We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view! The view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Horizontes La Ermita
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Vinales
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The view! The view!”
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I wish we could have stayed in Vinales longer, as it is so beautiful and the quiet was wonderful after a week in Havana. Horizontes La Ermita has a wonderful swimming pool and stunning, stunning views of the mogotes and countryside. It was heaven to eat ham sandwiches and drink mojitos and look at that view and swim. The room was adequate and clean and quiet. We walked into town regularly, which took about 20 minutes and is an interesting walk. Breakfast at the buffet was better than most hotel breakfasts we had in Cuba. The front desk organized a horseback riding tour for us. We were the only 2 people on it, and got to see a tobacco plantation and the tour guide took us to his home to meet his family and hang out for a bit. This was my favorite part of the trip. Had we stayed longer, there were a lot of fun sounding outings. Even though we don't usually stay at larger hotels, this place was just so peaceful and beautiful, I would go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocellot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    199
    201
    89
    52
See reviews for
99
302
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed for four nights in two adjacent twin rooms, B&B, for a total cost of 372 CUC, or about £240. The rooms were simply furnished, but adequately comfortable. There was hot water for the showers. The electricity was on most of the time... Both rooms opened onto good-sized terraces which overlooked the gardens and had glimpses of the amazing view of the valley.

The view could be seen fully from the main terrace, around the pool, bar and restaurant area. It really is a stunning vista, of the town of Vińales, the valley and the limestone hills or mogotes. Quite like Jurassic Park.

The pool was huge, but only ever half-full, we never did find out why, but it was good for swimming in and cooling off. It wasn't the cleanest pool, however, so if you are squeamish about these things, you might want to skip a swim. The bar was good for coffees, juices and beers, although the barman really wanted to sell pina coladas, even at 10am, maybe he was on commission. The pina coladas we had were good though, with and without rum.

The restaurant was good, surprisingly good compared to our expectations and other food experiences in Cuba, although still lacking in fruit and veg options. All our meals there were tasty enough, especially the lamb. The bar had just started offering evening meals too, with a seafood themed menu. The paella and white fish fillets in Caribbean sauce we had there were good too. Breakfast was probably the weakest meal, as it was a buffet, and stuff tended to get cold (eg pancakes), but there were always juices, fresh fruit (sometimes strangely tasteless, nothing like what we had from street stalls), coffee (often tepid), bread rolls, a selection of cakes and biscuits, hard boiled eggs, and meatballs/sausage patties that the children found strangely addictive.

The staff were taciturn at best, but this seemed common throughout Cuba, and we did have to stick to our guns to get the room rate quoted when we came to checkout - the receptionist tried to charge us way more. Luckily we had an email from a member of staff who could verify the rate we had been quoted. Paying by credit card attracts a small premium, and it took several attempts to get a connection on the machine, but we persisted as we did not have enough cash to pay. We did have to insist though - the receptionist told us to go and get cash in town, rather than keep trying to get a connection... Very Cuban.

So - go here for the views and the food(!), not for smily service.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Having previously stayed at the rival larger hotel, Los Jazmines I continually made comparisons between the two. I think La Ermita would only just win over but mainly due to its closer proximity to the town and a great nearby restaurant that I thoroughly recommend just a few minutes walk away named Fernan-2 (Fernandos). Admittedly, we walked there during the late evening (a little daunting in the gloomy darkness) but it proved to be an interesting trip as we admired the dancing fireflies and wondered at the number of brightly-lit stars in the night-time sky.. and no, we hadn't yet consumed large amounts of alcohol..!!

OK, so back to the hotel. The overall layout was quite appealing and the view from the restaurant quite amazing to behold although the food was certainly nothing to write home about so we really were pleased that we found Fernan-2. The reception staff weren't too welcoming although this didn't really bother us too much for a short stay of 2 days. The room was pretty basic as expected and thankfully, the a/c was in good working order when required so no need to complain on that score.

Since we visited in October it certainly wasn't crowded and there was plenty of room around the pool although it was noted that the bar and tv facilities were used by locals 'dropping by' but again, not a problem.

In comparison, the vista of the landscape from La Ermita although quite spectacular, in my opinion, does not match that of Los Jazmines.

The tour of Viñales is also highly recommended at 35.00 CUC as it includes a stop at Los Jazmines, a visit to a tobacco farmer, a visit to a cave with a short boat trip, a visit to the mural at Dos Hermanas valley, a visit to a former slave's hideout and a really good
lunch at a restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank UkTr1pper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is one of two large hotels overlooking Vinales .The other one - Los Jazmines is a few kilometres away and tends to attract more tour buses. The main advantage of La Ermita is its view out over the town below and the Vinales Valley, mogotes - limestone outcrops- and all. It is pretty stunning .No need for floorshows ( although you will face the ubiquitous cuban folk combo band ) when there are spectacular sunsets to enjoy. It is a bit of a slog to walk to town and back up and down hill in the heat , so use of a taxi is recommended. There is a pool, a bar and a small shop for essentials . The hotel can arrange a wide variety of trips out - a guided walk into the hills is particuarly recommeded.The rooms are fairly basic and so is the food . More a comfortable base from which to explore than a destination in itself.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheCrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We travelled here with our two boys 7 and 9. We were concerned about it after reading the reviews but were happy with this place. Sure it is old and a bit run down but it is in Cuba and that is why we are visiting the country. The outlook was unreal. The resturant was good however if you want a good spot get there when it opens at 7pm. We got there early because we have kids and there wasn't much else to do - and got a prime seat with fantastic views and as the night went on the other guests had to sit further back in the resturant in which you just see the walls. The guy on the front desk ... I was concerned about him - but he was helpful enough and we got into our room 2 hours early. The service is average but they do have a tough life there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kerry553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Dont bother with this hotel. Seriously rude staff spoil the place. Only friendly ones are the cleaning and maintenance staff. It could actually be a security risk given that the morons on the front desk behave like thugs.
The breakfast staff are just as rude. We found a great casa in the village and checked out.
You would have to be crazy to stay here. If you want a nice view just walk up the hill from one of the casas. The rooms don't even face the view anyway.
The manager of this hotel must be very lazy.
Also a word of warning. Watch out for the people prowling the town claiming to run restaurants. We got ripped off by a man in a large american chevy. If he stops you just say no thanks!! He's a crook.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bob r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

It is indeed worthwhile staying at La Ermita for its beautiful view and leisurely atmosphere. The cleanliness of the room, however, has a big room for improvement. When we checked in, there was garbage in the ashtray and on the floor. The hotel staff seemed semi-drunk, we thought it was "Vinales flavor"....

Room Tip: Ask for a tropical room, the balconies are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaipeiLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinales
244.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
92.8 mi away
Iberostar Parque Central
91.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
92.9 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
87.1 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,335 reviews
50.8 mi away
Moka Hotel
Moka Hotel
#1 of 1 in Las Terrazas
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizontes La Ermita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizontes La Ermita

Property: Horizontes La Ermita
Address: Carretera de La Ermita, km 1. 5, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Vinales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizontes La Ermita 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays and Cancelon so you can book your Horizontes La Ermita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizontes La Ermita Vinales
Horizontes La Ermita Hotel Vinales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing