We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, friendly & charming place to chill out”
Review of Villa El Habano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa El Habano
Ranked #3 of 200 Vinales B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent, friendly & charming place to chill out”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Two casas particulares stole our heart in Cuba, this was one of them. On this ground brother and sister each have their own house and room for rent. The sister speaks very good English and an even better French. Respect! The brother makes excellent mojitos, served on your private terrace. Both are warm hearted people who do their job with care and passion. What comes in very handy is that they arrange all kinds of possible day trips in the Vinales region. We took a horse ride tour.

The room was tidy and comes with a terrace with rocking chairs – ideal if you just want to chill out with a book in one hand and a cuba libre in the other one. Also a mini bar with softs, beer, wine and rum was foreseen. Breakfast and dinner are served on the terrace and are well worth trying out! On the last morning we left very early and they prepared a breakfast “on the go”.

Going to Vinales? Look no further! And don’t leave this casa without tasting at least several times the home made mojitos.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolijn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    46
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
104
289
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

With my mom and sister we have spent 3 days in Vinales. Yuneyka waited for us at the bus stop with a taxi which took us to Villa El Habano. The place is nice and relaxing located approximately 10 minutes walk from the Viazul stop in the centre. Our room was impeccably clean, quiet and had a big terrace with rocking chairs. We had breakfast and supper there watching the sunset and chatting with the family. We definitely recommend food there – it is plentiful and delicious. Yuneyka speaks perfect English and we asked her to organize bicycles and American car for us which were both exactly on time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewelina-EW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The casa is located outside the center of Vinales (which is 5-10mins walk) but that is what makes it great as you can experience some of the country side feeling as it is quiet and very relaxing place. The houses are in great condition and clean. And of course the hosts are great as they helped us to plan our stay in Vinales and assisted with every little detail we needed (like opening the coconut we brought from Cayo Levisa). Also the food was great with huge portions so definitely try their home made dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrejs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This is a very good, professionally well run, casa. The owners will make you feel very welcome and will book all of the local trips you might wish to make. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is very good indeed and wonderfully plentiful. The casa is very peaceful as it is a short walk out of town. This is a big advantage as the town can be a little noisy at night. If you want a little pool action take a 15 minute trip out of town up to the Hotel La Ermita where you can remain all day for 7 CUCs. Don't stay there though, it's not great value. You are much better off staying in a casa and El Habano is one of the best. My only gripe was that the window in our room looked straight into another room, and so had to remain closed and curtained. But as you are really only going to sleep in there this hardly matters. The rooms all have private terraces, fans, a/c. plenty of hot water and firm beds.The family are genuinely pleased you are staying with them and speak good English.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarratttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at Villa el Habano for 3 nights in June and had the most wonderful time. Yuneyka and her family were the best hosts anyone could ask for. We arrived on the bus from Havana and Yuneyka came to meet us which was very kind of her as we were feeling a bit rough. Unfortunately my partner had eaten a bad meal in Havana the night before and was ill for 2 days - however by the 3rd day he had been nursed back to health by our amazing hosts and the delicious homemade meals at Villa El Habano ! Yuneyka and her mother made him soups, provided us with lots of water and even made him a special guava juice to try to calm his stomach upset. They assured me that if his fever got worse just to shout if i needed anything and were really attentive. On the 3rd day when my partner was feeling better we went on a horseback tour through the Vinales valley which Yuneyka organised for us - it was spectacular and our guide was great and so funny! The casa's location is another bonus - situated a 5/10 min walk from the centre of town - but as it's on the outskirts and next to the fields it's also peaceful and relaxing.The casa is spotlessly clean, beautifully maintained and decorated. Rooms are comfortable and have a safe, fridge and air con! Meals are of an extremely generous size and was some of the best food we had in Cuba. Yuneyka speaks amazing English and French, will organise trips for you and will generally be there for your every need or want! I hope we get a chance to return to Cuba and we would definitely stay at Villa El Habano again. Heather and Mark - Scotland - June 2013

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hev24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

A friend and i stayed for 3 nights here at end june and had wonderful time. its just past the botanical gardens, an easy walk. Room was big and cool enough. What made the stay was the helpfulness and willingness of the owners - we had ideas of what we wanted to do and they basically provided us with the information and kit we needed! Plus the food was very tasty (much better than what we had in the town!!). I would stay here again if i came back and would also highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This Casa is great! A 5 min walk from the center of Vinales, so feels more quiet and sorrounded by nature, but still close to bus station!
Room was great, had a safe, which was really helpful, and air condition (is a bit old, bud did it's job, needs a bit more time to cool the room than new stuff, but it was a good temperature for sleeping)

When we arrived our owners waited for us at the bus station, even though we haven't arranged for them to wait for us. They showed us a huge map of Vinales and the surrounding are, what is good to see, what tours are generally offered and they aid they will book it all for us if we choose any of the tours.
They also have bikes for rent, and we certainly did use them!

Breakfast and dinner was amazing, far better food than what you can find anywhere in Vinales restaurants!
On the last day they got up at 6am just to serve us breakfast before our departure, and even went to the bust station to buy tickets for us, so we have more time to relax.

We did not have enough CUCs to pay for our Casa, and they had no problem with excepting Euros, even changed the money by the bank rates, not charging any fee for excepting Euro.

After our horse tour (which we would highly recommend, as that is the easiest way to see the Natural Park and see great 'Tobacco peasant house' - buy awesome cigars) our shoes were full of mud, so we left them in front of the house, an hour later we found them cleaned and shiny! we could not believe it! They are just sooooo nice!

Yuray does not speak the best English, but his sister (who lives next door, and is always around) speaks great English and is more than willing to help!

We would highly recommend this Casa, and Vinales! Do the tours they have to offer, they are worth it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojavukoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinales
245.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
160.9 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
1,218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Cristal
Villa Cristal
#26 of 200 in Vinales
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Mariposa
Villa Mariposa
#22 of 200 in Vinales
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Los Pandaderos
Villa Los Pandaderos
#20 of 200 in Vinales
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Haydee Chiroles
Villa Haydee Chiroles
#21 of 200 in Vinales
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa El Habano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa El Habano

Property: Villa El Habano
Address: Km 29 Carretera Puerto Esperanza, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 200 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Villa El Habano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing