidos por sus comentarios.

    Clientes tan maravillosos como usted son los que nos inspiran cada día a ser mejores y a superarnos en lo que hacemos. Las jutías a muchos les gusta fotografiarse con ellas. Muchas gracias por su apoyo y queremos que sepa que el hotel Cayo Levisa es su casa y las puertas estarán siempre abiertas esperando que usted regrese para juntos compartir momentos inolvidables. Trataremos de ser cada día mejores.

    Gracias una vez más, regresen pronto.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 April 2014

    We have been to the island five times and it is wonderful. However, the cuddly mammals/large rodent population has exploded from around 10 last year to maybe 100 this year. They are breeding, large and not shy of humans. While last year, their exotic charm still existed, the animal poo on our balcony and deck chairs in the morning was not a plus point. I am mainly writing this review as I would like to return next year and without pest control (there are no natural predators) there may be a 1000 Jutias (as I believe they are called) roaming around after dusk. As I stated, the island is wonderful.

    • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Cobbler F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 April 2014

    The island is beautiful and nice boatride. Rooms are ok but they dont tellyou that they shut the water off at night. slow check in. avarage food. beautiful beach. STAFF PARTIALLY HELPFUL.AYOU CAN GET BETTER VALUE

    Room Tip: chkch your aircondition before you check in
    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank NAOMI Y
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 31 March 2014

    The location is brilliant- once you find it. We had a hire car and a less that satisfactory Cuba road map. The road to the ferry is in really bad condition and there are only 2 road signs the whole way there from Vinales. Luckily we kept stopping people who were out and about and checking we were going in the right direction. We nearly turned back numerous times. Anywa, we found it we were rewarded with a beautiful island and relaxing 2 night stay.
    We stayed in one of the older standard huts which was quite basic and shabby but that added to the experience. It is literally on the beach about 10 meters from the sea. The sand is like powder and the sea is shallow and turquoise blue.
    The restaurant seemed quite basic as we hadn't been in Cuba for long when we went to Cayo Levisa however we soon realised that for Cuba it was actually quite good. We mainly chose food from the grill which was freshly cooked by the lovely chef.
    There was a quite a lot of nocturnal activity from the big hamster looking creatures- both nights we had them scratching at the hut, trying to get in! We didn't see any cockroaches though as some reviews report.
    The water in the hut is turned off in the night, this may be something to do with the noisy generator which is on all day and part of night. For that reason you would be better off with a hut further along the beach.
    It is a fab location and once the day trippers have returned at 6pm there are only about 100 people left on the island. In the evening there is entertainment with Cuban singers or Cuban dancing lessons.
    The accommodation is currently being expanded with lots more huts being built too.

    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank johainsworth
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews