We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous break!”
Review of Hotel Cayo Levisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cayo Levisa
Reviewed 26 August 2014

After reading previous reviews we were not expecting too much, but were very pleasantly surprised. I travelled with my partner and one of our friends and we were allocated two lovely wooden cabins next door to each, within just metres of the most beautiful beach.

There were two places to eat, the main air-conditioned restaurant serving buffet food, with a chef on hand to freshly grill, meats and fish etc. for us. Also a smaller version of the same in a snack bar further into the middle of the resort. We were expecting expensive drinks due to being captive audience - but found them to be reasonably priced and a good section available.

The rooms were fairly spacious and comfortable with two small terraces to sit out on when not at the beach. We enjoyed walking along the beach early morning and evening watching the various small varieties of crab going about their business, along with heron, dragonflies and turkey vultures.

The staff were absolutely lovely, and drinks were brought out to us on the beach, which was great.

The only slightly minus point I would say is that they could do more to force more sales of drinks and excursions available by offering them to guests more often rather than leaving guests to approach them. This can also be seen as a good thing and there is no hard sell or people bothering you all day.

I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone visiting Cuba.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Director General at Hotel Cayo Levisa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente:

Muchas gracias por confiar en nosotros, y gracias por haber elegido nuestro hotel

Nos alegramos saber que disfrutó de sus vacaciones en nuestro hotel. Estamos muy contentos de conocer que disfrutaron de ¨dos encantadoras cabañas¨ . También les damos las gracias por definir nuestro personal como ¨encantador¨ y esperamos poder volver a tenerle muy pronto junto con sus amigos a los cuales les ha recomendado venir a este lugar.

Un cordial saludo,


Yuarman Domínguez López
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Cayo Levisa is a wonderfull place to go to. It feeks like your own island. The water is beautifull blue, calm and very warm. Definitely worth a stay for at least one night. In the evening there's music and you can try some salsa moves. You have to be aware of the following (but don't let it scare you):

1. The boat goes to the island twice a day.
2. If you have bad luck (like us), you don't have water/electricity in your room. It took half a day before this was fixed!!! In stead of building new facilities for tourists, they should workshop on this problem!
3. The food is really not that good as it could be.
4. When you are lucky, you meet some nice Cuban people working on this island. Not all the staff members are that nice...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Floor v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Director General at Hotel Cayo Levisa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente:

Muchas gracias por escoger Cayo Levisa para su estancia en Cuba. Esperamos mejorar lo que nos señala para que su futura estancia en otros momentos en nuestro Hotel le sea más plancentera. Todo el staff del Hotel ha tomado nota de sus sugerencias.

Atte.
Yuarman Domínguez López
Director General
Hotel Cayo Levisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location. They are currently extending it adding more rooms and new restaurant and communal areas. The food is very average, but you don't go there for the food. The problem is the lack of water, which will get worse when the hotel gets bigger. We had to flush the toilets by bringing waste paper bins of sea water up from the beach. I would take children there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank VJCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Director General at Hotel Cayo Levisa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014
Google Translation

Estimados clientes:


Muchas gracias por sus comentarios acerca de su experiencia en nuestro hotel y por la molestia que se ha tomado en divulgarla en esta tan frecuentada página de Trip Advisor.

Nos complace sobremanera saber que ha disfrutado de su estancia entre nosotros y le agradecemos también su recomendación a otros viajeros.


Esperamos tener la oportunidad de hospedarles de nuevo en nuestro hotel. Se está construyendo nuevas obras, cuando se terminen también tendrán nuevas facilidades para tener agua constantemente.

Reciban un cordial saludo.

Yuarman Domínguez López
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The island is great with pretty sand, clear waters but like many have mentioned there were a couple of negative points to the hotel.

It's all inclusive meaning it's buffet style and there is a chef at the grill who will prepare something separate if you wish. In terms of taste and variety, it's poor to average.

The room itself was spacious and ok but maybe more (detailed) cleaning needs to be done.

The hotel is in a midst of expansion and is also under renovation. This however didn't really disturb the guests.

Also, there are island animals (called Jutia, rodent looking) who will come out in the evenings looking for food. They will not come near you and are just interested in food.

Be prepared to feed the mosquitoes. Bring strong mosquitoes replellent to keep those nasty bloodsuckers away. Of course lots of sun screen is necessary.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ameth_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Director General at Hotel Cayo Levisa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014
Google Translation

Apreciado cliente:

Muchas gracias por tomarse la molestia de escribir sus comentarios en esta página.

Estamos muy complacidos sabiendo que han disfrutado de una estancia muy agradable en nuestro hotel y le aseguramos que nos esforzamos al máximo para mejorar cada día nuestros servicios gastronómicos aunque he de reconocer que las especiales circunstancias del mercado local no nos lo facilitan mucho para tener una mejor oferta.

Esperamos tener la ocasión de brindarle de nuevo nuestros servicios en este Hotel.

Reciba un cordial Saludo


Yuarman Domínguez López
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

So before we arrived at Cayo Levisa, we expected the worse after reading previous reviews - even to the point we brang bottles of water as the review mentioned lack of water.

But when we arrived it was a completely different story - as soon as we arrived we were amazed by the beautiful beach. We were given a place right on the beach and they explained we would have running water 24 hours a day as I asked and that lunch wasn't included on the first day, but was included on the last day.

We quickly went to explore our cabin and was very happy - it was basic but has everything you need, TV, mini fridge, air con. The shower pressure wasn't great and it was cold but we were happy to settle with that! We went straight to the beach and to our surprise one of the staff members popped over and took an order for some cocktails and then went back to the bar to get them for us - amazing service here! Cocktails on the beach! He's name was Orlando and he was great, he told us all about the island and Cuban life along with checking in on us regularly to make sure we had everything we needed.

The food is very basic, eggs for breakfast, buffet fof lunch and dinner but the chef is great and will grill a selection of meat and fish for you.

Overall the staff were great, the rooms were comfortable and the beach is amazing and we would definitely recommend this to friends, which we have done already.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Director General at Hotel Cayo Levisa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014
Google Translation

Estimados clientes:


Muchas gracias por sus comentarios acerca de su experiencia en nuestro hotel y por la molestia que se ha tomado en divulgarla en esta tan frecuentada página de Trip Advisor.

Nos complace sobremanera saber que ha disfrutado de su estancia entre nosotros y le agradecemos también su recomendación a otros viajeros.


Esperamos tener la oportunidad de hospedarles de nuevo en nuestro hotel.

Reciban un cordial saludo.

Yuarman Domínguez López
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

If you want all inclusive with no charm - head for Cayo Jibacoa, you won't have to lift a finger. If - on the other hand - you want the real deal with all the charm, including lack of water at times, but a wonderful staff, from the chef that served us the best of meals (what he does to the fish is fantastic!) to the bartenders, butlers and the rest - this is the place you want to visit! The beach is fantastic! You can sneak away and have a beautiful part of the Mexican Gulf all for yourself whenever you want. There are sunbeds and shades enough for everyone, and if you're lucky you'll stay there at Horlando's shift which is one of the best guys you can meet at Cuba! He gave us a lot of recommendations for further traveling to Vinales and booked everything for us (see my recommendation for Casa Basita in Vinales).

To the staff at Cayo Levisa - thank you so much for the excellent stay!




Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Thomas G. A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Director General at Hotel Cayo Levisa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014
Google Translation

Estimados clientes:

Muchas gracias por sus amables y elogiosos comentarios acerca de su estancia en nuestro hotel y por hacerlos públicos en esta reputada página.

Por nuestra parte, decirles además de que estamos muy satisfechos y gratificados sabiendo que se han encontrado muy satisfechos con el hotel y sus servicios, y esperamos tener la oportunidad de poder recibirlos de nuevo aquí, garantizándoles que siempre encontrarán el mejor de los servicios e instalaciones.

Orlando siempre estará dispuesto a darle el mejor servicio al igual que otros miembros del staff

Reciba un cordial saludo

Yuarman Domínguez López
Director General

Reciban un cordial saludo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed one night on Cayo Levisa and we had a good time. The rooms were tidy and we had a tv, unfortunately it rained through the roof but we were able to change the rooms and in the second everything was fine. We had direct access to the beach and the waiter went around to take orders which was really convenient. The activity program was plenty full. One could choose between snorkeling, diving, salsa dances and Spanish dances. Unfortunately the food was really really bad but there were no alternatives. In general, I would recommend going to Cayo Levisa because the beach is just amazing.

Room Tip: Try to get one facing the beach directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Weizbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Director General at Hotel Cayo Levisa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente:

Muchas gracias por recomendar nuestro Hotel en este sitio. Le agradecemos por compartir sus experiencias.

Lamentamos sinceramente que la cena en nuestro restaurante no estuviera a la altura de sus expectativas. Sabemos lo importante que es para los vacacionistas disfrutar de una bueno oferta gastronómica y hemos discutido el tema con las partes involucradas. Para nosotros es muy importante recibir las opiniones de nuestros huéspedes, que nos permiten evaluar nuestras fortalezas y debilidades y continuar trabajando para que cada cliente que nos visita quede complacido y desee regresar. Esperamos tener la ocasión de darles la bienvenida en sus próximas vacaciones.


Saludos cordiales desde Cuba

Yuarman Domínguez López
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinar del Rio Province
23.7 mi away
Hotel Los Jazmines
Hotel Los Jazmines
#2 of 7 in Vinales
850 reviews
96.3 mi away
Hotel Maria La Gorda
Hotel Maria La Gorda
#8 of 14 in Pinar del Rio Province
327 reviews
59.2 mi away
Iberostar Playa Blanca
Iberostar Playa Blanca
#6 of 6 in Cayo Largo
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Horizontes La Ermita
Horizontes La Ermita
#5 of 7 in Vinales
589 reviews
238.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad
155.6 mi away
Sol Cayo Largo
Sol Cayo Largo
#3 of 6 in Cayo Largo
4,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cayo Levisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cayo Levisa

Address: Cayo Levisa | Palma Rubia, La Palma, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Pinar del Rio Province
Price Range: £101 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Cayo Levisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayo Levisa Hotel
Hotel Cayo Levisa Cuba/Pinar Del Rio Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing