We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenally bad, foul in fact!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Maria La Gorda
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
920 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Phenomenally bad, foul in fact!”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed here with a group. It is a building site with cows wandering around, most of the roads and pavements aren't complete.

The staff don't care, they have a really bad attitude.

Most of us had to change rooms due to problems with lighting or general standard. In our second room the towels weren't clean and there was a musty smell but we were lucky compared with our friends whose bed linen was really dirty with mouldy stains. We complained but they weren't changed until the next day when we caught the 'cleaner' outside our building and stood over her while she cleaned! The room smelt better after she'd cleaned. Our friends weren't so lucky and their bed linen was never changed.

The restaurant was truly disgusting and foul. There was only a limited option, poor quality buffet for an extortionate $13, this is the same for lunch and dinner. The restaurant was swarming with black flies but if you ate on the terrace there were 9 cats begging around your table, I even saw them jump on tables to take food from peoples' plates. There is nowhere else to eat and there is nothing for miles.

The beach is rocky and it is what the cats use as their toilet.

Avoid this place like the plague, it is disgusting through and through and the staff don't care. Once you're there you're stuck, there is no where for miles.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    91
    117
    54
    29
See reviews for
38
183
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Maria La Gorda was great for diving the staff on the boat are really helpful, friendly and it's clear they know all the sites in and around Maria La Gorda really well.

Unfortunately, the hotel is a whole other story. The rooms, whilst appearing to look modern upon first look are dirty as was the toilet. Upon entering the toilet for the first time, there was a paper to say it had been hygienically cleaned. I highly doubt this having found fecal matter of the previous guests in the room in the toilet basin.

The food is awful at Maria La Gorda. As a vegetarian, I refused to pay 12 CUC for a meal, to eat only salad. Instead I ordered sandwiches from the bar instead of eating at the restaurant. Unfortunately, the hotel staff refused to let me eat in the hotel restaurant. As a result, the cats lurking around the hotel attacked my food on the first night. Jumping on the table and running off with my food! The hotel staff didn't seem to care about this at all. On the few occasions I ate at the restaurant (mainly for breakfast) there were over 500 flies in the restaurant area on the tables and around the food.

The mosquito's and sand flies at the hotel are awful. Insect repellent is most recommended for any other visitors.

Lady at reception was also not very helpful. I asked her a number of times to give details about a transfer out of Maria La Gorda. She kept saying it was available, then not available instead pushing the more expensive option as the hotel transfer "wasn't running" on that day. Having booked myself on to take my Advanced Open Water Diver Course, I was told upon arrival that this was not possible as I had a PADI license which was not recognisable in Cuba. This despite having rang the hotel in advance to make sure it was okay, to be told all was fine (an error on my part). The lady at reception was very slow to help me change the package I had booked as she needed to go back to my travel agent to get a new voucher issued. This took over 24 hours, despite visiting her over 6 times to check the progress.

In the end we decided to cut our stay short by one night and go diving in Playa Giron. This was much better, more accessible and we had great food at our casa particular.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shailyn_1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pinar del Rio Province hotels

Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

The staff are friendly. The food is normal buffet and keep in mind they don't get much fresh food sent there, the chef does a good job with the basics . The diving is great . Not much fish life but a lot of great swim throughs and topography. The big draw back are the sand flies and Mosquitos - take extra bottles of the strongest sprays you can get.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Divejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Maria La Gorda is situated in one of the most beautiful areas of Cuba. Unfortunately, the hotel is bare bones, beds uncomfortable (though new), and the food and service in the restaurant is undescribably impassive and bad. The folks who work at the dive center are surly and inattentive. I love the area, but this place has a long way to go. The accommodations in the Park at Cabo San Antonio are excellent.
p.s. If you stay at Maria La Gorda, use the safe in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
111 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We spent one night in the hotel in Maria la Gorda and we enjoyed it. We went there for diving initiation, but the see was too much moving and the conditions were not goo to dive. however, we took profit of the hotel and the see. The room was opening directly on the beach. It was large, clear and clean. The dinner and breakfast were proposed as a buffet. The choice was not large, but the quality was OK for the dinner and good for the breakfast. the staff was nice and helpful. We made a walk on the beach to reach a completely desert beach where the see was turquoise and the water warm. We could feel like in heaven!

Room Tip: the rooms that open on the see are a little bit more expansive, but it worth to have a see veiw and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amassiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
159 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I came here to do scuba diving. It is supposed to be one of the best diving sites of the island. The hotel is currently being renovated and some of the rooms/ bungalows are really old, in particular those facing the sea.
The food is poor but there is no other choice.
The diving centre is excellent with very good instructors (I recommend Fran).
The diving sites are not bad but there is little fish to be seen.
Considering the remoteness of this site, I would suggest other options in Cuba are considered before travelling this far.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levanger, Norway
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

This is actually a nice place, the beach that is. It's a corall beach though - there's sand on the beach, but coralls in the water. Great snorkelling, and good swim. And supposedly a good scubaspot. But the hotel is a mess. We stayed in cabanas with an aircondition that worked sometimes. They closed the water from midnight til 7 in the morning, sometimes even earlier. Other guests told us the other rooms was just as bad. The place is swarmed with mosquitos and sandflies after dark. Something really bites! In addition to the food ... We booked via Cubatrips and paid 72 CUC a night, including breakfast and dinner. No one told us it was a terrible buffet. Stay away! The bar restaurant is cheaper and better! You could get away with only 42 CUC for a room. The service in general is terrible and slow. Except one bartender who was a real charm. Oh, did I mention the stray cats and the cows running around?

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ulriks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinar del Rio Province
227.1 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
1,220 reviews
158.6 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,301 reviews
354.2 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
194.2 mi away
Memories Jibacoa
Memories Jibacoa
#1 of 3 in Jibacoa
1,730 reviews
353.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,457 reviews
233.1 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria La Gorda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria La Gorda

Property: Hotel Maria La Gorda
Address: Peninsula de Guanahacabibes | Sandino, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Pinar del Rio Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Holiday Gems so you can book your Hotel Maria La Gorda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria La Gorda Hotel
Hotel Maria La Gorda Cuba/Pinar Del Rio Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing