We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly welcoming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinales
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa La Gran Familia
Ranked #13 of 200 Vinales B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazingly welcoming”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The case was clean and well kept but more importantly Samuel was extremely helpful and friendly.
He speaks perfect English an arranged all our tours while we there there as well as our meals. Couldn't recommend staying with Samuel and his family highly enough. Went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed our stay and experienced what Vinales had to offer. Timmy

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmygreaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    30
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
108
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We spent two nights at this casa and it certainly felt like we were part of "la gran familia". Elizabeth and Samuel worked so hard to make our stay comfortable and exciting, and their son became fast friends with our son. The house is gorgeous, clean and spacious with a beautiful view from the roof. And we are so glad we ate every meal at home: Elizabeth is not only a great host, she is a great cook. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Don't miss this casa! You get a real local flavour in this neighbourhood home without any tourists around. Elisabeth and her husband are so helpful and friendly! What a hospitality! Room is great, good beds and large bathroom. The food (breakfast and dinner) is the best we had in all casas in Cuba. The grilled chicken and pancakes are the house speciality! Also sitting at the veranda at night watching the neigbours going about their daily lifes is a nice evening activity.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erwin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here for one night of our three night stay in Vinales and had a great welcome from hosts, Samuel, Elisabeth and children, as we did everywhere we went in Vinales.
The food was fantastic and plentiful and the Mojitos, very strong!! Everybody especially loved the yellow beans...we're still talking about them!
The family put up with our rowdy antics whilst we played charade type games after our fabulous dinner, and young Samel upstaged us with his own rendition of Aladdin and Michael Jackson ;-)
All in all very good value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level 6 Contributor
618 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

On our round trip in Cuba, were we visited 6 places, this was certainly the best Casa Particular we stayed in. It was a bit difficult to find, as it was located at the end of a small alley that you could not reach by car. The place was perfect. Nice bedroom, with 2 beds, clean bathroom and separate room for breakfast and dinner. We stayed here 2 nights.
Breakfast and dinner, was excellent. I have never eaten so much delicious fresh fruit before. The lobster, served at dinner was very good. Elazabeth is a fantastic cook and hostess.
Samuel advised us to visit the valley on horseback, what we never did before. He arranged all, and we loved it. At night, there is life music in the centre and that was very swinging. We could use the swimming pool on the nearby hotel where Samuel works, but we did not had the time to do so.
I was an absolute great stay and certainly highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tramx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loosdrecht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

In the beginning of August we have had the privilege of being the guests of Elizabeth, Samuel and their two kids. Samuel is an energetic entrepreneur besides being manager of a nearby hotel. With him we spoke English, with Elizabeth Spanish. We stayed with the four of us (2 children) in two bed rooms.The place has been an excellent home base for a number of day trips: horse riding into the mountains (arranged by Samuel’s nephew) with swimming in the river and visiting a tobacco farm, visiting the caves of Santo Tomás, and visiting the home village of Elizabeth. Samuel welcomed us to use the swimming pool of the hotel where he works, but in the end that didn’t fit our schedule. I’m grateful for the really interesting talks with Elizabeth about life in Cuba, which made me understand Cuba a lot better. One of the charms of the place is the fact that it’s not situated at a road. We had to leave the car - it is guarded by one of the neighbours - and walk a small distance - Samuel’s father took our luggage in a barrow. Transport passing by consisted only of horses with or without carriage. Nightly sounds of frogs, pigs, roosters and horses make the atmosphere complete. Having travelled for 2 weeks in Cuba thereafter, including in expensive hotels, we can safely state that the best dinner we’ve had in Cuba was prepared in Elizabeth’s wood fuelled stove. Truly excellent food and the best mojitos we’ve ever had! Hopefully one day Elizabeth will be able to fulfil her dream of establishing her own “paladar”.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This is a must stay Casa! Elizabeth and Samuel were great hosts and supported us greatly in undertaking our activities in Vinales and Western Cuba. We felt very much at home and welcomed for the 4 nights we stayed. The food was exceptional (so much of it), the rooms and dining area very clean and well setup. We had complete privacy and were left alone except when we requested assistance. Could not recommend a stay here more highly. Congratulations to this family on such a professional approach.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vinales hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa El Habano
Villa El Habano
#3 of 200 in Vinales
523 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Cristal
Villa Cristal
#25 of 200 in Vinales
301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Mariposa
Villa Mariposa
#23 of 200 in Vinales
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Los Pandaderos
Villa Los Pandaderos
#20 of 200 in Vinales
128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Haydee Chiroles
Villa Haydee Chiroles
#21 of 200 in Vinales
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Niurkis Cruz Torres
Casa Niurkis Cruz Torres
#50 of 200 in Vinales
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa La Gran Familia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa La Gran Familia

Property: Casa La Gran Familia
Address: Calle Orlando Nodarse #8 e / Adela Azcuy y Joaquin Perez, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 200 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with private bathroom, hot water, wide & comfortable room with 2 beds & safe box. The casa has a very quiet terrace with a lovely view to the mountains. Is just located 2 blocks from center where you can enjoy the main activities. Like other cuban houses the food is amazing. Samuel the owners speaks very good english ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing