We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinales
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Lucilo y Nirma
Ranked #79 of 204 Vinales B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

This place was a great find. The family were so friendly and helpful including calling their friends to find us some bikes to rent. We stayed in the bungalow in the garden which was a good size with a nice bathroom and being away from the house it was quite private . If you stay eat in the casa as the food was the best we had in Cuba!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ali088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights back in April 2013 and we both highly recommend it! The entire family is very nice and will do whatever it takes to help you enjoy your stay.

The food was great also! It's especially noted as a VERY good place for vegetarians in boring-veg-food Cuba. Not here. Black bean soup, rice, really nice pasta with a soy-based ground "meat", great breakfasts ... they really know how to prepare all kinds of things well. For the meat eaters, Lucilo's got a lovely looking brick oven in the back! And mojitos ... of course! They also helped arrange local sightseeing.

Believe the hype! Casa Lucilo y Nirma is a great place to stay in Vinales. We'd stay there again for sure!

Room Tip: If you prefer a secluded room ask for the one in the back, it's in a separate unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryan_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I went to Casa Lucilo y Nirma for 4 days in 2011 and I decided to go back for longer this month. I just got back and I had the best time ever in all my 11 times in Cuba, the whole family is very warm and friendly and they make you feel at home. Even their friends who pop by are awesome. And the town of Viñales is full of friendly people, not like Havana where there is a hustler every ten steps. I would definitely go back.

They know everything about Viñales and can certainly help you figure out what to do every day. People say 3 days is enough but I disagree, especially if you are a nature lover. I'll definitely go back.

And like everyone says, the food is very good and very healthy.

Room Tip: Either room is good. Both are clean with AC, hot water, comfortable beds and private entrances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Me1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Ive been travelling all over cuba,but this is the best casa and the nicest family by far.and nirma is an exellent cook,even vegetarian.the hole family is extremly friendly,and takes really well care of you.highly recommended!!

Room Tip: They have two rooms and both are exellent....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larsjoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

you really feel at home and whatever you need just ask!lucilo and nirma will do their best: rent a car, horse riding , places to visit in the neiborhood, something typical to eat ( great soups and frittelle di mais: delicious!!)Even if they don't have a room for you they will suggest another exellent accomodation)nice place, nice people, exellent food!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristianaelilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

After 3 trips in Cuba in the two last years, and 3 times at Lucilo and Nirma's Casa, it is more than confirm, IT IS OUR BEST CASA AND HOST IN CUBA !
It's impossible for us to think to go back in Cuba without have a stay at Casa Lucilo y Nirma !! It's simple :

GOOD food ? : yes !! Nirma cooks so well !!
GOOD beds ? : yes !! Lucilo and Nirma take care of their paradise !
GOOD location ?, yes ! Vinales is so charming and peaceful.
GREAT people ? : YES !!! Lucilo and Nirma are so nice and are friends now. We hope their will be yours to !!

We highly recommend, of course !!

An advice, bring your bicycle and explore Cuba and the Vinales region, it is so nice !! Try it !! Vinales is also a good climbing location, for those interested !

Etienne and Elise
Montreal, Canada

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Although there was one negative review, I elected to disregard it, because it related to a scheduling problem and not the experience of actually staying in a casa. How delighted I am with my decision.

My recent stay - march 10 -12 was truly a unique experience and far exceeded my expectations. What led me to this conclusion and what can I say about Casa Lucio y Nirma? A great deal and all of it good.

The casa itself, within easy walking distance to downtown Vinales, was immaculate as was my room, which while a part of the house is separate affording the visitor much privacy. More especially the bath was clean. They both smelled fresh.

The owners - Lucio and Nirma - live at the casa with their two children, both college graduates. All four were welcoming and helpful without being overly attentive. A good example- when they realized that I didn't like to do the usual tourist things, they made a real effort to find things off the usual tourist paths. This led to a trip to a dental clinic (the daughter is a dentist) and a trip to a pineapple farm in an area at the end of the electric grid.

If you want to see how real Cubans live and you want to experience warm Cuban hospitality, I recommend this casa without reservations.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelJust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vinales hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Los Jazmines
Hotel Los Jazmines
#2 of 7 in Vinales
850 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Oreste El Pelotero
Casa Oreste El Pelotero
#57 of 204 in Vinales
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa El Habano
Villa El Habano
#5 of 204 in Vinales
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Casa Magdiel y Maidalys
Casa Magdiel y Maidalys
#85 of 204 in Vinales
18 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Cristina y Abel
Villa Cristina y Abel
#44 of 204 in Vinales
110 reviews
13.7 mi away
Casa Leyanis y Jesus
Casa Leyanis y Jesus
#29 of 92 in Vinales
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lucilo y Nirma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lucilo y Nirma

Address: Pasaje Camilo Cienfuegos # 52 | Pinar del Rio, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We speak English and some French so language is not a barrier to spend evenings talking about life in Cuba over a few mojitos or assist you with any travel logistics you may need when you stay with us. Viñales is known for its beautiful food! The food at home is all organic, from the farm to the table all made with local and fresh ingredients only. We gladly cook VEGETARIAN MEALS. Vegans and vegetarians are more than welcome to stay with us. We understand how difficult it can be to find vegetarian meals in Cuba. WE ARE PROUDLY GAY OWNED and we do welcome LGTB travellers in our casa particular! We can arrange tours and excursions in Viñales National Park. We are happy to customize the Viñales tours of your preference and offer tailor-made excursions for the most demanding travellers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing