We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa La Cabana Obel & Yoly
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hostal Juana(Vinales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Vueltabajo(Pinar del Rio)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Islazul Hotel Mirador(Los Palacios)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Cayo Levisa(Pinar del Rio Province)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
74
20
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
20
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslobsterlovely hostsfantastic foodbeanstwo nightshorse riding tourprivate bathroomchickenmogotesroofvalleyfridgedinnerhousecubaplugscasa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed with Obel and Yoly for 2 nights in March 2013. Everything was lovely. The casa is very clean and charming. Obel and Yoly are great hosts and Yoly is an amazing cook. The best food in Cuba. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ioanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Casa la Cabana is well located on a quiet street in Vinales. From the rooftop terrace, you can enjoy close up views of the mogotes.. The room set apart, providing plenty of privacy. The family is warm and welcoming, from the three beautiful daughters to the grandparents who live closely.
Yoly makes excellent food and drinks. We recommend this case very highly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLB12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

General review:
If yo want to see the real life in the country side, to feel the silence and to belong to Cuba for at least few days - this is the place to stay! Although the casa is not in the center of Vinales and is in backyard, that was exactly what we were going for to Cuba. Do not miss the local guide Dionell and the country side horse riding to Tobacco fields.

How was the food?:
Food was good but too big portions for our little stomachs.

How was the room?:
Room was spacious, all in wood, fresh and clean.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gundars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed here for three nights with breakfast and evening meals. Although this wasn't the most luxurious casa accommodation we enjoyed on our trip, the food made up for it with the added benefit of the best pina coladas experienced in Cuba! The accommodation was clean and comfortable and the family made us feel very welcome. Be prepared for early wake up calls from the local birds and animals.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EOR002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed here for 5 days bed, breakfast and evening meals in the house, which was soon like a second home to us. The casa is off the main high road and down a back road. In the entrance to the left, is a small pool with turles in it, then the main dining area, the kitchen behind that and then the rooms. Ours had a double and 2 singles plus toilet and shower and was fine. There is a rocking chair out to the back and a rooftop, too. The prices were good value - important when on a budget!
My partner is Cuban, so had asked friends for a reccommendation . We were met from the bus and taken to La Cabana. I laughed when I realised this was the place I visited back in Dec 11 on my first trip to Cuba . A group of 14 of us had spent a great evening here - we could not believe the fantastic quality and variety of the food and had christened it " the Malibu house".
The food was great - with plentiful breakfasts- anda choice of evening meals - pork, lobster, beef, paella- nothing was too much trouble and Emilia's cooking was fabulous! This part of Cuba grows lots of the food for the rest of Cuba , so supply is plentiful. We were invited to help ourselves to the huge hands of banannas hanging in the dining room, and plenty of fresh juices.
On the first day, I spent lunchtime with a group of local musicians singing as many Beatles songs as we could remember. Although Vinales has a sleepy, realaxed feel to it, there are various activities. The daily "hop on, hop off" bus is very good value. A trip to the caves was good fun too, and we also went horse riding in the valley. Johania and her staff have a variety of contacts and suggestions for activities, and there are plenty of local taxi drivers, too.
If you want to go swimming, check out the 3 hotels - they all have great views of the valley- for about 6 CUKS you can spend the day at the pool and most of the 6CUKS is redeemable against snacks and drinks at the hotel bar.
We went to the town square for a fiesta , and the Case de Trova several times to hear live bands and to dance. We were treated with great warmth and traditional Cuban hospitality. Highly reccommended!

Room Tip: For a good room, just ask !!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastlondoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews