We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of nowhere”
Review of Rancho San Vicente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rancho San Vicente
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Vinales
Reviewed 13 January 2014

When booking with Vijajes San Christobal in Havanna, we were insisting on staying in Vinales town. Were told that this was a such location. Ended up 8 km outside the one street town. Lived in old cottage in sore need of maintaince. Bad Food. Elctricity was on/off.The plus was the surrounding rain forrest. But found no way to enter it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank langvass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

As part of our group tour we stayed here for two nights. The entrance to the hotel is rather odd, you need to go over a small bridge and then up the stair to end up at the pool and open bar. There are several different bungalows ranging in style and size. The rooms were a little on the small side but good enough for a couple of nights. Room, bar and restaurant staff were all very friendly and willing to assist you in many ways.

The dogs at night were a little nightmare. It would be good to see them separated from each other so that guest can sleep.

The food in the restaurant wasn't that great, so better to cross the street to the two private restaurants or get a ride to Vinales.

Of course its location is in one of the most spectacular areas of Cuba. The limestone mountains and the lush ground have created something special. So there is plenty to explore from the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 14NABster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Good basic hotel in interesting surroundings. We really enjoyed our stay here. We booked a half day horse ride through the valley, which was amazing. Also had a very good massage at the hotel. Good base for a few day stay in the area. Across the road there are two nice paladars for evening meals.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Laura3214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

On arrival there was no electricity in just our room so we had to move. Try and use the pool before 9 in the morning or after 6 in the evening when all of the locals will have gone home. Rooms are in a very nice setting amongst the trees but it did smell of damp when we arrived. The air conditioner soon cleared this but there was a strong sulphour smell coming from the shower waste when it was first run. Breakfast was good with lots of choice.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room in one of the wooden cabins for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel has a very pleasant location - if you don't mind being outside Vinales. The cabins are well set out among the trees too. I have to agree with other reviewers in that, unless you have one of the more tucked away cabins, the big windows make you feel very overlooked - we ended up sitting inside with the curtains closed which is pretty depressing. The triple room itself was fine and no complaints about the bathroom. The small pool was very crowded and the water didn't look very clean. The bar would be nicer if the tv wasn't constantly blaring out. Breakfast was fine.

I'd recommend eating at LaRosa restaurant directly opposite the hotel. Also, if you're around at dusk, it's worth popping over the road to the cave entrance ( where the cave boat trips finish) to see the nightly exodus of bats as they head off to feed. Fantastic!

Room Tip: Further away from the pool and bar will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swansilvertone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Usually when I go to Vinales I stay at the Hotel Los Jazmines, which has the most beautiful view. However, this year I had to stay at the Rancho San Vincente. At first I did not expect much, however, in the end I was pleasantly surprised. Of course there is no place like the Los Jazmines for the view; however, the rooms are MUCH better at Rancho San Vincente. The hotel is made of small separated bungalows, so it is a very "private" setting. There is a pool which is decent and the food was not bad for a Cuban Hotel. The main problem is the location, however, the positive point is that it is very close to the "Indian Cave".

I would stay there again next time I am in Vinales, as (except for the view) everything is better than at the Los Jazmines.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeDassin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Lovely casa and great hospitality: "We were made very welcome by the owners Ridel and Claribel. Not only were they very friendly and helpful,they also gave tips to visit the beautiful countryside around and in Vienales and suggested a trip on horseback wich was wonderful and interesting.
How was the food?:The food was excellent and tasteful, there was even to much of it in the evening. We were also given a sandwich to take with us when we left as we had to drive a long way!
How was the room?:Room was clean and fresh.
Other Comments:certainly a casa we would like to return to. We enjoyed every minute of our stay."

3  Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinales
5.5 mi away
Hotel Los Jazmines
Hotel Los Jazmines
#2 of 7 in Vinales
841 reviews
4.3 mi away
Horizontes La Ermita
Horizontes La Ermita
#4 of 7 in Vinales
588 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hotel Cayo Levisa
Hotel Cayo Levisa
#3 of 14 in Pinar del Rio Province
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.8 mi away
Iberostar Playa Blanca
Iberostar Playa Blanca
#6 of 6 in Cayo Largo
1,992 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel Vueltabajo
Hotel Vueltabajo
#1 of 3 in Pinar del Rio
96 reviews
77.7 mi away
Hotel Maria La Gorda
Hotel Maria La Gorda
#8 of 14 in Pinar del Rio Province
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho San Vicente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho San Vicente

Address: Valle de San Vicente Vinales Pinar del Rio Cuba | Carretera a Puerto Esperanza Km 33, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Vinales
Price Range: £72 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rancho San Vicente 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rancho San Vicente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho San Vicente Vinales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing