We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wasted potential like a lot of Cuba”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horizontes La Ermita
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Vinales
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wasted potential like a lot of Cuba”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Literally a last second change from the Jazmines Hotel where our Cosmos/Archers tour was booked and then rebooked after changes to the the dates and venues, (because of the size of our small, 28 person tour). It started off looking promising, with good views from the perimeter, but then not from our rooms. The bedrooms were basic with plastic sheeting over the louvres of the doors and gaps under the doors for the local insect life. Add the fact that the doors were stuck did not endear the room to us. No water, hot or cold, and very noisy air con made things worse. They fixed the water, and as everyone complained, switched off all the air con at the main breaker at the end of the block. The bathroom had a louvre window with no insect net and did not give any privacy from passers by. It was adequate by basic standards.
As we arrived fairly late we did not have much time to enjoy the views, and as the best vantage point was from the restaurant, which was closed till dinner.
Food and service for dinner and breakfast was limited choice but reasonable. Prices for the drinks were very reasonable by the standards we experienced.
A bit of work on the basics and a more friendly management attitude would result in a small jump in the rating. As it stands this was not the worst hotel we stayed in but was near the bottom of the list.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be facing on to the pool area. If you are brave enough to use the pool in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    194
    195
    86
    50
See reviews for
94
297
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We visited the Hotel as it has a tremendous view point over the Vinales valley. There is a nice cafe and terrace with a number of small stalls to buy souvenirs. The Hotel lobby itself seemed pleasant but I can't speak for the rooms as we didn't stay there.
However, we stayed for lunch at the Hotel sitting by the swimming pool, which was a BIG mistake and were taken ill that evening. I would avoid eating there as we got food poisoning. I just read that a large hotel used by a British company in a beach resort has also caused food poisoning, the standards of hygiene are obviously not what they should be. We found the best and safest food to be in the CASAs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POSSUM CREEK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel was very bad and one of our worst experiences in Cuba. There seems to be staff so why can't they fix things that are broken?. The morale seems quite low amongst the staff so I think there needs to be a clean sweep of management. Even though we had paid for our food in our tariff we only ate there on the first night as it was tasteless. Our toilet in our room smelt, the shower didn't work properly and the pool was rather dirty.

overall a very unpleasant experience. The manager really needs to get his/her act together!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australind, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

This hotel is awful. The rooms are not clean and the plumbing is shocking so the rooms are very smelly. The stainless steel is rusty, the hand held shower was broken, the door to the toilet didn't close and kept swinging open. The tap over the sink was broken etc. etc. The food was dreadful - not fresh, unappetising presentation and bad service. There was no tonic or gin in the bar and only plastic cups - no glasses. The pool looked dirty so I didn't swim in it. There are many casas in town to try and it's a lot more convenient esp. if you don't have a car. The hotel was also overpriced.

Room Tip: My tip is not to stay here at all but to stay in one of the many lovely little casas in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 955Alana1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harstad, Troms, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Every night the last people to arrive are told that the hotel is full. They over book it like a plane. We stayed here three nights and every day it was the same story, people arriving at the end of day and being shipped of to local casa's. Definitely phone this hotel before traveling there. The views are fantastic and the rooms run down but each room dus have a private balcony to enjoy the good view. The key problem here was the breakfast it was low on everything including staff.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

La Ermita is less than a kilometre walk from the centre of town but well worth spending the time to walk there. You pass through the outer neighbourhoods of Viñales and up into the hills. Gives you a chance to see countryside, the gardens people maintain and plenty of goats, chickens and other animals the neighbours keep. You will also pass a number of casa particulares you may want to think about the next time you come here.

The hotel itself is several buildings spread around a central swimming pool and you are welcome to buy drinks, food at the snack bar and take in the spectacular view over the valley. Definitely worth the effort.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Whithorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed for 4 days in May the hotel was less than 1/10 full consequently was very quite, and I quite enjoyed myself.The location is stunning with views over the Vinales valley, large gardens tennis courts and a swimming pool.

My room was very nice with modern furnishings air conditioning tv and minibar. The shower area was a bit neglected and often there was no water in the afternoons. Each room had an outside sitting area with a couple of comfortable chairs and a table, some rooms had swing seats.

Breakfast was usually ok and seated on the restaurant balcony looking at the mist in the valley below was a nice way to start the day. The food served for lunch and dinner was very hit and miss and mostly quite poor and on one occasion completely inedible. The staff in general were a bit offhand and the waiting staff in particular were bored with the take it leave attitude,common to most hotel staff I met in Cuba. There was a problem with the pool during my stay so it was empty and possibly a hazard to the few children running around as were the 2 or 3 half starved dogs that were allowed to wander around begging for food.

This place could be so much better with just a little more effort and a new chef! I think the restaurant facility would be much too small if the hotel was ever close to full occupancy and I imagine the rooms close to the bar area and pool would also be very noisy.

Low seaon it was ok the location is hard to beat and you can walk down the hill into town in 15 minutes to get some edible food.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cellargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinales
91.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
244.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
87.1 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.8 mi away
Moka Hotel
Moka Hotel
#1 of 1 in Las Terrazas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
87.4 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
210.4 mi away
Jagua Hotel
Jagua Hotel
#2 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizontes La Ermita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizontes La Ermita

Property: Horizontes La Ermita
Address: Carretera de La Ermita, km 1. 5, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Vinales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizontes La Ermita 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Horizontes La Ermita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizontes La Ermita Vinales
Horizontes La Ermita Hotel Vinales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing