We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place will make a Motel 6 look like a five star hotel - however your choices are severely limited”
Review of Hotel Los Jazmines

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Los Jazmines
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Vinales
bay area
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“This place will make a Motel 6 look like a five star hotel - however your choices are severely limited”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The views from the property are breathtaking but this is the only nice thing about the property. The rooms are old, musty, A/C is broken with missing or no buttons. Beds are sagging and almost touch the ground. Bathrooms are dirty (water is hot). So you get the picture..

The bad news is that your choices in Vinales are severely limited so you may have to suck it up and go for it. I would take some clean sheets and pillow cases from home and then load up on the Mojitos before hitting the bed. Do not forget the bug spray.

Room Tip: I would recommend that you look at the room first before you occupy it. Hopefully the other rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VKimaging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    314
    238
    95
    47
See reviews for
120
440
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North London
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

All of the rooms have a view and they are just stunning. Hotel is fine, usual gripes about water sometimes, hot rarely, but bed was clean and comfortable if room a bit shabby. The first evening there was a funny episode the bar wasn't serving sandwiches as there was no bread so although not very hungry we opted for the restaurant buffet - where there was plenty of bread - and plenty of other things, pretty tasty by Cuban standards - and good value at 11 CUCs. We did it justice so weren't too disappointed to learn that later on the bar was serving sandwiches - it's Cuba, it's part of the charm.

Nice pool too, bit shabby but what views.

I stayed there for 2 nights, would have liked longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HighburyExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Only a state-run hotel system could pick what may be the most picturesque spot in Cuba and plonk a 2 ½ star hotel there. It's OK. Sometimes there is water for the shower. Sometimes there is even HOT water.

But the view is delightful and you should go there just for that. Just go with low expectations and you will be all right.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianValletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This could be a truly great hotel but it needs updating and reinventing. The room is comfortable enough but rather basic; bathroom needs redoing, the rain comes in under the balcony door. That said, who wants to look at the room when you have such a fabulous panorama? The location is stunning, the landscape is awesome.

The food was not great, the waiting staff need a bit of training (our waiter poured first the wine then our water over the table, missed the glass completely). Booking trips was easy and the booking staff most helpful. My husband enjoyed his horse ride and we both really enjoyed our day out with Annelise - if you can, ask for Annelise, not only is she incredibly knowledgeable about the area and the people, she is absolutely charming. Great English, too.

Overall we enjoyed Los Jazmines, but would have liked a bit more from the management to upgrade the hotel and train staff better.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We decided to spend the night given the heat and the drawcard of a swimming pool. This hotel could be amazing....it has all the good bones to be one of the finest. The pool is a great size but needs upgrading. The exterior of the hotel is picturesque but needs lots of TLC.
The staff have a couldnt care less attitude.
Food is disgusting....I fed my dinner to a couple of the many cats hanging around starving.
Our room had a magnificent view over the valley, the room was shabby to say the least, everything was worn and torn and sub standard.
The bathroom near the restaurant didnt have loo paper or soap and apparently the mens was putrid. No excuse for this.
With such an amazing location I hope one day someone will get hold of it and give it the care and attention it deserves.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KellyA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This hotel has an enviable view of the Vinales Valley. It also has a fabulous swimming pool. The bus loads of tourists who turn up just to take pictures are not as intrusive as the guide books suggest. We were a bit disappointed when a bus load of guests showed up from a particular tour company as we were suddenly surrounded by people from Blighty. However, these numbers meant that a good variety of breakfast options were prepared and in buffet style. It also meant that some european food options were available which I wouldn't ordinarily touch on such a holiday but were very welcome following a bout of gut rot from a dodgy bit of rice and beans in town. The design of the accommodation block (two floors, two corridors open on one side and balconies on the other side) meant that noise travelled very effectively. A spanish speaking family speaking very loudly with their children screaming with excitement whilst running up and down the corridors made for a night requiring ear plugs. The music at the poolside blasted out for about 12 hours per day too and the cleaners were noisy with their brooms and equipment whilst cleaning rooms. If you want some tranquility then I'd recommend opting for one of the new chalets.

Room Tip: Choose a chalet for a quieter option if this is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaCob5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The view is beautiful. I really recommend it to any one. Among the most fantastic views in the world. Hope they clean the rooms better, Included the balconies from were you can see the entire valley. The rooms smell like mildew. A bad contrast with the nice cool clean smell of nature outside. The best part is the clean sheets and towels. The restaurant staff very nice, food good. Would be nice to have more fresh fruits if and whenever possible, but we understand. If staff can get some extra training that would help better the place and make it really comfortable and up to standards, instead of making excuses when a guess complains. Overall the hotel is good and the staff friendly and helpful. Just needs the extra TLC for things to be better for all. Thanks and hope this helps to make some nice and good improvements.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palswaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinales
94.8 mi away
Iberostar Parque Central
245.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
89.0 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
93.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,639 reviews
94.8 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
168.2 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Jazmines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Jazmines

Property: Hotel Los Jazmines
Address: Km 25, Carretera a Vinales, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Vinales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Los Jazmines 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Los Jazmines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Jazmines Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing