We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best parts of our holiday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Miriam y Mariano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinales
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Miriam y Mariano
Ranked #146 of 200 Vinales B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best parts of our holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Mariano n his were extremely lovely and accommodating from the start till end putting up w or shabby spanish.
The 200 yr old tree in their backyard is a real sight n so was his cigar wrapping demo under the tree. Very special!
His omelette at breakfast was the tastiest I had in Cuba I don't know why it looked so simple!
Their dog Ceci is adorable and loves to run up to the rooftop. The casa is a stone's throw away from the town Square.
We loved our stay in vinales!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

marios has build his home around a tree and put a small desk between trunks where he makes his cicars and drinks some rum. He will ask you to join and learn. Mario is very friendly and the family welcoming. Considering that my spanish is non existent and that they don't speak much english it was remarkable how well we communicated and got along! All down to Mario's and Miriam's hospitality and wish to make every stay enjoyable. If you are looking for a real unique Cuban experience - this is it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trippertrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

If you want to experience REAL Cuba this is the place to stay. We celebrated New Year´s Eve 2012-13 with Miriam and Mariano and as soon as we walked in Mariano offered us a Cigar, some Rum and then showed us how to make Cigars from his own workshop. He sells them too at a much better price!
Miram´s food is the best we had in Cuba (unfortunately the recipes are secret - I had to ask?!). Easy location in a small town with a great big double/triple room. They don`t speak much English but if you speak Spanish Mariano is fascinating and a very educated guy. I will definitely be going back both for the cigars and the incredible cooking!! He also has a tree growing through his house, never again will you see something like that?!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

We were referred to Mariano by Nicolas, our casa owner in Havana. Nicolas mentioned Mariano's love for cigar and rum and his warm hospitality. And true enough, we had a lovely time at Mariano's casa. He even taught us how to play dominoes and shared with us his rum! His friendliness and hospitality is truly and uniquely Cuban. His house with a huge old tree in the middle adds to the character of the casa.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Villa Miriam y Mariano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Miriam y Mariano

Property: Villa Miriam y Mariano
Address: Pasaje Camilo Cienfuegos 10, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 200 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing