We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was an OK stay”
Review of Hotel Cayo Levisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cayo Levisa
Zurich
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It was an OK stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The island is great with pretty sand, clear waters but like many have mentioned there were a couple of negative points to the hotel.

It's all inclusive meaning it's buffet style and there is a chef at the grill who will prepare something separate if you wish. In terms of taste and variety, it's poor to average.

The room itself was spacious and ok but maybe more (detailed) cleaning needs to be done.

The hotel is in a midst of expansion and is also under renovation. This however didn't really disturb the guests.

Also, there are island animals (called Jutia, rodent looking) who will come out in the evenings looking for food. They will not come near you and are just interested in food.

Be prepared to feed the mosquitoes. Bring strong mosquitoes replellent to keep those nasty bloodsuckers away. Of course lots of sun screen is necessary.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ameth_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Director General at Hotel Cayo Levisa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado cliente:

Muchas gracias por tomarse la molestia de escribir sus comentarios en esta página.

Estamos muy complacidos sabiendo que han disfrutado de una estancia muy agradable en nuestro hotel y le aseguramos que nos esforzamos al máximo para mejorar cada día nuestros servicios gastronómicos aunque he de reconocer que las especiales circunstancias del mercado local no nos lo facilitan mucho para tener una mejor oferta.

Esperamos tener la ocasión de brindarle de nuevo nuestros servicios en este Hotel.

Reciba un cordial Saludo


Yuarman Domínguez López
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    270
    150
    84
    55
See reviews for
109
432
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

So before we arrived at Cayo Levisa, we expected the worse after reading previous reviews - even to the point we brang bottles of water as the review mentioned lack of water.

But when we arrived it was a completely different story - as soon as we arrived we were amazed by the beautiful beach. We were given a place right on the beach and they explained we would have running water 24 hours a day as I asked and that lunch wasn't included on the first day, but was included on the last day.

We quickly went to explore our cabin and was very happy - it was basic but has everything you need, TV, mini fridge, air con. The shower pressure wasn't great and it was cold but we were happy to settle with that! We went straight to the beach and to our surprise one of the staff members popped over and took an order for some cocktails and then went back to the bar to get them for us - amazing service here! Cocktails on the beach! He's name was Orlando and he was great, he told us all about the island and Cuban life along with checking in on us regularly to make sure we had everything we needed.

The food is very basic, eggs for breakfast, buffet fof lunch and dinner but the chef is great and will grill a selection of meat and fish for you.

Overall the staff were great, the rooms were comfortable and the beach is amazing and we would definitely recommend this to friends, which we have done already.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Director General at Hotel Cayo Levisa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Google Translation
Estimados clientes:


Muchas gracias por sus comentarios acerca de su experiencia en nuestro hotel y por la molestia que se ha tomado en divulgarla en esta tan frecuentada página de Trip Advisor.

Nos complace sobremanera saber que ha disfrutado de su estancia entre nosotros y le agradecemos también su recomendación a otros viajeros.


Esperamos tener la oportunidad de hospedarles de nuevo en nuestro hotel.

Reciban un cordial saludo.

Yuarman Domínguez López
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

If you want all inclusive with no charm - head for Cayo Jibacoa, you won't have to lift a finger. If - on the other hand - you want the real deal with all the charm, including lack of water at times, but a wonderful staff, from the chef that served us the best of meals (what he does to the fish is fantastic!) to the bartenders, butlers and the rest - this is the place you want to visit! The beach is fantastic! You can sneak away and have a beautiful part of the Mexican Gulf all for yourself whenever you want. There are sunbeds and shades enough for everyone, and if you're lucky you'll stay there at Horlando's shift which is one of the best guys you can meet at Cuba! He gave us a lot of recommendations for further traveling to Vinales and booked everything for us (see my recommendation for Casa Basita in Vinales).

To the staff at Cayo Levisa - thank you so much for the excellent stay!




Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas G. A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Director General at Hotel Cayo Levisa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Google Translation
Estimados clientes:

Muchas gracias por sus amables y elogiosos comentarios acerca de su estancia en nuestro hotel y por hacerlos públicos en esta reputada página.

Por nuestra parte, decirles además de que estamos muy satisfechos y gratificados sabiendo que se han encontrado muy satisfechos con el hotel y sus servicios, y esperamos tener la oportunidad de poder recibirlos de nuevo aquí, garantizándoles que siempre encontrarán el mejor de los servicios e instalaciones.

Orlando siempre estará dispuesto a darle el mejor servicio al igual que otros miembros del staff

Reciba un cordial saludo

Yuarman Domínguez López
Director General

Reciban un cordial saludo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed one night on Cayo Levisa and we had a good time. The rooms were tidy and we had a tv, unfortunately it rained through the roof but we were able to change the rooms and in the second everything was fine. We had direct access to the beach and the waiter went around to take orders which was really convenient. The activity program was plenty full. One could choose between snorkeling, diving, salsa dances and Spanish dances. Unfortunately the food was really really bad but there were no alternatives. In general, I would recommend going to Cayo Levisa because the beach is just amazing.

Room Tip: Try to get one facing the beach directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weizbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Director General at Hotel Cayo Levisa, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente:

Muchas gracias por recomendar nuestro Hotel en este sitio. Le agradecemos por compartir sus experiencias.

Lamentamos sinceramente que la cena en nuestro restaurante no estuviera a la altura de sus expectativas. Sabemos lo importante que es para los vacacionistas disfrutar de una bueno oferta gastronómica y hemos discutido el tema con las partes involucradas. Para nosotros es muy importante recibir las opiniones de nuestros huéspedes, que nos permiten evaluar nuestras fortalezas y debilidades y continuar trabajando para que cada cliente que nos visita quede complacido y desee regresar. Esperamos tener la ocasión de darles la bienvenida en sus próximas vacaciones.


Saludos cordiales desde Cuba

Yuarman Domínguez López
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed at this Cubanacan hotel with a Swiss/Cuban couple who lives in Cuba.
First of all I would like to point out that a Cuban citizen needs a terrible lot of paperwork to be done before being allowed to take the boat to this island - be prepared if you want to go there with Cuban friends living in Cuba!
I had already seen a lot of wonderful pictures of this lovely island on the internet and was looking forward to our stay.
Well: the beach will not disappoint you: it is clean, the water clear and there were enough sunshades for everybody.
As for the hotel: there are roughly three categories of cabanas and the oldest ones (standard) are right on the beach so you can almost drop our of bed into the sand. But be aware: these cabanas are OLD and badly maintained: mattresses are used, the bathrooms (including the sewer system) in dreadful conditions - not to be recommended.
My friends though had a very comfortable Junior Suite which can really be recommended (I cannot judge the "Tropical" cabanas of the third class which look nice from the outside though).
As for the rest of the hotel: it seems that a new reception and a new restaurant are being built - which is absolutely necessary: the present facilities are in sad shape and I truly hope that the variety and quality of the food will improve with this investment: as for the present, there is the same tiny buffet with tomatoes, lettuce, cucumbers, rice, beans and maybe some meat for lunch and dinner and the additional meat and fish from the grill are not a big variety. The best (strangely enough) was the pasta made to order.
Beverages are not included in the prices and are very high for Cuban standards at a hotel of this middle class.
What really disturbed us during our stay though were the frequent power shortages: every now and then the generators would be turned off and there was no power or water available throughout the entire hotel. A worker told us that the hotel had only a certain amount of fuel allotted - more during high season, less during off season) and that the generators were so old that they used about the double amount that a new generator would use....so they were forced to shut off the machines during the day for longer or shorter periods....
Staff was OK, not really interested (Cubanacan has no management contracts with foreign hotel chains and is sort of an all Cuban, State run chain).
As I write in my title: SO MUCH POTENTIAL! It is a shame that this hotel is lacking maintenance, loving attention to details, people interested in the service of the hotel - and yes: a certain amount of investment is needed to bring it up to a level which would enthuse its guest an bring them back.
But if..... it would be a little paradise.
As for now, sadly enough I would not recommend it for more than two or three nights - at a Junior Suite!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElCubanito1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My friend and I arrive in Cayo Levisa and were immediately wowed by the white sand, crystal clear water and picturesque palm trees though this initial reaction was to swiftly change.
We were told from the day of booking that ALL meals were included. Not true. We were expected to pay for the first lunch as check-in opened at 3pm and we arrived before that time and therefore were not 'officially guests' yet.
Our cabin was something a you could put together from a DIY flat pack as the walls were paper thin and very basic. It is also important to know that not all cabins are on the beach. Ours was next to a building site so instead of viewing a warm golden sunset we were instead presented with a bright orange cement mixer.

The icing on the cake was then to discover the water and electricity went off around 9am until around 7pm. In my opinion this is totally unacceptable for any form of accommodation. When we politely asked if we could possible have a couple of bottles of water off our bill as we bought them purely to wash with the manager told us to speak to the bar man and walked off. The bar man said speak to the manager and so on. We did not get any free water for compensation. The manager then ignored us for the rest of our trip.

Finally, the place is infested with large rat like mammals. The waiters were feeding them which of course did not help when they later begged for food whilst we were dining.

Will not be going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louiselock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pinar del Rio Province hotels

Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The only hotel (full board) at the little island. The beach is nice, with enough chairs and places to sit in the shadow. There are different cabanas, some right on the beach, others (the newer ones) just behind it. The restaurant serves a buffet. The quality of the food is okay. You will hutillas, walking around the hotelgrounds, not afraid of people. You can also go the island on a day trip. Sandwiches and drinks are available there.

Room Tip: The new cabanas are spacious, with a little balcony. They are a bit further away from the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Voorburg_Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Director General at Hotel Cayo Levisa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Google Translation
Estimados clientes:

Muchas gracias por sus amables y elogiosos comentarios acerca de su estancia en nuestro hotel y por hacerlos públicos en esta reputada página.

Por nuestra parte, decirles además de que estamos muy satisfechos y gratificados sabiendo que se han encontrado muy satisfechos con el hotel y sus servicios, y esperamos tener la oportunidad de poder recibirlos de nuevo aquí, garantizándoles que siempre encontrarán el mejor de los servicios e instalaciones.

Los pequeños animales son jutías, son nativas de la isla, y son inofensivas.


Reciban un cordial saludo

Yuarman Domínguez López
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinar del Rio Province
70.6 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,382 reviews
146.0 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 65 in Varadero
1,278 reviews
151.2 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
155.6 mi away
Sol Cayo Largo
Sol Cayo Largo
#2 of 6 in Cayo Largo
4,402 reviews
286.6 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
3,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cayo Levisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cayo Levisa

Property: Hotel Cayo Levisa
Address: Cayo Levisa | Palma Rubia, La Palma, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Pinar del Rio Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cayo Levisa 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cayo Levisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayo Levisa Hotel
Hotel Cayo Levisa Cuba/Pinar Del Rio Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing