We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Canadian Casa in Vinales”
Review of Casa Arcoiris

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinales
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Arcoiris
Ranked #118 of 200 Vinales B&B and Inns
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Canadian Casa in Vinales”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were met by Rio's mother-in-law at the bus depot. Rio is Canadian and can't (due to Cuban laws) come to meet tourists at the bus depot but we were so happy to see a sign with our name on it because it was CRAZY at the bus depot with many many people yelling CASA!

After a short walk to the casa we were met by the most colorful casa you've ever seen! with a very nice room and bathroom to boot! So nice that my husband left his swim shorts and towel there :( Rio, if you could mail those home he'd really appreciate it!

We didn't eat at the casa as we really wanted to experience some of the restaurants in Vinales. But we did take Rio up on going to the Cayo Jutías. What an amazing beach! I was so happy to have a Canadian to talk to on the drive there and back!

We took in the pool and the stars when we got home. The perfect ending to a perfect day. It is a little more pricy than other casa's in Vinales but the hospitality makes up for it. Thanks Rio!

They also offered laundry service which we really needed badly!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    17
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
36
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at Casa Arcoiris for 3 nights. It;s a really nice and clean casa with a roofterrace. On the roofterrace there's a private 'swimmingpool', which is really nice since it's hot hot hot in Vinales.
The owners are really nice, they don't really speak English, so we tried to speak Spanish as much as we can. They came to pick us up at the busstop and called the casa in Cienfuegos for us where we wanted to stay after we left Vinales.
They also invited us to a birthday party in their house, which was really sweet. A lot of family, pie and other food.
The room we stayed in was meant for 4 persons, but isn't even expensive if you only use it with only 2 persons like we did. It is rather small for 4 persons (even for 2). You do have your own private bathroom, which is nice. The locker is gone unfortunately, you can close the door with the key though. But even though the rooms weren't that expensive, the dinner and the drinks were. For dinner we paid 12 CUC per person (which is 7-10 in the most casas) and the drinks we sometimes bought ourselves in the market, cause they were quite expensive at the casa.
But we really liked to stay in this casa!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstenR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverWest55, Manager at Casa Arcoiris, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
As I have mentioned in the past we welcome all reviews.
This reviewer mentions the locker, which I must assume is the wall safe.
We have had problems with them and getting them repaired locally proved to be difficult.
So I have purchased 2 new ones and when I return to the casa this November I will be getting them installed. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We spent three nights in this lovely colorful casa and felt welcome right from the start. The house is situated just a 5 minutes walk from the town center and offers not only a patio but a terrace where you can sit in the rocking chair, have a drink and enjoy the sunset. You could even have a swim in the little pool after an strenuous hike or bike ride.

Furthermore the house offers many amenities like a welcome drink, secure parking for only 1 cuc a day, an English speaking host who shows you around and helps you with all the questions or needs you might have. And what we enjoyed the most was the very supreme cooking!

Thank you all again for your warm hospitality. We might come back to Viñales one day because this was our Cuba highlight!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fab3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Me and my friend stayed at this casa for three nights in July and I can honestly say this was the best casa we came across in the whole of Cuba (and trust me, we tried out a lot). The family is really nice and friendly (and very chatty), and the two older ladies are excellent cooks! So I strongly recommend you order both breakfast and dinner at the house. The son (his mother kept calling him "niño" hahaha) is an excellent driver (they own a 1955 Buick) and very friendly and fun to be around. All in all, I strongly recommend this house if you happen to be in the Viñales area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimSimSim48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed in this casa over xmas period and honestly they are one of the nicest hosts we came across in our travels. As we are not spanish speakers, being able to communicate in English was massive benefit. The food they have prepared was the best we have had while travelling around Cuba and their Lobster is out of this world. Only one downside was the bed, which i personally found a bit uncomfortable, but can't get everything for this great value. The rooms are a bit small, but for a couple is perfectly fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miska235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverWest55, Manager at Casa Arcoiris, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
As soon as we realized the 1 bed was no longer comfortable we purchased 2 new mattresses for the beds. We always encourage helpful critique so that we may better serve our guests. If there is something we can do to make your stay more enjoyable please let us know as soon as possible.
Gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roggwil, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

As I drove vinales, I came to the Gonzalez family at random. All have welcomed me warmly and carried me totally hands on, I felt like a queen with them!
As I experienced an emergency situation, the whole family has done its utmost to help me. For that I am grateful to them with all my heart. From my own experience I can say that Casa Arcoiris is the best place in Viñales! The Gonzales family are totally grown on me to the heart <B
ANITA, I LOVE YOUR FOOD!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reablack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

If you don't speak any Spanish this will be a great place to stay in Vinales as the owner is a Canadian. Rio and his wife and her family were great host and they made me and my wife felt welcome. I would recommend to have them cook dinner for you which you won't be disappointed. The roof is a great place to have a cigar after dinner and just enjoy the stars above. The room was clean and in good condition which we need after long day trip around town. I highly recommend Casa Arcoiris.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vinales hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Particular Villa El Moro
0.0 mi away
Villa Cristal
Villa Cristal
#29 of 200 in Vinales
297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa El Habano
Villa El Habano
#3 of 200 in Vinales
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Jean Pierre
Casa Jean Pierre
#101 of 200 in Vinales
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Mariposa
Villa Mariposa
#21 of 200 in Vinales
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Jazmines
Hotel Los Jazmines
#2 of 7 in Vinales
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Arcoiris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Arcoiris

Property: Casa Arcoiris
Address: Calle Salvador Cisneros Este. 15, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 200 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Vinales Valley​, our B&B is perfectly located for daily excursions to the beach, mountains, country side, and night clubs on foot, by car, or bus.We have recently partnered with 2 other Casa's on the same property with shared amenities and equal quality to provide more rooms to accommodate larger groups.Come visit us and check out our lovely Casa Particular and quaint comfy rooms. Each room is personally decorated and is equipped with modern conveniences such as air conditioning, automatic wall fan, wall safe, and en-suite bathroom.​Modern conveniences and old world charm. On our roof top patio we have a small pool, brick oven BBQ, and an amazing view of the mountains. Come and stay with us and enjoy the "Real Cuba!" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing