We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great Cuban Casa!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinales
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Pitin y Juana
Ranked #188 of 200 Vinales B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great Cuban Casa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Absolutely great casa! with one terasse. Great hosts, great food!!!! Totally Recommendable!!! One of the best casas in Cuba (we travelled 2000km by car from Santiago till Vinales). The hosts are very nice and helpful. Great food and drinks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    21
    12
    17
    16
See reviews for
11
68
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitzbuhel, Austria
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is a beautiful and very well kept casa. The two story building is in a very good condition, tasteful furniture, nicely painted in lots of strong colors with a smart floor plan, so owners/family and guests are not in each other's way. We stayed in a very clean room (small bathroom included) on the 2nd floor with a private balcony and gorgeous views of the banana groves and the "mogotes", the green, oddly shaped mountains that are remnants from ancient times. One advantage of this casa is the location at the entrance of Vinales - even though you can walk everywhere from here we didn't get the noise of the town at all. The owners are very hospitable and friendly, cooking is fabulous (simple but delicious breakfast - I miss the fresh guava juice, and perfect dinner)! The great plus for us, arriving after several intense days of sightseeing in Havana, was that we didn't have to take care of anything. We really just wanted to relax and take part in activities in the great outdoors. We told our hosts what we were interested in (hiking, horseback riding...) and they put us in touch with a guide right away. We spent 4 fabulous days in Vinales and were really happy to have found this great casa.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the 2nd floor that faces the backyard and the banana groves. Bring insect repell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was the only casa we stayed in in Cuba (hotels the rest of the time), so we don't have much to compare it with, but the lovely host Hilda really helped us out, she was extremely caring and helpful when we turned up from Havana ill, and when we recovered the lobster dinner was delicious! Vinales is a bucolic paradise, we only wish we had had longer to enjoy Hilda's hospitality.

Room Tip: The upstairs room with a terrace (the one facing the road) is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limpyimpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawtell, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

The family here did a big sales push on guided tours and other extras. They also told us that we would be poisoned eating anywhere else in town. Amazingly, we survived.
Like other reviewers, we had also booked the upstairs room only to find it occupied when we arrived for the first night. We stayed that night in the warmth of Dona Hilda (next door), where we had our best meal in Vinales and had the pleasure of meeting Chi Chi, our most wonderful hostess. I recommend staying with her.
Our room was fine but we weren't considered after knocking back the guided extras. Be warned.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Th0mas_A290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We loved this place! The room is fine, nothing special, but the private balcony is fabulous! Much as I love the casa system in Cuba we did often end up sharing the house with the family- great most of the time but especially as our Spanish is not great it could be a little unrelaxing so having our own private space was a welcome change.
The food was spectacular- huge portions and absolutely delicious.
It was my birthday while we were there and my husband wanted to surprise me with a cake- the hosts managed to organise this for him with very little notice. Such a lovely surprise at the end of dinner to have the cake brought out and everyone sang Happy Birthday to me!
I would highly recommend this casa!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank klmdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We looked up this casa in the Lonely Planet. We were told we would have the two upstairs rooms (two couples) but on arrival, found they had given one away overnight so we had to stay downstairs in a dank uncomfortable room. The food was alright but not amazing. Service was terrible - the hosts were incredibly rude and business-like and utterly unlike the other friendly casas we stayed in. The hosts also lied to us again on arrival, telling us that to hike to the freshwater pool in Palmeritos was going to cost 15CUC each and it was not possible to do this without a guide. They pounced on us as soon as they knew we wanted to go on a walk. This turned out to be complete rubbish and we did the whole thing for free, paying only 2CUC for a guide at the point you get to the cave (essential). Go elsewhere (preferably Casa Tomasa!)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camilla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We grabbed a room here as everywhere else seemed to be full and it was in Lonely Planet.
The room was OK, upstairs, and clean, but the shower was hopeless, little more than a dribble.....
We did meet a great guide for a walking tour through them however....Jessie was great and the tour really worth doing through the tobacco farms and hills.
Vinales was lovely to stay in.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dale o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinales
0.0 mi away
Moka Hotel
Moka Hotel
#1 of 1 in Las Terrazas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.0 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#20 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.0 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Pitin y Juana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pitin y Juana

Property: Villa Pitin y Juana
Address: Km 25 Carretera a Pinar del Rio, Casa # 2, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 200 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing